You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Most Random Things: Get To Know Me

in #tenrandomthings6 years ago

I'm really bad at Spanish, I cannot put sentences together, but I understand a bit more and that's always positive! I've also been revising Swedish with Duolingo since I currently have a Swedish course, so I haven't had that much time for Spanish... But my Swedish course will end in a few weeks, so then it's the time for Spanish again! :)

Handing out nuts or dried fruits covered with chocolate could've been a lot better (perhaps next year 😉), but lollipops that leave a tattoo on your tongue, whaaaat? That's new, haha!

Sort:  

Haha… yeah I don’t think those tattoo lollipops are half as nutritious as nuts though.

When you pick it up again I’ll drop you a Spanish line here and there. Putting sentences together is the most difficult part, I think. I can’t wait to practice in a Spanish speaking country. That’ll hopefully drive it home.

Practicing a foreign language in a country where everyone is speaking it is the best way to learn. I even have an example to prove you this. I went to Québec for a year as an exchange student and I knew very little French before going there, only the basics really. My host family didn't really speak English, so my only choice was to learn French, and I must say, I got pretty good in a year. You'll improve your Spanish skills so much during your trip, I'm sure about it! :)

Oh, I’m so excited! So are you pretty fluent in French now? Learning this way i hear is always the best- completely immersing yourself in the culture.

I was pretty fluent in French. Yet, I'm not sure how good am I atm, since I haven't really spoken the language in years. However, I think (=hope) it's relatively easy to recall. :)

You should practice here and there. It’s a great skill to have. If I knew any French I’d speak it with you here but I only know a tiny bit of Spanish 🤷🏼‍♀️

Yup, I know, sometimes I watch some youtube videos in French and occasionally I speak it to myself, haha. But it's hard to hold on a skill when you have no one to practice it with. 🙁 Wow, that sounded depresssing, haha. Anyhow, I'm sure you know more than a tiny bit of Spanish, you've been practicing it over a year. Don't underestimate yourself! :)

I think the best way to acquire a language is through speaking in it. I do practice but tend to fail in the “speaking it conversationally” part. Language partners are essential to our foreign language development, in my opinion. I bet the YouTube videos help a lot…

I couldn't agree more with you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59653.51
ETH 2353.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47