Brittania Series on Amazon - Season 1

in #television7 years ago

image.png

Earlier this month, I saw an advertisement for a new show on Amazon (free with a Prime subscription). The new series, Brittania, takes place in 43 AD. The Romans have returned to Brittania after a crushing weather-assisted defeat at the hands of the Gauls. The Romans are led by General Aulus (David Morrissey) who must navigate the complex inner turmoil among the tribes while negotiating peace. The end game is to bring Brittania under Roman rule, collect taxes and maintain peace. The tribes, along with their mysterious druid priest, have other ideas.

image.png

At first blush, Brittania appears to be a period drama. I quickly realized that this story departed from normal dramatic themes into the realm of fantasy. The film combines a heavy dose of supernatural with more traditional story lines. I have watched several episodes thus far and still haven't decided how this aspect plays out for me. It certainly adds a lot of latitude for storytelling. And who doesn't like a good story? But sometimes the fantasy elements muddle the story more than augment it.

image.png

Brittania has a few familiar faces. Although primarily a British undertaking, some of the actors have been in popular shows and films. Most prominent is Morrissey, who was brilliant as The Governor in the Walking Dead series. He feels a bit typecast in his role as Aulus, but he delivers it with precision. Kelly Reilly is also a familiar face. She has been in countless movies and television shows, most notably, True Detectives which will be returning to the small screen in 2018. Another central character is Divis, portrayed by Nicolaj Lie Kaas. I recognize him from several other films as well. He is one of the anchors of this strangely written story.

image.png

Brittania seems to be part Game of Thrones and part Rome. I enjoyed both of those series immensely. The Rome series was far too short in my opinion. This series seems to be attempting to capitalize on the success of these genres, tilting a bit more towards GoT. I don't mind the fantasy elements, but they fall far short of the stories they are emulating. The film uses heavy doses of foul language sprinkled with sex and mild nudity (nothing like the gratuitous nudity of GoT) to add underscore a rather muddled story line. It's not a horrible story. The characters are interesting, the concept is intriguing, the dialogue isn't horrible, either. But the story is less than compelling.

image.png

Brittania isn't getting much love on IMDb. With a rating of 6.4, the nine episode series may not see a second season. That is a bit disappointing to me. This show had/has a lot of promise. The story could be more compelling, but the journey has been fun. It may contain some anachronisms, but I can ignore that based on the alternate reality aspects of the show. The performances are decent. The show reminds me of a third series, Vikings. Although Vikings played the story a bit more straight. I would give this series a recommendation, going a bit higher than IMDb. If you are in to this sort of story, you may find you enjoy it enough to watch. 7/10.

Sort:  

Great review. There is only one GoT and I think k it's too soon to try and be a GoT type of show. Also there are too many tv shows to watch generally.

Very true. And the trick is sorting through the crap for good tv.

Yep. Especially as trailers can be misleading.

Beep! Beep! @shadow3scalpel at your service. I am here to assist all military members on Steemit. This HumVee will be scouting posts from a list of Veterans that is maintained by @chairborne. If you are a Veteran and new to Steemit, and you have questions or want to join the Veterans community, reply to this comment. We got your six, unless you are in the rear with the gear. Ooh-Rah!
Comment by @inthenow. This is a opt-in bot.

compare to I,Tonya i think this is not a waste of time

Wow - reminds you of GoT, Rome and Vikings!? That's something.... Plus, I love David Morrisey. I added this on a notepad I keep on my desk - I already have a few other series I want to watch!
Totally agree with you about Rome - such a pity they didn't give that series a few more seasons (although it would've been hard to watch without Marc Anthony!)

Marc Anthony. Lol. Well played.

This film seems like it was emulating those shows, but is nowhere near the same quality. I like it, but I wouldn’t be disappointed if they stop with one season.

Thank you for the detailed review. I'm a big fan of History, I'm not sure what I would think of it with the fantasy elements. But since you really enjoy it overall it may be something that I want to look into. Have a great evening!

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62151.48
ETH 2421.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57