Linux IS the FREE operating system every voluntarist and anarchist "must" have!!!

in #techreview8 years ago


I have been using Linux for a couple of years now and I can honestly say - it is - hands down, the best over all operating system. You can download a "distro", burn it to a cd/dvd or usb memory stick and install it complete with all updates in less than 2 hours. What really blew me away the first time I used Linux Mint, was that I could use it without installing it to my computer!!! You can boot some Linux distributions straight from a dvd and use it to browse the internet without leaving so much as a trace of your browsing history. Unlike Microsofts' Windows which can take up to 3 days (or longer) to get all of the updates and at least 3 hours just to install, some Linux distributions allow you to browse the internet WHILE you are installing it to your computer. That is just wild!! I don't know how many times I have installed Windows and had to sit there all day not being able to do anything except wait. Linux solves this problem. I like the security, knowing that if my operating system ceases to operate correctly, I can just put in the cd and reinstall it while still watching videos on Youtube or access my Dropbox or read my email.

Linux will run most Windows applications and games (though admittedly not all). Let's just say that I have found that Linux runs more programs than it doesn't run... and those that I have found won't execute are probably due to my own ineptitude configuring Linux resources. I am sure I'd have gotten a few more games to run if I had invested time into learning more about Linux.
Linux can do everything Windows can and then some!!!
FOR FREE!!!!

Even if your computer came with Windows, I still suggest and recommend downloading and experimenting with this operating system. It's just a matter of time before you'll need to upgrade Windows again... and a typical purchase of any Microsoft OS approaches $100 to $300 or more - unless you are forced or tricked into upgrading, such as with Windows 10.

Linux does "office" tasks, security cams, playing multimedia and editing, virtual machines, internet browsing, and running Windows software. A few of the most obvious weak points are Skype, and some games. Some Linux software versions just are not supported as well as their Windows counterparts, such as Skype. This will change and has been changing as more people discover Linux and make the switch. I wish I hadn't waited so long to try Linux - thinking of all the head aches Windows has given my over the years!! If you must have the absolute latest version... you need to keep Windows. But that's ok too. You can keep Windows on a separate partition of your hard drive. Which brings me to another point about the great things Linux can do.

Installed on a separate hard drive partition, Linux offers dual boot ability to those who wish to keep their Microsoft Windows. You can still run your favorite Windows software as well as having the coolest free Linux Distro available at restart.
Again I recommend everybody find a Linux version they like and make the switch!
Search and find the version that's right for you here: http://distrowatch.com
I personally like and use Linux Mint 64bit KDE. What can I say... I like eye candy.
Please, don't forget to UPVOTE!

Sort:  

I agree. Microsoft sucks. Linux is the best.

I still use Linux in a couple places as a server and proxy device, but macOS (OSX) has taken the place for my day-to-day machine. I do keep my eye on Ubuntu though. I actually really, really like Unity. There are a couple of small things that bother me about it, but it's been coming along nicely since it's introduction. In general, software availability and ease of use (read that as not needing to tinker) plus hardware support ultimately led to the switch to Mac.

I still super-respect and adore the freedom aspects of Linux and it's usually the first thing I go to when I'm feeling all fired up about software freedoms and computer tinkering.

Congratulations @sovereigndirt! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @sovereigndirt! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64294.06
ETH 3427.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59