You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mining Bitcoin & Ethereum @ home: let the beast go!

in #technology8 years ago

Thanks for the post. As you mentioned bitcoin is taken over by major companies and not worthwhile. Ethereum is great but newest version of Ubuntu doesn't support ATI graphics drivers so tough to follow your setup.

You mentioned Monero which is what I mine using Ubuntu. The payback is pretty good, no video drivers are needed if CPU mining, and the script is such that specialized USB miners are unlikely like they have for bitcoin.

Thanks for the post.

Sort:  

@richardterrace: Why don't you do like I did, and get yourself an older version of Ubuntu? I struggled with it all the same and went for Ubuntu 14.04. If you do that this guide should do the trick!

I tried Ubuntu 14.04 and did get the video drivers installed. Then found out that they weren't compatible with the mining pool I was using. Since my video card wasn't great (Radeon 7750) I just let my CPU do the mining :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67271.13
ETH 3515.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70