Travelers (Netflix) and a Crypto Mention!

in #television5 years ago

Just a few weeks ago I wrote about how I've been binge watching all the Marvel series on Netflix. After burning out on gaming a little bit, I just wanted to sit and watch a show. One thing I do not enjoy is reruns. This is why I don't even have cable. This is a Netflix and Hulu house, so I was on a mission to find something new to watch for a couple of days.

98% Match

It had been a while since I found a suggested "match" that peaked my interest, so I was surprised when I saw Travelers. After watching Agents of SHIELD which had some time travel, and DC's Legends of Tomorrow which was all about time travel, I was definitely up for some time traveling action. I would actually recommend this and I can happily say I have not seen much of the corny, bad acting and special effects that some of the Marvel series presented.

The story line is good and the way they travel is unique. The future is a mess and they've come back to the 21st century to fix things and you only hear the stories they tell about the future. The quantum computer basically tells all, and it's been fun to watch! It's very matrixy which reminds me of an article I read where a Theoretical Physicist Finds “Computer Code” in the Fabric of Space. I think it's worth the watch, but I am mostly writing about this show because...

More Crypto Mentions!

I seem to always be drawn to these types of shows because they're almost guaranteed to have super advanced technology in it so while I wasn't entirely surprised there was a crypto mention in this show, I was still excited to hear it!

Ethereum on Season 3, Episode 2

What really got me excited is that the actor had mined $80,000 worth of Ethereum in 27 minutes using a super computer. Oh the possibilities. Could you imagine if there were time travelers here with inside information lurking among us in secret? I would love to be one of those guys!

It always amazes me what these futuristic geniuses can do when it comes to these shows. It makes me wonder if the actor has 1/8th of a clue as to what they're even talking about, and how much of it is accurate vs. just a script to make him sound smart.

"That was easy" he said after mining $80,000 worth of Ethereum in 27 minutes with one of his super computers. Wouldn't that be nice?






It makes me wonder how possible that would even be, if at all. I guess he's implying that he rootkitted the Ethereum network? I don't think that's possible, is it? I would think that there would be no hacking required to mine with a super or quantum computer, but what do I know. I really don't.

These kind of shows make me wonder how possible time travel is, and of course there are plenty of conspiracy theories that claim time travel to be real. Just like men in black and so many other conspiracies that just so happen to be movies. Or are they rubbing it in our noses as some claim? You know, the truth in plain sight.

A bit of a far fetched thought

I've considered the multiverse theory, which lives on in a few flat earth theories as well so this fits both scenarios. If this were true it may be possible that many movies come from real life events. Whether it be from an alternate earth, as depicted in Super Girl, a multiverse, or multiple earths spread out on a flat plane separated by vast sheets of ice as the Flat Earthers believe, or maybe even past events that have since been altered so we don't have any memory of them. On a fantastical level, it's fun to imagine these things to be true. Just like when I first started playing Elite: Dangerous, when I would see a star or satellite moving across the night sky, I liked to think it was a commander from E:D flying by as he protected the galaxy from danger.

This goes hand-in-hand with the predictive programming you've probably heard about in many shows, including the simpsons. It's something that somewhat bothers me simply because I believe so much in cryptocurrency, but...

They Predicted the Downfall of Cryptocurrencies

It's a scary thought for all of us especially with the downward trend that we've had all year, but with the amount of research I've done (or we can call it pseudo-research since it was a lot of youtube videos), Hollywood seems to know the future.

To keep the context of the scene, let's continue the conversation scene by scene. Trevor asks if Philip is stealing from accounts, so Philip gives a broad explanation of the mining process.





This part immediately caught my attention since it's a time traveling show where they've come back from at least 100 years into the future. What eventually happens?!



For like....oh great. What perfect timing for an alarm to go off. WHEN DOES IT HAPPEN? I have to assume he mined that $80,000 worth of Ethereum and cashed it out immediately. Philip is the crew's historian, meaning he knows a thing or two about what's about to happen since they're from the future. His response is indicative that nothing happens for like....another number of years. The question is how many? Is this predictive programming?

Let's hope not!

I would not want to call it predictive programming and I don't believe it to be some true event from an alternate reality. Only time will tell how right or wrong I am, but it's still interesting to think about! I would never want this particular piece of "predictive programming" to be true in anyway. I am still certain that cryptocurrency will rise again. I always find it fascinating when they mention cryptocurrency in a show, but this one was a little alarming for me. Especially with the alarm going off before he could finish his sentence.

Obviously it was put there to excite any crypto enthusiast and was purposely meant to screw with my head like this, but I still had fun writing this!

Watch it if you like time traveling world saving weird stuff!

Steem on!

When I joined Steemit I made the decision to always Power-Up my earnings. For now, payouts are set to 50/50 but you bet I will convert & Power Up! Besides internal transfers, I have never cashed out and don't plan on it! Power-Up only!


power-up.jpg

Proudly a part of the #comedyopenmic / #comedyopenmicespanol community! Make people laugh with your original jokes!
Click To Vote @ComedyOpenMic For Witness And Disrupt The Steem Blockchain With Laughter!
Support COM Banner

Thank you to @matytan for the great banner

Sort:  

ǝɹǝɥ sɐʍ ɹoʇɐɹnƆ pɐW ǝɥ┴

You really are mad. (You came to my blog -- that's madness!) Thank you!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by BitFiend from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hey, @bitfiend.

I watched the last season of Agents of Shield, which I thought was very well done, probably the best season yet, though I did enjoy the one before it, too. It's too bad ABC doesn't seem to know what it wants to do with it (after almost getting rid of it) now that it's getting good.

DC Legends of Tomorrow I've not been watching as much, primarily because that show, along with The Flash, likes to time convolution so much, that it's at the point of ridiculousness. Having someone running around changing time is one thing, but having time coming undone just because (or so it seemed the last time I watched), became a bit too much.

Plus, I've never really been able to get into the newer characters.

I used to be a pretty big fan of time travel (really loved Dr. Who back in the 80s, along with Back To The Future and then Quantum Leap), along with the idea of a multiverse or alternate Earths, a la shows like Sliders and the movie The One.

Now, I'm not so convinced any of that exists, but I wouldn't be surprised if there was some situation where multiple planes of existence, with different people, with their own lives, societies and timelines, were all occupying the same space, but at different chronal frequencies.

Anyway, I'm glad you've been enjoying Travelers and that it's a step above many other time traveling shows. I can't go as far to say that Hollywood has its pulse of much of anything, especially the future, though a lot of the material shows draw from or are based on do a better job of it. Timing is the hard part, along with the actual sequence of events. Clothing and hairstyles have pretty much been off, too. :)

However, when it comes to making predictions, it can serve as a self-fulfilling prophecy if enough people like the idea or believe it. That's one thing to watch out for regarding predictions, especially ones that people can influence.

I know exactly what you mean about the time convolution. There were parts that really confused me, and then there was all the crossover episodes. I wrote about this a few months ago because I started with "The Arrow". Not knowing about the crossover episodes, I got to an episode that had zero continuation. I was confused until the end. I ended up having to watch The Flash, The Arrow, Super Girl and DC's Legends of Tomorrow just to understand what the hell was going on. Especially when Super Girl showed up for the first time and they're talking to her about past events. When it comes to all the weird time stuff on Flash/Legends it's because there's more than one person changing time around. The whole time that the Legends are working, the Flash and his nemesis are also doing stuff to change time, which affects things on The Arrow as well. It affects Super Girl slightly and even affects "other earths" where another time traveling speedster helps with time traveling stuff and he is barry's dads doppleganger. It's quite the story line and I had to actually look up crossovers so that I could watch in proper order and understand what was going on. There are a few times where it explains why something happened later, and who caused it. Then you're like "oh that's what happened", but of course the confusion is damn near gone by then because it was multiple episodes ago.

So yeah -- in order to fully understand what the heck is going on with the Flash, and/or DC Legends of Tomorrow, you have to watch The Arrow and Super Girl as well. Especially because half the team on Legends of Tomorrow started out on The Arrow which gives them a backstory for you to recall when you start watching Legends of Tomorrow. When they just up and disappear from the arrow, you're left wondering what happened to them. When they "show up again", it may be confusing if you haven't already started Legends of Tomorrow.

I actually enjoyed Legends of Tomorrow. It was silly and I found it funny, but it was a less serious approach to time travel and saving the world. It's almost like the writers got bored and wanted to focus on funny. I laughed at the season finale though. I loved the ending, as silly as it was. Definitely unexpected, and it's quite the "inside joke" for anyone who's watched every episode.

Agents of SHIELD was definitely my favorite too. I was upset when I finished watching and found myself wanting more.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 6 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 5 SBD worth and should receive 237 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65122.20
ETH 2988.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68