10 Days of Reflection Photos The old Tower Downtown Milford

in #tendaysofrefection6 years ago (edited)

10 Days of Reflection Photos The old Tower Downtown Milford

00CA0F64-A732-4113-9346-A6E077F08BCD.jpeg



Camera Pentax K-3 18mm F4 1/100 ISO 160


I was nominated by @sunscape to take part in the 10 days of reflections and as I love reflections I thought why not

The rules of the challenge are simple:
10 Days of Reflection Photos (mirrors, water, etc)
Tag your post with #tendaysofreflection
Title your post "10 Days of Reflection"
Nominate a friend if you wish
Have fun and be creative!
And I will nominate anyone who wants to participate. Come on and join! You know you want to.
This post was originated by @ilovedietcoke and her original post on it can be found here 10 Day Reflection Challenge
I love this old Tower in Downtown Milford it has such character, in this first shot it is reflected in the Window of a building across the street which fitted for this challenge

10443444_698900313510406_1247598117272893953_n.jpg


I have many shots of this old tower and I have been very fortunate to have photos of it selected twice for the cover of a Quarterly magazine produced for the city of Milford CT,
the first one for a special anniversary issue to celebrate Milford's 375th Anniversary
cover.jpg


And the second one in the latest winter issue which I should have a copy of in the mail in a couple of days.

It's such a cool feeling to see my photo on the cover of this magazine and I have been truly lucky to have been featured there a few times :)
I have decided to do these posts not only with a photo but with a little self reflection ( well hopefully that will be the case for all ten days but will see how that goes)
I have been lucky to have these and other photos featured on the covers
But it is just luck and not that my photos are better than anyone else's, just that I was lucky the publisher happened to come across my photos and wanted to use them, sure i do get a good feeling when I see my photo on the cover but i keep my feet grounded and do not let my head swell.
Photography for me is a hobby not a profession, I have been doing it for quite a few years now but at best see myself as a serious amateur and not something I make a lot of money from,
Well perhaps that was till I came across Steemit, I was always spending more than the little I made from sales of photo prints on camera equipment.
I hope this year that may change and any camera equipment I get which will hopefully include a Full Frame camera (which I have dreamed of owning but could never justify for a hobby) I will be able to fund from a percentage of the earnings from Steemit while still focusing on using most of the earnings to power up and build up my level on Steemit.

So my reflection for today is to be thankful for the good fortunate I have had in life including coming across and becoming part of the wonderful Steemmit community.

I have meet so many wonderful people on here sharing such wonderful original and creative content, all working to not only build their presence on Steemit but to build the community as well.
My time on Steemit has also motivated me again to get out and take more photos so I have posts to share on here, as well as strive to keep improving in my abilities with photography.

So thank you all for welcoming me into this wonderful community, giving me the confidence to write a little more than a brief description with some of my posts and see myself growing a little to become a real blogger and a part of this community and helping it in my own little way to grow.

Now back to the regularly programming and more shots of this tower

BE6625E9-320A-4EB6-93EC-C80E3AA8FC3A.jpeg
Camera Pentax K-3 25mm F8 1/200 ISO 125


Here is the tower from another angle, you can see the waterfall beside it
98BA010D-90AD-4C97-900D-52048A62B384.jpeg
Camera Pentax K-3 18mm F8 1/320 ISO 160



And another shot of it from another angle where you can see the archway and old door,
I love the detail in this old tower , I have heard mixed stories about this tower, some say it was part of an old Mill here from the early days of Milford, others say this was moved here and erected later on, I have yet been able to confirm which is the real truth.
But either way I think this old tower and stone bridge are an important part of the character and old England feel of Milford.

All photos on this blog are taken by myself, mostly with a Sony Mirrorless camera
With the Exception in this post of the cover of the latest issue of the Magazine, I have not received a copy yet so this photo was shared with me by the publisher

steemusa is a growing Community for and supporting those from of in the United States,check out the latest post or join us on Discord

If your interested in thealliance Check out the latest posts
Or Chat with us on in Gamma Syndicate of the alliance if you wish to join Gamma Syndicate on Discord



JJ steemit banner w steemusa.jpg

!steemitworldmap 41.222727 lat -73.055601 long Old Tower Downtown Milford CTd3scr

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=tattoodjay
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=10-days-of-reflection-photos-the-old-tower-downtown-milford


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

That looks like a very #distinctivedoor. @tattodjay, you should give yourself more credit. It’s not all luck that your photos were selected. Serious amateur or unserious professsional, you got a good eye for a shot. Keep up the good work.

Thanks mate that’s so kind of you to say 😎

Enjoy the vote and reward!

We joined Steemit at the same time and your support and encouragement has been constant. You get back what you put out there, Jay so I'm not sure luck is solely responsible for your "good fortune". You have added so much to this community and I wish you all the best and can't wait to see the images from your full frame camera!

Your shots of the Milford Tower are wonderful and one more reason I need to get myself to Connecticut to see where my mom and dad came from and meet all of the cousins I have never met.

Thank you for all you do and for sharing part of yourself with us.

Amazing photos @tattoodjay. I also love that tower. The reflection photo is hands down the best photo I have ever seen of this Milford landmark. Great capture my friend. Glad to be joining you on this STEEM journey!

Thanks mate glad to have a fellow Milfordite steeming along with me

I love this old Tower and this issue of the Milford living magazine has a good article on the Tower and bridge it was a good read

Really nice shots. Connecticut is a beautiful state and one of my favorites.

It really is such a beautiful state I love it here

Just on that tower alone I am in live with Milford. I can see why your photo was selected. It is such a picturesque winter photo that makes it feel like a small warming home town to live in.

That is some insane detail that camera picks up. My eyes can almost feel the texture.

Thanks my friend I love my little Sony camera and hope Steem May help me to upgrade it this year 😎

OMGosh, this tower looks incredible! I love old stone architecture and you've captured it beautifully. I think your tag is missing an L so it's not showing up in #tendaysofreflection....I misspell it multiple times every day.

Oops thanks for pointing that out I fixed the tags

Thanks for your visit and support it is truly appreciated

I'm happy to see you participating, it's fun watching all the amazing reflection images pop up on my feed!

I love reflections so I am enjoying seeing them all over the feed as well

Awesome! I'm glad you are enjoying the challenge :)

A wonderful old tower. I wonder what its use was.

It was actually built as replica of an original mill tower along with the bridge I believe around the 200th anniversary so 275 years ago

Fantastic photos

Wow J that must feel great to have your work showcased like that.

Yes it is such a great feeling to see it 😎

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56924.47
ETH 3086.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41