You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Computer Rescued from Trash is Running Like New

in #technology7 years ago

You need to start rescuing more computers and make a mining farm...lol. If your equipment cost is zero even if they aren't as efficient you probably should be able to pull a profit as long as your electric costs aren't to high.

Sort:  

That's not a bad idea, actually. Maybe I could vent the waste heat from the mining to keep my house warm - better than running electric heaters!

For sure better then electric heaters. I have a friend who does scrap and have gotten a decent computer from him before. Been debating doing this myself, but don't have access to free computers like that. Figured running them in my basement would be perfect as it's always cold down there even when it's 100 degrees outside.

I'm considering bribing the younger guy at the dump (the friendly one) to see if he could send me a message when things come in. I'm not sure what the costs of shipping would be, but if I could put together PCs for essentially free, raise money for the parts and shipping by posting about it, and send them to people who can't afford a computer - well, it would make for a satisfying project.

Shipping would be a little expensive. I ship a lot of stuff and unless you have a massive corporate discount something like a computer is going to be cost prohibitive. You might be better off trying locally. Might be surprised how many people want an extra computer for the kids but don't want to dump a bunch of money on it.

That's true. I'm sure there are lots of folks within driving distance that could probably use one.

and a new side business is born ;)

Make sure to look at all those computers for any wallets that might be stored on them!! Maybe you run into some free bitcoin...wouldn't that be amazing. If you get rich after searching one of these computers don't forget about us little people...lol

Oh, now there's an exciting thought!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59426.36
ETH 2654.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43