You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Has Apple Lost Its Way?

in #technology7 years ago

Nice post but there is a bit of a quirk in the system that when whales vote too much on one post, the rewards are blown up out disproportionately, staving out many other posts. I disagree that this is a positive for Steem. For that reason, I'm downvoting it but please don't take this as personal criticism or criticism of your post, it isn't that (and as you know I have supported many of your posts in the past and have every expectation of doing so in the future).

Sort:  
That's OK - I won't it is still more than I get normally recently!

Also I already do many times better than the average user even on a bad day so it would be silly to complain.

I think the first time I got flagged a while back I was upset because I felt like it was attacking the quality of the post (I am an irrational human after all!)

Anyway right now this is the least of our problems.

If we can grow the platform and get more money coming into the system this will not be a problem.

We need to make sure we bring in new users and retain those we have. There is no point in having a whole heap of something if it is worthless in the end.

I just wish people would realise that and stop fighting.

All the best and don't stress over it.

Now THIS is how you handle a flag. Bravo!

Seriously, you are an inspiration to many. I admire your persistence and quality, I may have said this before but you truly are the perfect example of the perfect Steemian.

Thanks mate you are too kind - the thing is if it wasn't for @smooth support I would probably not still be around.

I can't count how many times he supported me and upvoted my posts during some tough times sometimes when I was ready to quit.

He is one of the people who has helped to give me the reputation and position that I have - I respect his judgement and I know he his doing it for the right reasons.

We don't always agree but I think we both want what is best from the platform.

He is not perfect (none of us are) but he spends a hell of a lot of time supporting the platform and looking out for other users.

The thing is most people don't see it. If everyone showed the same concern there is no limit to what we could do.

The most important thing is to make Steem more valuable and we do that by spreading the message and promoting it.

What is the point in having 100,000 Steem or a million Steem if it is worthless?

Thank you for the words of support. It means a lot to know my efforts to build the community and improve the platform of the past year are recognized. So again, thanks!

You're always welcome mate people such as yourself have supported me through some tough times. Hopefully all the work and effort will pay off in the long term.

@thecryptofiend replying on your nested comment

He and a number of other whales (I won't list them because I am sure to leave someone out) - were the ones who supported my work when I was about to give up out of frustration.

This was when a handful of people would get their work upvoted and everybody else would get ignored.

surely there are so many whales and if we just try to look harder they ALL do want the best for the community. I wish I could repost your "The Complete Steemit Etiquette Guide revision post" which you wrote before cause I'm seeing witch-hunting starting again like dejavu ..

unfortunately it doesn't have a repost button check here

perhaps if you ever feel like rewriting it .. please add stop whining when your post is flagged specially when it's been explained why then maybe we could post it again that is one hell of a great post you've ever authored but I guess I'd just include it on every end of my post when I start reposting again.. resting now trying to recuperate but will soon get back at writing.

@thecryptofiend great post as always!

I second the motion on these ..

He is one of the people who has helped to give me the reputation and position that I have - I respect his judgement and I know he his doing it for the right reasons.

We don't always agree but I think we both want what is best from the platform.

He is not perfect (none of us are) but he spends a hell of a lot of time supporting the platform and looking out for other users.

I wanted to write it down on my first comment about it on the other post but I'd rather do it here.. at least you said it first. I don't know him well and we also didn't agree in many ways before but if there's one thing I'm sure of he's doing what he's doing for what he thinks could be good and may work for the community. It may work or not work as he intent to but he intends it to be for the good of the community.

If people think smooth is doing something wrong I suggest that they approach him in the chat or reason out with him because if there's one thing I experienced with that guy he's human, too as long as there's no name calling or bashing nor drama - he's very easy to talk to.

I don't know him well and we also didn't agree in many ways before but if there's one thing I'm sure of he's doing what he's doing for what he thinks could be good and may work for the community.

He and a number of other whales (I won't list them because I am sure to leave someone out) - were the ones who supported my work when I was about to give up out of frustration.

This was when a handful of people would get their work upvoted and everybody else would get ignored.

If people think smooth is doing something wrong I suggest that they approach him in the chat or reason out with him because if there's one thing I experienced with that guy he's human, too as long as there's no name calling or bashing nor drama - he's very easy to talk to.

Exactly and he is very approachable. I don't like the bitching and moaning behind people's backs - I can sympathise with people getting frustrated but talking to people can help resolve these things (not always but quite often it does).

If we all commit to expanding and promoting Steem/Steemit then this issue will become less and less of a problem.

the thing is if it wasn't for @smooth support I would probably not still be around.

I don't think you are the only one that shares that thought.

Users are putting way too much thought into flags, I personally haven't been flagged so I can't say much without being a bit unbiased about it, but it feels a lot like people forget all the good an account does/has done and focus on what they perceive as something negative they are doing now, without even giving a second thought to the accounts actions or past history.

It is human nature I fear - I reacted that way to my first flag from @transisto and gave him a verbal mauling and the main reason was because it hurt my feelings because he initially said that the photos were too similar.

That actually offended me more than the actual flag itself although I was too angry to admit it at the time.

It is funny the things we get angry about!

Woops, accidental tag/mention.

Wow, I'm also very impressed with this conversation! Sometimes we have to take a step back so we can make more forward in the future! @thecryptofiend you made an amazing work and I really liked your response to @smooth. Now I can go to sleep! I'm peaceful that finally, someone understands​ how this works!
Bravo indeed!

I have not yet built a clear own opinion how to see these kind of flags in case of "over rewarded" articles. From a pure rational point of view they may be justified. On the other hand one should not underestimate the psychological effect on steemians if suddenly they get flagged (or at least feel the "threat" to get flagged). I remember the case of @karenmckersie: she was quite shocked after receiving a flag. Again my personal opinion is that indeed this special article was overrated, but on the other side if one considers it from her point of view to have written many articles which brought only very few money even if she invested much time (we could also say "underrated articles"), then it can be very frustrating if the only well paid article finally gets flagged and most of the reward is lost ...
Therefore I appreciate it even more that you explain so thoroughly why you did flag this article of @thecryptofiend. I think it is much more easy to accept and understand a flag if it is explained in such a nice and friendly way. That helps a lot against the first (and very human) impulse to feel personally attacked.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 61940.56
ETH 3421.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49