Working on a Vertical Monitor - Why Hasn't This Caught On?

in #technology7 years ago

VerticalMonitor.jpg

It always seemed strange that computer screens were oriented horizontally. Back when computing was new and I was hunting and pecking on a hand-me-down IBM PC-AT, movies on a computer screen were still a far-fetched fantasy. Back then, all we had were letters: lines of code and the infinite scroll of hard-to-parse word processing text. DOS and UNIX, baby.

And no mice to help us navigate. Back then, we actually used the PgUp and PgDn keys! Anytime we could, we sent our words to our dot-matrix printers so we could read and revise them without straining our eyes. Buzz-buzz!

(Do you remember the stress-headaches of the amber monochrome monitor? Or maybe you were lucky enough to score one of the cool green ones.)

We were quite accustomed, at the time, to writing or typing on paper that was taller than it was wide. Since everything we did in our schools and offices had to be provided on these portrait-shaped rectangles, why the hell didn’t our newfangled computers orient the same way?

When we got into the era of desktop publishing, it seemed especially weird that the market wouldn’t provide a machine that could show a full page in it’s proper shape. Then web-pages came, with their infinite vertical scroll. Surely this called for a paradigm shift? Instead, the screens just kept getting wider and wider.

Now the question’s rendered moot by our phones and tablets. We can hold those things any way we damn well please. Hey – ever notice that most of us are reading and swiping in portrait mode?

Here’s the biggest irony of all: after 40+ years of computing on horizontal screens, people can take videos with their smart-phones to watch on those screens. And most of the time, they record them vertically. So we're stuck watching vertical videos in vertical Facebook feeds all shrunk down to fit on a horizontal monitor.

The world has gone mad.


This week I was wandering through our local Salvation Army thrift store. Don’t ya know, they had a little monitor on sale for $16. The last thing I need is more dated computer stuff, but for some reason I took a look at it. First thing I noticed: this thing is damn heavy. It weighs as much as a manual typewriter. Second, it has a built in USB hub. I’m not sure that I’ll ever use more than four peripherals simultaneously, but it’s kind of cool to stick a thumb drive into my monitor instead of fumbling around the back of the laptop. I also noticed that the stand was pretty great. It telescopes up by a foot or so, and doesn’t wobble the way my massive 27” wide-screen does. I shook it vigorously to confirm this.

And that’s when I noticed something else. This monitor rotates.

I went against all my screaming anti-hoarder instincts and bought the damn thing. I mean, what’s sixteen dollars?

Now I can read a web-page with 25% less scrolling. I can edit vertically oriented pictures with ease. I can fit a whole typewritten page on the screen at a time.

(And when I’m facing down writer’s block and staring at the blank page, I can stare down the whole page all at once.)

It's especially handy with Steemit posts, because I can resize the tiny text-window into something that displays an entire post. Actually, Steemit's clean and simple layout looks brilliant this way.

It still feels kind of weird, though. I’m not sure I’m used to it yet.

Has anyone else found it easier to work with a horizontal monitor? Am I just being neurotic about this?

Sort:  

ya it's a bit of a special use case. i see the vertical setup in healthcare offices, hospitals, programmers, techies. everyone else really likes to use there pc for movies and or gaming for which you want a landscape setup so it's likely to remain the first choice for a while. interesting thought however....upvoted :)

I see what you mean. Gaming, movies, entertainment - all call for horizontal. And I suppose computer programmers are programming for a horizontal environment, even if the vertical might help them parse their code.

Still, when I'm working I'm mostly interested in words. I'm just surprised I haven't seen more writers working this way.

Thanks for reading!

The world has gone mad
exactly right. It has always been this way.

I still recall. Writing .bat files in DOS! Those were the days!

You could cause a lot of mischief by messing with someone's autoexec file!

Oh - and remember when filenames could only be eight characters long?

Yes I do remember it was great fun!

Everything you said makes perfect sense. Perhaps you should patent the idea of a PC screen that rotates images the way some smart phones do. That way you could turn the monitor vertically for text files and horizontally for games and videos! Best of both worlds!

You're right, having a sensor on the back of the screen so it auto-rotates when you spin it should be pretty easy to develop. I could probably rig something up with a sensor attached to a Raspberry Pi...

Nice! Good luck with the project.

Well one time I had my pc connected to the 32"TV and to a vertically oriented pc monitor that I fixed to the side of the TV.

The best of both worlds!

It's a really interesting question, and one which I intend to try out! I can see this working well for reading and marking up text especially .. upvoted and resteemed

Thanks, @britcoins. Let me know if it helps your workflow!

I do this at work, Main laptop monitor: emails. Second Monitor: Vivaldi Browser and console. Third and Vertical monitor: PowerShell and Steemit. hahaha

Now that's what I call multi-tasking!

Hahah I torally agree with you. So many times I have to print out the pages I wrote just to see how it looks on the whole. If I had it I wouldn't have to do that. Vertical screen hahah I've seen some students in the college lab use it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57130.74
ETH 2551.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41