Ten Days of Reflection, day eights – Cat Figurines on Oil Drop

Several carved cat figurines sit clustered around an oil drop that has dispersed from the rain. This is a 3D rendering that I made using Softimage XSI, a rather expensive discontinued software package. You might recall the original photo of the oil drop that I took several days ago.

Silly made up conversation among the cats

Cat 1 said, “Boy this oil drop sure looks different today”

Cat 2 said, “Yes but if we don’t start using clean renewable energy and make some big changes we could be facing a civilization ending ecological disaster.”

Cat 1 said, “I don’t believe in global climate change.”

Cat 2 said, “What’s not to believe? Will you believe it if there is no more cat food in your bowl?”

Cat 1 said, “I’m tried of your alarmist rhetoric, besides I’m made of stone and don’t need to eat.”

Cat 2 said, “Well you got me there, let’s enjoy the pretty oil drop colors.”

The rest of the stone(d) cats clustered around in shear admiration of the colorful oil drop. LOL.

CatsReflectingOnOilDrop.jpg
The Cat Figurines reflect on oil drop, rendered with Softimage. – click for viewing full screen

The cat figurine was purchased in or near Egypt by my mom. She gave it to me as a gift and I have know idea who carved it. It is made of a softer looking stone which I think is marble. I took several photos of it and created the 3D model that is shown here.

For this rendering I used an car paint emulator to add some reflective metallic looking flakes to the base color I got from taking pictures of the rock cat figurine. I also added some reflections to the ground to make it look more like a wet surface or some type of polished tile.


Thanks for reading! The picture was rendered with Softimage XSI, the background is modified by @old-guy-photos using GIMP, from an original photo that I took with my Galaxy S7.
More about the reflection challenge can be read HERE

I nominate anyone with a desire for reflections to try out the challenge.

Sort:  

Hey now that is COOL! LOL.... They look like they have gathered for some metallic cat ritual or ceremony!!!

Hehehe, that was kind of in the back of my mind when I made it. One can almost hear the sounds of Carmina Burana playing in the background... METAL CATZ RULEZ!!!

This is what I call creative!! 👏👏

I didn't realize this picture is the 'oil drop on street' picture you posted couple days ago until I looked at it closely. At first sight, I thought it was an outer space abstract image 😉

I think @old-guy-photos turned the background to black to make it look more like a black hole in outer space or something. It is an abstract image, that was kind of built up from a variety of things - I don't think you could call it photography at this point but a lot of pictures went into making it. I think it is fun how that happens.

Thank you.

@lightplasher, I have never know Softimage XSI software before. Have you use it? If it's best I'll install later. Nicely carved cat figurines reflect on oil drop. That's fantastic. Also you giving more valuable for this post entered silly cats conversation. Those cats exactly knowledgeable. :D
You've best skills for do creative 3D products. Waiting to see more..
If you recommend this is best software I'll try to buy it and then will try to create 3D works follow your instructions.

Best of luck & stay blessed.

Actually, Softimage XSI is no longer developed or available, you can't purchase it as far as I know, although there maybe downloads still available. It was a nice program that I enjoyed using a lot, but without current development it may not be worth the many hours it takes to learn, depending on what you want to do with it.

Blender is a free program that might be of interest to you if you are getting started. It has a rather high learning curve though but it is easier than it used to be and is still maintained and developed - last I checked.

Depending on what you want to do there are many more 3D graphics programs out there and they come in a wide range of pricing. I would be careful before purchasing expensive packages.

What stopped to read the full story of cats is the very first conversation. "Boy"....
Normally, when someone says cat, the only thing comes to my mind is female cat. I don't know why. In India language its called 'Billi", which is female... so that must be the reason. :-)

But you made a good story.

"Boy" in this case is used more like an expression for example, "Oh boy! that looks wonderful!" It is not referring to gender to be clear. Cats do seem to take on a more female role though in my culture too.

Thanks!

Clearly and completely understand @lightsplasher.

What i was impressing upon that you great writers choose some eye catching words/phrases, sometimes even title/ preface/ prologue, which catches the eyes on us people and then we read the whole story/book.

This is the beauty o great writers, which make them "best sellers".

I do not know what to say about cats clustered near oil ...

I'm sure your post @lightsplasher is meaningful once ..

bautlah my spirit this disteemit ... you @lightsplasher disteemit this person who always come to people who have visited your post. I am one of them I never miss your post. I am still waiting for your arrival.

I think a lot of people probably don't know what to say about cats clustered near oil. Perhaps it is difficult to understand but mostly this is just my way of having some fun and trying to make something that will inspire others to be creative and think a bit about what is happening in the world.

Thanks for resteeming and being so supportive.

Good post frieend @lightsplasher
Good job dear
I upvote and resteem

Thanks For this 3d photography post i like your all post everytime dear @lightsplasher i miss you very much please remember me a little bit...
I just #upvote and #resteem your post......

nice post my dear @lightsplasher:-) nice 3D photography.I likes your post.

very good job dear @lightsplasher
I like your post dear 👌👌👌👌👌
@beautiful art dear @lightsplasher
👌👌👌👌👌👌👌👌👌👌👌👌👌
@love you dear
👌👌👌👌👌👌👌👌👌👌👌👌👌👌👌👌👌
I @love your all post dear 👌👌👌👌👌👌
I @resteem your all post
I @really love you dear

love is life: Your work is well,,,,, you are very intellengt writer,,,,, i hope your success is very soon,,, i support you #Alltime but i want to you support me,,,thank you for sharing with #Us,,,love is life: Your work is well,,,,, you are very intellengt writer,,,,, i hope your success is very soon,,, i support you #Alltime but i want to you support me,,, I always upvote and comment on your post, to tell the truth, I like your post, you can write a lot of good, I like all of your posts, thank you for this post, I'm waiting for you to post when you (because I Love you)

keep it up dear
@lightsplasher

perfect cat painting my teachers, computer has improved happy I see it, given the age of when and had time to read my teacher post @lightsplasher thanks my teacher hope we are happy to share :-) :-) :-) :-)

The most diminutive feline on record is Mr. Stones, a 2-year-old feline that measured 3 lbs (1.3 k) and was 6.1 inches (15.5 cm) high.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63877.76
ETH 3093.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83