Using a 3D Printer & Scanner to Build a Teleporter

in #technology7 years ago

3d-791205_1920.jpg

Picture from Pixabay

So I've been recently thinking about possible use cases for 3D Printer and 3D Scanner technology. One such use case that I've come up with is the potential to "Teleport" objects from one place to another.

What does it mean to Teleport?

So to define what it means to teleport an object I'm going to use the Wikipedia definition

teleport the movement of material objects between one place and another without physically traversing the distance between them.

The Goal

Let's say we have a small cube that we want to move. We need to create a way to move this cube from the location #1 to location #2 and back again, without actually traversing the distance.

The How

My idea would be to setup two bases each containing a 3D printer and 3D scanner in separate locations. Then it's simply a matter (no pun intended) of scanning the cube in at location #1 and sending it via the internet to location #2 to be 3D printed. Once location #2's print finishes they can make any modifications and do the same process to send it back. Of course, technically for this to be "teleportation" the original cube needs to be destroyed, so you can have some fun with that while files upload.

But it's not the same cube!

A common issue I would imagine people taking with this approach is that technically it's a different cube every time it teleports between locations, and the original is actually destroyed. In this simple example, it does not really matter, but for more complex objects it could cause issues. I won't try to refute this claim as its already been discussed in the form of the Theseus's paradox.

Finally, I wanted to mention the below video I found by CGP Grey, which provided the inspiration for this post and got me thinking about this topic.

Thanks for reading, let me know what you would want to use 3D printer technology for in the comments.

Sort:  

This is a very functional application of teleportation, until someone tries to teleport their cat and wonders why it became plastic.

Yes, well obviously it doesn't work very well for biological things (or things that aren't plastic, to begin with). Although we'll have to see where Organ printing technology evolves in the upcoming decades.

There's nothing but potential ahead.

Wouuu! 3D Printer is perfecto for me! Haha

Excellent idea! You could have a network of the systems around the world... Umm, can't quite work out the use-case for this. Will need to allocate a bit more star trek thought waves on this 😎

I'm not necessarily saying that this is at all practical right now as it's still faster to ship items, than to 3D print them. It's just a fun little idea I had.

@thekyle got you a $2.14 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice!
@thekyle got you a $2.14 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice! (Image: pixabay.com)


Want a boost? Click here to read more!

First of all: CGP Grey is great!

Now to your idea: scanning + 3D printing to make teleportation happen; I think that is indeed just the way for now. Maybe when we can handle quantum entanglement, and/or we can manipulate atoms and molecules, the 3D printer is not required anymore :)

Question: how familiar are you with 3D printing? I'm asking because I have an concept for 3D printed mass market products and require technology. Since you are a developer, and you show interest in 3D printing, you may be interested in having an offline chat with me.

Thanks for your feedback! To be honest, I don't have a lot of experience with 3D printing other than what I've seen in the occasional news article so I may not be the best person to advise you on your concept. But I do wish you the best of luck. :)

Thank YOU! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72