Will Face ID Give Law Enforcement Easier Access to Your Device?

in #technology7 years ago

giphy-2.gif

Currently, law enforcement can force a user to open their phone via Touch ID if enabled, however passcodes are as of yet still protected against such invasion of privacy. But that may change soon courtesy of Face ID, the latest feature announced for the upcoming Iphone X.

See, passcodes differ from features like Touch or Face ID because the former is protected knowledge that falls under the 5th amendment while the latter are considered physical objects that can be demanded by the police. This is how the police can force you to submit your fingerprint to be used to open your device in an investigation, though even this can still be defeated by using the wrong finger multiple times to try and lockout the device.

With Face ID, this will no longer be the case. Now, all that police will have to do is aim your device at your face to unlock it and then 'investigate' to their heart's content.

As paranoid a perspective as it may initially appear, the consequences of this technology are unavoidable and probably inevitable.

Considering that Face ID will allow users to pay for items through apple pay, download apps from the app store, unlock the device and oh so much more, it is important to consider the potential downside to using such tech. Already I've read mention that asks about identical twins and how the technology would handle that situation.

giphy-1.gif

But there are more situations that I believe warrant consideration as well. For instance, what's to stop your buddies (or significant other) from waiting until you are asleep or drunk and then using your sleeping face to unlock your phone?

Will criminals be able to gain access to the smartphones of their victims?

Will high quality rubber masks of intended victims allow would-be criminals to gain access to a device with Face ID, provided they can get the intended victim's phone?

I do not believe that I am ready for FaceID, as I am already uncomfortable with the legal backdoor provided by TouchID.

But I am fascinated to see all the many ways the world will come up with in trying to trick the new facial recognition feature.

Are you excited about FaceID? Am I being ridiculous about these concerns, or do you share them too? Let me know in the comments below!



@prufarchy

gifs sourced from giphy.com

Sort:  

I completely agree, this is bad news and a further block in the grand work of the new world order police state that is militarized, violates all national laws, and serves only the elite who get further reclusive inside giant walled private properties and clubs. They watch us, while they hide from the technology the created.

Actually, the FaceID doesn't work unless your eyes are open, I don't think the POlice can force you to open your eyes.

I'm sure many of the POlice will gladly encourage folks to open their eyes with some blunt force or taser. 😐
The POlice should have no business conducting illegal searches of citizens without a warrant. Problem is now we need police to police the police.
Face ID will not be protected under the 5th amendment like pass codes according to this article

"This differs from the current ruling related to passcodes. Police cannot force defendants to give these up on the basis that they are considered “knowledge” rather than a physical object, and that knowledge is protected by the Fifth Amendment. A fingerprint, on the other hand, is considered to be more in line with a DNA sample or physical key, which means that citizens are compelled to give them up to police." source above

The old flip-phones aren't looking as bad as they once did..😆
I'm not ready for this technology jump and I do not believe the technology is ready for us either.

Technology is designed to enhance our lives, but that's not always the case.. It seems that tech helps agents of the government to look 'beyond' personal privacy and allows predators a cache of weaponry to use to victimize inidivuaduals. Not even mentioning the institutions, I'm merely talking about the everyday hard-working people.

Does having online banking make life easier? Sure it does. Until it doesn't.. Then what's? When someone can access your data from simply using your own device against you - is that really for us? Doesn't really seem like it to me!

Agreed. Another thing I really don't want is my health records on-line. There really isn't any privacy anymore, is there?

No kidding! Especially when certain medical devices can be hacked.. 😱
Who wants that info besides medical professionals? Short answer: people that intend to cause you harm. Not a good idea, but unfortunately it'll happen anyway.

Sadly enough, along the lines of healthcare and technology, pacemaker companies are making their devices so they only last for 5 years. Imagine getting the pacemaker installed only to find out that you will have to get it replaced in 5 years. That to me is a crime.

That is pretty despicable 🙁. All to gather some fiat currency.. Sworn to an oath to protect and that oath seems almost as hard to put faith in as paper money.

It's pretty sad to see a company who's mission statement makes them out to be philanthropists, when actually they are putting money before the well being of their patients. It's truly ashame.

We have technology like quantum computing, but refuse to increase the lifespan of a product that increases the lifespan of people! We have medical breakthroughs that are being used to gauge the consumer. You'd think they would have some reason to care for their customer's longevity, but only immediate money is their objective; it isn't health care, it's bad business. No business can sustain that and our languishing health care systems are proof.

Ok, now you really got my brain going, thanks @yoginiofoz! 😉

When greed is the ultimate gain, no one wins. You are welcome @grow-pro! It's nice to discuss important topics with another fellow traveler.

Habla, blah blah blah blah blah, Español for my bunghole...

I think it's a weak ass way of getting round the difficulties they had with the fingerprint scanner. I wouldn't fancy face unlock, I refuse to believe it couldn't be spoofed fairly easily and if not as you say what if you are sleeping!!

I still have a flip phone. We even buy the previous generation since it only costs $50 per phone. My husband dropped his in a pond recently, and it wasn't too big of a deal to buy another one on-line.

I just think it is a little creepy to have all this data for anyone to mine on-line. Oh well. Thanks for the post @prufarchy!

N1ce!

Kind of reminds me of this. Minority Report much?

Well who knows eh? Personally, I have no opinion right now. I never used Touch ID nor read of the implications. I just used my iPhone for other purposes.

I guess in average person world, it would be more mainstream and purposeful for just living day to day.

Good questions here @prufarchy

I've never used the Touch ID on my iPhone and I never will. I switched off when I got the phone.

I assume you can do the same with the face ID feature.

Thanks for the post, I didn't know face ID was being rolled out.

@originalworks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @prufarchy to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!

On Androids they're both opt-in rather than opt-out. No idea how iDevices work.

It was the same for my iPhone. I didn't have to use my fingerprint to set it up.

Nowhere to run, nowhere to hide.

haha it sure does feel like that eh?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60947.53
ETH 2913.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56