Lost my Steemit Password.. am I Screwed??

in #techsupport7 years ago

I'm logged in on my phone and can still make posts, but I tried to add a profile picture and fill out the about section and was presented w/ a password request.... unfortunately I don't think I have it, I seem to remember possibly screenshotting it but I didn't save it elsewhere

So for my techies out there, doesn't the fact that I'm logged in on mobile chrome browser present any possible way to recover it? Or is the cookie not useful at all for recovering my password..?

I would assume that I would need the password for withdrawing as well?

Is it time to make a new account and not be sucks a dummy? Can I delete this account and be able to make a new one w this username or is my username also trapped???

Pretty bummed. Total newb move on my part.

Anybody got any input on this one???

Sort:  

That sucks, I have a feeling the same will happen to me. I really should of saved my password haha.

@flatearthvegan you might want to open another account also if you lost your password. Why add more monetary value to your current account if you can not reap it's benefits. If you do make another account, do write down the password multiple times and keep in your different safe places.

I think I might have to do that. Thanks for the tip and good luck on your account issues!

If you did do a screen shot it might be in your computer somewhere. I checked your wallet and it doesn't seem like you will lose much. If you can't find it, I would make another account as fast as possible. It may take awhile to get in. Once in, write down your password multiple times on paper and store it in your different safe places. It is in the white paper that there is no way to get the password from them once a password is lost. I would not post too much anymore on this account as if you did lose the password for sure you lose it's monetary value.

About your Steemit name everything is in the blockchain. You might have a similar name by adding a number or another letter on the end of your current name.

I went into settings: permissions and it shows a bunch of keys, will those help me at all?

Owner key, posting, active, memo etc?

They are keys that you can use, but they are not the password that you will need to take it's monetary value.

Maybe you can keep your account, cause you never know if you will find your password. I would at lease have two accounts if I were in your position. It won't hurt to have two accounts.

Once you get your new account you can start all over again. If you were to start again I would have more posts than followers and I would have more followers than following.

You don't really want follow for follow. Just follow those who's content you really like and can grow from. Concentrate on putting out as much good content as you can out there and your reputation will grow. Do this and your monetary value will rise.

Reezy -

I hope you can figure this password thing out man. You're a great content creator on IG.

Appreciate you man!

Jay
The Steem Report
(@jeremiahbyron on IG)

Congratulations @reezyresells! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Reezy, Fake people don't make it on Steemit

Congratulations @reezyresells! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @reezyresells! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68220.71
ETH 3321.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74