What is the most supported sports in the world?

in #technology7 years ago

There are a lot of different sporting disciplines and more importantly a lot of sporting fans around the world. But what is the most supported sports in the world?


Image Credit

Today we have another fun post about sporting stats in the world. It will be difficult to answer if we asked what is the most popular sport in the world, as we always need to measure popularity against something. For example: If we ask what the most popular sport is, it can be measured against most watched, most played or even against which sport has the most passionate fan base.

We have looked at various sources on the internet, and although we cannot find formal numbers, most of the websites around the globe have similar stats. We will always have our own opinions.

Let the countdown begin

We have a tie in 10th place, so let's give both these sports the 9th place

9 . American Football


Image Source

400 Million Supporters from Europe, Africa, Asia, America, Australia

9 . Basketball


Image Source

400 Million Supporters from Asia, America

8. Golf


Image Source
450 Million Supporters from Europe, Asia, America, Africa, Canada.

7. Baseball


Image Source
500 Million America, Japan

6. Table Tennis


Image Source
850 Million Europe, Africa, Asia, America.

5. Volleyball


Image Source
900 Million Europe, Australia, Asia, America.

4. Tennis


Image Source

1 Billion Europe, Asia, America.

3. Field Hockey

I must mention that I was suprised to find Field hockey at number 3.


Image Source

2 Billion Europe, Africa, Asia, Australia.

2. Cricket


Image Source

2.5 Billion Asia, Australia, UK.

Drum roll for Number 1 which I do not think will come as a surprise ...

1. Soccer (Football in Britain)


Image Source

3.5 Billion Europe, Africa, Asia, America.

Soccer came in as the clearly most supported sport in the world with nearly double the amount of supporters than number 2.

Please share this post far and wide and follow us @sportspodium for more information.


If you missed our earlier blog posts, please see the links below:

Sort:  

I'm tennis fan and also I'm tennis coach so I love this sport.

So you must be a keen follower of Wimbledon then? Thanks for the comment @stephan92

I played tennis since high school, and I was a huge Stefan Edberg fan back in the late 80's, but I completely stopped following tennis (and stopped playing) after he retired. Then this guy from Switzerland showed up and I started watching again when he made it look like he was the only 5.0 player in a 4.0 tennis club for a few years. This was 15 years ago. Then the sport got even more interesting when this guy from Spain started challenging him. I honestly believe that Federer and Nadal were responsible for bringing the sport and if it weren't for them, tennis would not be as popular today, so this year has been a blessing for me (and I'm sure for thousands more tennis fans) that these two are back on the top of their game. And Federer's victory this past Sunday just made it into my Top 3 most memorable Grand Slam finals (the 2009 Wimbledon Final is on the top of my list and the 2009 French Open final takes second place). If only we could see Federer vs. Nadal in the US Open, that would be the cherry on top of this already great year in tennis, as those two have never met at the US Open! But even before then, my favorite season has arrived: the North American Summer Swing!

I love that table tennis is in there!! lol
I wish sports that require more work, and grind would be on the top

  • Wrestling
  • Hockey
  • Boxing

Well HOLY Cow, how in the world has HOCKEY, I mean the ice cold HOCKEY. 1.64 million people in the world play organized hockey. 80% of Canada, with a population of 34,568,211. Ice Hockey is an Olympic event. Come on what about Lord Stanley cup? NHL, and OMG the Montreal Canadians.
hockey 2.jpg

I was quite surprised that Ice hockey does not feature in the top 10. And also Rugby Union does not feature. Thanks for the comment, you seem to be a avid supporter of Ice Hockey.

Why are you so surprised about hockey? I mean I like hockey too but just because it is popular in Canada it doesn't mean its supposed to be popular worldwide. To be honest other than Canada, Russia, some Scandinavian and parts of the US no one really cares about hockey. I could also see soccer and basketball put a dent in hockey's popularity in Canada in the future

It's just too expensive to play which makes it out of reach for poorer nations.

You make a very valid point. Thanks

Although sports are very important for our health, I think that investing more into science and research could make our life a lot better rather than sitting on our armchairs and cheering in front of the TVs like monkeys. Honestly, the tickets and all the media propaganda drives billions to their accounts without helping the society in any way. But that's just my opinion. I'm sure some people will get offended but this is the truth.

Thank you for the comment @dragos0897. Like you say we all have different opinions. For me the best Sports Quote ever :

Sport has the power to change the world. It has the power to inspire. It has the power to unite people in a way that little else can. Sport can awaken hope where there was previously only despair.” (Nelson Mandela, Laureus World Sports Awards)

I am soccer die hard fan!

Thanks for the comment @onuhkris

Well, it wasn't surprising that football is in the first place. Most people started to get engaged in that sport from a young age, and I think I was about six during my first game. Well, now I don't really play, but I do like watching live matches, and sometimes I even bet on https://takebet.co.tz/ just to increase the adrenaline level and have more fun.

Yeah, it football all the way but believed basketball should be placed second

Did you include the women's foolball fan-base too?

I do believe the stats include women supporters

Great source of information shared.

But the sport with the most participants in the world is fishing. Cheers

I have heard that it is bowls, but I agree, that it might be. I am a keen fisherman myself, but will do some research and maybe do a post on it. Thanks for the comment @silverbug

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60939.25
ETH 3370.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47