Writing Resumes/Curriculum Vitae

in #telecommuting4 years ago (edited)

RESUMES / CVs

Everyone's giving out advice about resumes. I'm not an expert on this, but I found some resources that might help you.

Aside from a personalized cover letter, networking with others, and interview skills, your resume is probably the most important tool you have for getting a job. Since the late 1990s, a monster has arisen to plague job seekers, and it is the boon of HR: Applicant Tracking System (ATS) software. I'm currently writing an article about it, which should be done in a week or two. The short story is it's an automatic system to sort resumes based on specific criteria and, even if you're the best candidate, if your resume doesn't match the criteria your resume will get a low ranking. It'll never be seen by a person. It's a known issue, and it affects lots of people. I'm not good at resume writing so, although I'm qualified, two different ATSs scored me at around 25% for what I'm applying for. One ATS even marked me as highly qualified for Java because several of my jobs had been on the island of Java, Indonesia!

Thus, it is important not only to get your resume out there but to find expert help to make it more likely to match ATSs. There are strategies for this, but they aren't 100% because every ATS works differently. That said, if you can afford the time, learn the strategies and fix your resume, or get help.

There are some places out there where you can make your own resume, too. Here are 3 options, each with multiple templates - free or paid. There are others, so feel free to search!

  1. Resume Hero
  2. Enhancv
  3. KickResume also helps you to publish it on a simple website.
  4. StandardResume
  5. FindDreamJobs's Resume Builder
  6. LinkedIn's Resume Builder

*Keep in mind that the fancier a resume is, the less likely it'll make it past ATS software.

Other Resources

Slack Communities can be used to help you connect with people with similar interests, which can be a great way to find work.

There are professional resume services out there that charge hundreds, even thousands, of dollars and guarantee results. If you're not good at making a resume and don't have any HR experts as friends, you might want to shell out that money but I'm not sure if it'll be worth it if you're looking at jobs with salaries that are fairly low. Also, keep in mind that, as with companies you want to work at, you should carefully research these resume services to make sure that they're not fraudulent!

Please note that if you upload your existing resume to a site, or import it from LinkedIn, you'll probably need to edit it because some websites don't parse the information correctly and your resume on their site will be wrong, while others will be looking for data LinkedIn didn't provide or you didn't fill in. For example, when I used my LinkedIn resume on certain employers websites, it was expecting to see the starting and ending months for former employers and, quite frankly, I can't remember that far back so it's empty on LinkedIn. And, as always, these automatic resume approvers cannot work magic - garbage in means garbage out no matter how nice the formatting is. So, after you upload your resume, make sure to check all the data!

Reviews of 9 Resume Writers...and resume writing services has links to local services and executive-level resume services.

A couple of years ago, I used Resume Hero's service. It takes in your info, allows multiple resumes, and has a few different templates to choose from. It's not perfect, and I had some problems with how it interpreted my resume when it parsed it, so I had to do some editing (other job boards as well as headhunter and company HR sites sometimes make the same mistakes), but it may be a starting point.

I took a look at the resume builder that LinkedIn offers if you pay for their pro membership but it is entirely dependent on your profile so, if your profile sucks, so will your resume. It uses a very basic format that LinkedIn claims is popular. This is going to be true of most resume builders, I suspect.

A lot of websites now offer this service, including Indeed. [Resume Robin] will distribute your resume to a bunch of sites.

  • 6 Resume Tips from the Pros - ZipRecruiter
  • The LinkedIn Cheat Sheet for Advancing your Career - Sam Oke, Symphony Inc. (I had to sign up to get this, but I'm sharing it with you.)
  • 139 Action Verbs to Make Your Resume Stand Out
  • ZipJob's Top 11 Sites to Post Your Resume To
  • CareerCloud's The 10 Best Sites to Post Your Resume Online

  • I hope that this article helps you to find work - it's based on my own - current - job search for remote work. It took days of research and months of job hunting to write. If it does help, please add a comment letting us know where you found the job! :)

    If you work for one of the companies listed and see an error, or would like to offer an affiliate connection, please let me know! :)

    If you have suggestions about other sites, let me know that, too!



    If you appreciate this article, please upvote/like, resteem/share and share it to Facebook, Twitter, Reddit, LinkedIn and wherever else you can!

    Sort:  

    Writing a resume is an important step in your job search. I was fired because I refused to get vaccinated. And it took me a long time to figure out what to do. Until I found the article https://us.resumeedge.com/blog/what-to-do-if-youre-fired-for-not-getting-vaccinated, which exactly describes what to do in such cases. I wish I had found it sooner.

    Coin Marketplace

    STEEM 0.18
    TRX 0.15
    JST 0.029
    BTC 63057.34
    ETH 2546.78
    USDT 1.00
    SBD 2.64