5 random things about me.......

......you probably couldn't give 2 shits about. I have to tell you them in a grumpy old man style though as my STEEMit nephew @matkodurko has challenged me to....little whipper-snapper! I'm supposed to write about 10 things you guys don't know about me but will temper this post with laziness and my need for infamy but relative anonymity. You can thank @twodorks for starting this chain lett.......challenge. ;)


Source: theholler.org

I am a lefty just like @matkodurko

I never needed a paper declaring this but always wrote with my left hand which is pretty indicative. I pick up a beer with my left hand but do many things right handed.

Writing - left hand
Eating - left hand
Throwing - Right hand (or you could label this as catching left handed?)
Kicking ball - right foot
Ice-hockey stick - right handed version
Chopping veggies - Right hand
Stronger hand - right one
Stronger leg - right one
I also scratch my ass with both hands so maybe I am just ambidextrous.

I am a real-life Rock Star

4637946080_258b8c26f2_o.jpg

I am also a grand exaggerator and really am not. I decided a couple of things as they would apply to me personally:

  • I would master a commodity so that I would be able to make money enough to pursue music as an enjoyable hobby
  • Turning music into my job would sap some of the magic from the art and I couldn't stand that

None of this stopped me from spending many years in bands playing dozens of stages and venues from small club shows, to open air festivals, weddings and even as rink rock between whistles at hockey games. We recorded CDS, rocked many a club and have splintered into a dozen other musical ensembles in perpetual progression. So, I am a rock star in my own mind and just have not hit the big time......and am happy never to.

I have brewed Beer for over 10 years.


source:bostonlocalfoodfestival.com

This was neither the beginning nor end of my lifelong romance with beer but definitely something I enjoy doing. It started as a way to save money (LOTS of money when you consider how much we drank back in the day.) Good side effects turned out to be not having to shop constantly for beer, no returning of empties, the discovery of it all, and knowing exactly what was going into the beer with no preservatives.

You get fairly good at most things doing them for so long and our signature brands were chocolate/coffee stout (I like a good strong sweet beer and the kits didn't seem to make stout thick enough for me) and India Not-So-Pale Ale (I liked using lots of hops and darker sugars for different flavour) and a Pilsner (great for chugging after sporting events.

I have all the equipment in mothballs now but have a dream of opening up a BlockChain Brewery and incorporating crypto.

I am a gamer

Tom Clancy's The Division.jpg

I must come by this honestly because I can remember my dad buying me hand held video games as a kid for christmas and hiding away in the house so he could play them himself. We always seemed to have a console dating back to the first atari all the way through to my first computer. I only became proficient with computers because we had to learn how to configure emm386.exe in order to get Star Wars to run on Windows 3.1.1? I am too old to remember.

JafYEcKmTTLJdVgvx2EbW3.jpg

Ultima Online was the sea-change for me and if that image brings back a flood of fond memories, you are a special brand and vintage of gamer. I have played MMOs ever since and sprinkled FPS and other RPGs in between good MMOs to this day. That is also when I first became involved with the Lords of Death www.lordsofdeath.com gaming guild and have had brothers in pixels ever since. We are awaiting Crowfall right now and taking a run at Amazon's New World beta right now for fun. Pretty neat so far and may have the money and exposure needed for this type of game https://www.pcgamer.com/hands-on-with-amazons-mmo-new-world-where-hundreds-of-players-war-over-a-supernatural-continent/

I love staying active

Fotolia_87675226_Subscription_Monthly_M.jpg
Source:hakinoptical.ca

This is a little bit more of a catch all category so that I could contain it to 5. I lost a close family member very young because of a Sedentary Lifestyle - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sedentary_lifestyle With that in mind, I vowed I would stay healthy and active and happy for life so that I could get the most out of my years here and pass that on to a next generation.

What that means is a few things about me including having earned a purple belt in Brazilian Jiu Jitsu, won the North American Championship in sailing (on the j-27 sport boat) won a bunch of useless trophies with my hockey team where the real victory has been so much fun for so many years, and, perhaps most importantly, had dozens of camping trips with my family and have created the next generation of out-doors loving people.

The rest, you will just have to follow me on my adventures I document here, or ask in the comments.

My nominee

I have met so many interesting people here, it might be tough to nominate a couple. I would definitely nominate my nephew but he has already answered the call here https://steemit.com/tenrandomthings/@matkodurko/10-random-things-about-me-actually-this-is-kind-of-funny-introducemyself-post (definitely give him a follow!) So, on a whim, I know I would like to know more about @thebigsweed (and I know it will be good) and would also like to challenge @blacklux (who you should also follow!) as one of my newest friends and great STEEMian.

zekepickleman.jpg

Thanks for indulging me and spectating on my goofy life of adventure.

Sort:  

Source
#introduceyourself/#introducemyself

The “introduceyourself/introducemyself” tag is for creating one introductory post that tells us about you. Users are encouraged to use this tag exclusively for that, and not to reuse it.

More information:

The Game of Tags

Thanks for the nomination, greatly appreciated. It will be my pleasure to participate.

A ROCK STAR, that's something I find very interesting, especially if you played the guitar. The reason this strikes me as being a little peculiar is because you were also a wrestler. I have a couple of really close friends that wrestled in both high school and college. In reminiscing about our glory days the one thing they both pointed to as a reason for their success was their hand strength. To this day shaking their hand is not something to be taken lightly. Both of these men have fingers the size of bananas. My one buddy is an intern. Going for my yearly physical is always a little nerve wracking. I understand the importance of getting checked regularly for colon cancer, as early diagnosis is the key to surviving this dreaded disease. But, when he utters the words drop your trousers, and yes he does say trousers, all I can envision are his fingers.
If either of these gentlemen were ever to try playing a guitar, one of their phalanges would hide the neck of the guitar. Now, I have never attempted to play this instrument, but fingers the size of bannanas doesn't seem to lend itself to strumming the cords.

Gammer, how do you have the patience to learn all of the buttons that are involved with mastering the game. The last game I played was Duck Hunt, 2 buttons, 1 for moving the rifle and one for splattering that duck all over the screen.

5 more things to go, what other surprises do you have in-store.

I only wrestled a year in highschool and never was a big guy. I have some fairly gnarly fingers from jiu jitsu and a life of sport but seem to do okay with the guitar. Helps to have long fingers and having my left hand on the fret board is apparently good.

Games is just something I have always done but I find myself bitching about the interface these days.

I am fulla surprises!

Nice job! I am A lefty as well! I will check out @matkodurko

Aaaaaah!! I was so happy I was escaping this thing without anyone nominating me aaaand then you came and did it! You hate me, I know! 😅 I have like 10 years to do this thing, right?

Definitely. There are no rules on the blockchain!

Saludos, gracias por unirte a Steemit.

ahahaha picking up beer by the left one is for sure the indicator of being leftie haha :D Btw I drink with the right one :D Wooow and I never knew your beer love goes sooo deep as that brewing stuff. Wow. Now I understand why it's present in 90% of ur posts haha:D

Haha yah! It is just so easy to write about what you love.

Shit...that makes me think, why I don't post about programming that often...But I guess Steemit is an escape for me from all the code everywhere I go hah :D


Welcome to Steem @zekepickleman.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchain works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

Hahah thanks!

This is because of the introduceyourself tag. I have brought a few new steemians to the blockchain recently and will forward them your helpful starter tips.

Keep and eye out for @censina and @mr-whole-foodie

@zekepickleman, very well and interestingly written article! It was really cool to know more about you.

p.s I would like to give you a better upvote, but my SP is so low after the Steem Fest, so, I have to wait 2-3 more days to for it to recover.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks!

No worries on the vote. I am a little tapped out too because of all the friends and great content coming out in the form of posts last week. Once everyone returns and posts, I expect more of the same.

I think this is a great way to get to know people .

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by (LoD)Zeke from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62062.59
ETH 3002.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77