Sort:  

It must be that new super-secret Steemit 'Santa' feature in alpha. ...testing who is Naughty and who is Nice.

Shoot! Cats out of the bag :-)

@Joseph leaked Santa's list in his latest post. .. I made the naughty list. lol

Too funny! This 'test' must be something to get back on the good side of Santa then. Good luck with that, I haven't come close in decades, no matter how many cookies I leave out.

upon seeing your remarks, I ask myself if steemit is up to something promotional with Christmas coming... if yes, so exciting! if not, what a pity!

One can always hope. Tis the season!

In my defense, I voted because it's the first time to see that upon checking my feed, it's the CEO posting just seconds earlier. XD

I'm a plain normal guy. After watching a part of "Spectral" by Netflix, I peeked on my latest post to check how it has been. So I saw a notification and to my surprise, it was @ned in my feed. So I fanboy-ed a little. I upvoted XD to learn later on that it's a test for bots haha. Though I also had some doubts awhile ago (as I noticed the flagged post and the tags), I still thought @ned was testing how many seconds would it take to submit another post and that when not followed, it will automatically be tagged as a spam.

Also, I have no idea about bots. I'm a geology student. I'm new here (Joined on December). I don't know what they are at a programming level and by that, I'm afraid to use them. Who knows, it might just hack me or something.

Welcome, and no worries :-) I was actually testing notification features I want to use internally

I see you're in the Philipines. That's great. An investor and friend of mine recently told me there is a little secret in the online media world, that the next most important country, after the US, is the Philippines for getting a major boost in users

This Wikipedia article backs that up too:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Social_networking_in_the_Philippines

Ah, I see sir. :)

Yes. That's true sir @ned. To back it up further, I personally heard about it from TV news here in Philippines - that we are tagged as "The Social Networking Capital in the World". Wikipedia also says it right that it traces back to our culture of "friends helping friends". We help each other out, even selflessly sometimes.

Your friend and investor gave a good advice. Philippines has a very huge potential to give Steemit a major boost because many people are always active online. In fact, Philippines holds the record for the most number of times that a single hashtag (#AlDubEBTamangPanahon) was used within 24 hours. That hashtag garnered an astounding 40 million tweets. Here's the news link.
Also, there are a lot of uses for Steem/it here that would be very beneficial for us filipinos (and, thus give us more reasons and get us more motivated to join), which includes:

  • Receiving payments for the skills and talents that we share to the Steemit community.
  • Receiving money with less transaction fees from overseas (many filipinos work abroad to support their families when they couldn't do so here) - when an exchange for Steem in Philippines is established, it would greatly lessen the cost of sending money from abroad.
  • Interacting with an uplifting community,
  • Having to experience and use (first hand) the wonders that blockchain technology provides,
  • Having the opportunity to support and improve ourselves on our talents and skills,
  • Having the opportunity to speculate on Steem which may very well become the next big cryptocurrency,
  • Using Steem to buy goods and services without the need of bank transactions,
  • and many more :)

With all of these benefits, us filipinos will be very thankful to you guys for making Steem(it) and making it available to all of us.
This is the future! :)

With all of these benefits, us filipinos will be very thankful to you guys for making Steem(it) and making it available to all of us.

Absolutely! I think the best thing we can do is raise awareness there. What do you think of meetups in the Philippines --- could they be well attended?

Yes sir @ned. I think Steemit meetups in the Philippines could be well attended. That would be great! :D

I'm not sure how many of us are presently in Manila, but I know that there are lots of people interested in personal Meetups using a website/app called meetup. In that website, the most common places to conduct a meetup is in Manila and its nearby cities.

We could gather participants:

  • through the Meetup website/app - whenever an event is made in this app, the calendar of meetup gets updated and users will see it.
  • through personally reaching out to them,
  • by creating a post calling out to my fellow filipino Steemians,
  • by attending local meetups for writers, photographers, artists, etc. and then telling them about Steemit,
  • through the other social media websites/apps.

I'd also be glad to bring my friends with me! :D I have been telling and educating them about Steemit. They're still quite confused but we're getting there ;-) Many of them are skilled and talented.

Great! I've been thinking about trying some things out where you are. Do you have a handle in steemit.chat where we can discuss further?

Philippines is indeed a great starting point for Steemit in Asia. As far as I know, English is quite frequently/commonly used there. Not like most other Asian countries (in Taiwan as well), language is a big barrier. Man you are lucky to have Ned's attention in a test post! Or should I say Philippines are lucky? lol

Did I pass the test? Is Ned grading on a curve...? I so want to post my results on the refridgerator!

Yes, everyone's getting A's and no homework for a month!

Cool!)
Thank you for test,@ned

My upvote for the test @Ned !
How a lot of users necessary that this test has not disappeared?

Hi sir @ned! Advance merry christmas to you! 😊😊😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.21
ETH 3068.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81