Ten Days of Reflection, day five – Oil Drop

It has been raining a lot recently and the water washes over the road mixing with anything there. As I was walking down to check the mail I noticed a really neat color pattern on the road. It looks like a big drop of oil dispersed evenly in all directions and made this circular pattern.

When I was a child I always thought these patterns were very colorful and beautiful to look at. My parents never liked them I could not understand why.

Now I know why. The oil and other urban pollution washes straight into the storm drain and goes directly into the Puget Sound. This causes many issues for the fish and other aquatic life.

OilDrop.jpg
A drop of oil on the road. – click for viewing full screen

The burning and use of oil is a serious problem. Many climate scientists much smarter than I am are very concerned. Over 97% percent of them are sounding the alarm and think we need to do something about the use of fossil fuels. The traditional news media tends to give equal voice to the 3% of climate scientists that think there is no issue or we are facing a new ice age. I think this is making many people confused. (These figures are from my memory of other social media sources – you should check on them to be sure)

Fairy Tales Denying Greenhouse Gas Warming

If you are not familiar with Paul Beckwith I recommend looking at few of his videos on Youtube. He explains the issues very well.

Feeling Hopeful

Walking away from the oil I can not help see the beauty of the colorful light patterns reflected off the surface of the road from the thin film of oil. In a way it reminds me that things could change very quickly for the better. In the space of around a decade we have been known to go from a society of mostly horse drawn carriages to the one of mostly automobiles.

When things become economically feasible and people realize the benefits for doing things differently things can change very fast.


Thanks for reading! The photo was taken by me with my Galaxy S7.
More about the reflection challenge can be read HERE

I nominate anyone with a desire for reflections to try out the challenge.

Sort:  

the oil spill on the road will be dangerous for motorists, motorists can be jatur because the road becomes slippery, indeed the round pattern generated from the oil spill looks beautiful form the color of the rainbow because of the reflection of sunlight, but the oil spill is dangerous for the road users
Good post my friend @lightsplasher
Thanks for sharing
I upvote and resteem
do not forget please you are visit my blog

Thank you. Often times there is a mix of beauty and other issues in the world.

Wow, this is so beautiful. The photograph is honestly very mesmerizing. You have quite a great skill man! Also, I am wondering a lot about all the spamming comments here. You are getting a lot of them lately. Any idea why?

Thank you! Spam? What Spam? Lol. (Perhaps is it a combination of my voting habits and the price of Steem. It is getting hard to keep up with the comments and reply to everyone.)

On the oil drop if you took down the background color to black like space, it would look like some black hole type of thing lol.

That would be cool! Nice idea, I might try that. I've been thinking of doing some 3D type work and that might make a nice background.

DQmTTs99NrwY4jPsuSCp7kgsk4kfL1A2oSRzwZFyMV5M1do.jpg

Thats a 30 second Gimp deal but gets across what I meant. I drag the left slider on the levels up to make the background black. Cool picture, well done.

That is really neat! I like that effect. It brings out the color even more.

Thanks so much! :D

That is a cool effect!

Everything can be art. Art is everywhere. Nice photography. You took the best spot of it.

Thank you! There are so many things that seem like art. Something about the way they make you stop and take a picture of them I guess.

dear friend @lightplasher
Today my exam has started,,That's I can not come to your blog,,i'm very sorry,, Pray for me so that my exam is good,,,

Ha alim same to you today our exam has started so brother @lightsplasher pray for me and my friends and remember me a little bit👈👈

I do not think that all the demands of life will be fulfilled, life is struggling to win or struggle

I hope you guys do well on your exams, I'm praying for you all.

thank you my deear friend,,,, I always with you

dear @lightsplasher today my exam start so pray for me.

I really like the chess game it is my friend because it can sharpen our brain there again that make me interested in this chess because this game is very exciting, thank you friends for sharing the things that make me comfortable

I like playing chess a lot but never got all that good at it. It does help you think about things more in depth.

Oil spilled like this is very dangerous, especially for motorcycle users because the road will become slippery @lightsplasher.

I agree, when mixed with water oil is very slippery. Transmission or radiator fluid is bad too and dangerous for pets to drink. Using self driving electric vehicles would solve this and fix other issues too.

True, such hazardous materials will not cause our worries to the environment. Thanks for sharing @lightsplasher.

@lightplasher, Excellent reflection challenge post. Most circular pattern showing in this capture you taken on. You giving most valuable information you posted there. You showing serious problem in the society. Just awesome.

Thank you! I think it is a very important issue for society, I'm glad you liked the post.

A lot of science that I can take from Paul Beckwith's video.

Among Other This Video

He has many wonderful videos, thanks for sharing a link.

I also thank you. With your post, I can find Paul Beckwith Chanel So I can learn a lot here

image

image

In Indonesia Especially Aceh Currently the air temperature is very hot

It looks hot, interesting pictures. No grass growing? Is this the roadway?

yes, This is the village road, Sometimes a lot of dust flying If there is a breeze

wow! wonderful post dear @lightsplasher, good job, keep it up, I love your all post, thankss for sharing with a good content, love you dear, I'm always support you.......👌👌

omg...what a beautiful photography dear friend @lightsplasher
i'new at steenit,,

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67211.91
ETH 2613.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68