๐Ÿ’œ10 FACTS 1 LIE CONTEST ๐Ÿ’œWINNERS ANNOUNCED ๐Ÿ’œ

in #tenfactsonelie โ€ข 6 years ago

guessing game winner copy.jpg

๐Ÿ™ƒ 10 FACTS, 1 LIE WINNERS ANNOUNCED! ๐Ÿ™ƒ

Last week, I took part in the awesome @traciyork's contest #tenfactsonelie. It was sooo fun making up the lie, and also thinking of random things that have happened to me in the past that are SO CRAZY they seem like lies!

So without further ado - here are the explanations to all of my crazy expeditions ๐Ÿ’œ

1) โœ…A few years back, I was almost mugged by a gang of street children with knives, and was heroically saved by a complete stranger.

This is TRUE! I live in Cape Town, and while it is a beautiful place, crime in the inner city is quite high. I was walking home quite close to dusk, in a dodge-ass part of town, and I had the horrific feeling that someone was following me. I turned around to see about five or six little (and I mean little, between ten and twelve year old) little boys walking at a fast pace behind me. I spotted knives in two of the boys' hands, and started to run-walk. A complete stranger drove past and saw what was happening, stopped and told me to get into his car now!! I was so freaked out that I completely just trusted him and jumped into his passenger seat. He let me use his phone (mine had run out of battery) to call @morkrock, who was on his way to pick me up. I stayed with him until Mork arrived, and then went home in complete shock.

There's a saying from Leonardo Di Caprio's movie Blood Diamond - "TIA - This Is Africa" - and it could not have applied more than in that moment.

TIA gif.gif

source

2)โœ… I only passed my driver's license test two years ago, despite being a few months shy of 30.

Yes, people! This is also TRUE! I know, I know, how did I ever survive without a driver's license? Well, many years of taking the bus, walking the city flat, and racking up huge Uber bills. That's how.

I finally got my shit together and got my drivers about two years ago. Go me!

cat driving.gif

source

3) โœ…When I was eight, I won a competition for the most books read in one year.

Yup - in second or third grade I announced a contest to my class that we were going to see who could read the most books in one year. We had a list that we filled in with the titles of the books. I think I may have written down some books I didn't actually read (little shit!!) but to be honest all the other kids thought it was lame, and didn't take part. ๐Ÿ™๐Ÿ™

loser taylor swift gif.gif

source

4)โœ… I have two pet cats at home, and another two adopted strays that live at my shop.

I think if you don't know that I am cat befok (obsessed in Afrikaans) then you just don't know me at all. Like, bye.

many-cats-animated-graphic.gif

source

5) โŒโŒ My home language is Afrikaans. โŒโŒ

Even though Afrikaans is one of our top three spoken languages here in South Africa, I am verrry English. One of my goals for this year is to become fluent in Afrikaans, as @morkrock and his whole family are total Afrikaners.

i-lied-gif-2.gif

source

6) โœ…When I was in preschool, I won a beauty pageant; "Little Miss Apple Blossom."

UM, YA!! I come from a bit of a hick small town, and yes, I won. Heck, I was pretty cute, so why not?

d0d4a3ba-31f4-40d5-a84b-e3c5e40fc009.jpg

7) โœ…I once cut my foot open really severely on a piece of mirror, and bled all over the place. I did not even cry. I did however cry when I saw the huge needle that I had to receive an injection from.

Yes, this SO happened. It was late at night (after midnight) and I had just gotten home from a looong shift at my restaurant job. I was closing my curtain, and somehow kicked my (unframed) mirror that was next to the window. I remember just shouting "OOOWWWW" and sitting on the floor moaning and not even looking at it. Mork came into the room to see what was up and freaked out a bit. There was a lot of blood. All I can remember is how rude the nurse was. She told me to stop being a sissy. Mean old cow!

See my Instagram caption of this gross photo that I felt the need to share with everyone.

toes.jpg

Sorry for the graphic photo guys!

"Ouchie . I'm feeling so sorry for myself. Mark is legendary, drove me to hospital and stayed with me while I got stitches, even though he looked like he was gonna throw up. Then he bought me MacDonalds. Boyfriend of the year!!"

8) โœ…I started a Psychology degree at university, but did not ever complete it.

Yup. I really wanted to study a Bachelor Arts majoring in English Language Studies and Writing, but my father said I would never use that sort of degree, and made me sign up for a Psych major. To say the least - I hated it, and dropped out after one year. Little did he know that I would spend most of my adult life creating content and writing. In English. Follow your heart, people.

aristocats.gif

source

9) โœ…A few years ago, I had my own restaurant.

For of those who know me quite well, you will know that I am a complete foodie. Mork and I had the most amazing opportunity to open our own restaurant back in 2013, and we ran it for a year, until the lease was up. The area was not so hot, and we decided to go on with other projects. I have never worked so hard, partied so much, or had so much fun as that time in my life. I miss it very much, and we had made some epic food.

941409_10151767063512975_945500626_n copy.jpg

1908257_10152435974697975_2854146359641050396_n.jpg

Pizza in Mah Face!

10) โœ…One of my cats fell out of the fifth floor window of my apartment building, and is still alive today.

Yes, poor old Kimmi Kat was trying to look at birdies and lost her balance. She fell to the ground below and shattered her little cat pelvis. We rushed her to the emergency ward, spent my entire savings on her operations and rehabilitation treatments. DO I regret it? Fuck, NO! Would I do it again - spend all my money to save my cat? YES! I love this baby gurl so much. She's my kitty soul sister

11203392_1590860997844970_1931448887_n.jpg

Poor Baby in Hospital

11) โœ…I lived as an au pair in Germany after leaving school

Yip. After I dropped out of uni I decided "Screw Everyone! I'm leaving." and went to Hamburg, Germany for a year, where I au paired, and had an internet romance with the man who is now my husband. ๐Ÿ’œ

kises.jpg

So, well done to @traciyork, @iamnotageek and @viking-ventures for guessing correctly. As a fellow South African, I kinda feel that ol' @iamnotageek had the upper hand, but oh well!

5 SBD has been transferred to each of your accounts xxx Go forth and host your own contests. xxx

Thanks to @traciyork for this super cool contest - I had so much fun with it :)

footer.jpg

Please consider voting for @adsactly-witness as a witness. To read what we are all about - click here

adsaxtly-witness.gif

Sort: ย 

it's good to read your story :D

I didn't win, but I enjoyed learning things about you:) Take care @princessmewmew!

Be happy with your husband, Mumun!

Wooooooghh!!! I never thought about that number 5 was the answer!
Well, so @morkrock was not the hero that night @princessmewmew. It's the stranger. ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜Ž.
I lost but, this contest was a unique and really enjoying one! Wowohhoooo!

Thank you so much! This is the first time I've won anything on Steemit, so I'm really excited. I do plan to do a contest once I'm in a slightly healthier position. For the moment, I will continue to vest in Steemit! Thanks again!
ย 

It's a fun way to build up followers and some upvotes. Even if you just offer 1 or 2 sbd, you can can always offer more if the opst does well

Wowowow! I lost but, still a unique challenge that I like the most! Wait for the answer, too @princessmewmew :)

Sweet Angelina Jolie I won! Oh baby! I friggen won 5 SBD !! Upper hand or not who cares I'm a winner baby! Ha!

Thank you for this contest Princess Meeeeew Meeeeeew!
Upvoted

Lols. it's a pleasure Geek

OMG!
This is a serious cut ahhhh I can't see really :/

yeah, I know. It was quite hectic

YAY! Thanks so much @princessmewmew, for the shoutout, the awesome contest, and for the prize!!!


via GIPHY

it's a pleasure! it was so fun, THANK YEWW!

Wow!! An interesting game and blog entry!! (Hard to find). I love this idea! I may steal this and repurpose it, giving you credit for the idea though!!

yes, you must! Don't credit me though, it's @traciyork's challenge :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 65137.70
ETH 3198.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87