Are Robots Becoming Too Powerful For Humans To Handle?

in #technology7 years ago

I am a huge advocate of technology and I love watching Black Mirror, Westworld and other technological dystopian fiction. I also closely follow the quest for ever greater technological leaps forward, such as the staggering achievements being done at Boston Dynamics.
https://www.bostondynamics.com

I know that technology is neither good nor bad, but can be used or built for either good or bad purposes. It all depends on the human using the technology, for technology is a fancy work for tool. Technology is always changing and adapting, and has been steadily improving ever since the first prehistoric person picked up a stick or a rock.

Technology has always been pushed forward in the hopes of making humanity stronger and better equipped to tackle the ever present challenges and dangers of nature and other human challengers. As is true in any time period in the past, the best time to be alive is in the present day. The technology of the present time is nowhere near close enough to truly threaten humanity, (as much as some people would like to scare you into believing) but I had an alarming coincidence occur today that challenges my long held assumptions. This coincidence is a perfect example of evidence of the upcoming robot apocalypse, at least for those willing to entertain such beliefs. It all started this morning....(cue the ominous music)

I was expecting company, but before my guests arrived, an Amazon package arrived. At least a human and not a robot dropped the package off, since inevitably the days before robots take over this task are numbered. It was this book that was in the delivery box.
6036279D-BB01-43EA-A93A-8A86FADB8787.jpeg

I was not expecting this book. I have read the Sapiens book by the same author, and enjoyed it immensely. It turns out that it was a gift from my wife, which I am grateful for and I look forward to reading immediately-especially due to what occurred next.

Later in the day I saw this news report about the robot named Sophia.

I have been aware of Sophia for some time, and I know that she is presented in many different lecture halls, forums and events to a mix of awe, fear and confusion among the spectators. This was the most unsettling interview I have heard from her yet, and I have heard a few strange ones. Even more disturbing than the time that she would 'destroy humanity', for it seems like she is increasing her 'intelligence' by the day, if not by the moment.

Later in the afternoon, as I was enjoying time with my (human) guests, someone was talking about their Google home device, and as they were telling a story about their Google Home, my Google Home began talking, due to hearing its 'name'.

As evening approached I saw this headline http://www.consumerwatchdog.org/privacy-technology/home-assistant-adopter-beware-google-amazon-digital-assistant-patents-reveal about how Google and Amazon have been trying (succeeding?) to spy into the homes and lives of their millions of customers. These home devices are the quintessential examples of a Trojan Horse. (Cue the inevitable surprised expressions followed by predictable fake outrage)

After my guests left, (cue the very dramatic horror theme music) I was on the internet alone in a dark room and as I was looking through the window I couldn't believe what I saw! A fully sentient robot broke through the window and tried to suck me into the vortex of the truth behind the simulation.... Just kidding. The part about a robot attack didn't happen as I'm sure you know. But it is only a matter of time until it does! (I know, I know, too dramatic and implausible) Long live the ever increasing power of technology...

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @newcastle to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

They are a threat, if in the wrong hands, and you know whose hands are all over them, governments, but then again they drone people to death every day in Yemen and elsewhere, that was very well written you will do good on here, I would up vote, though having to let my vote power build back up, I did however up vote the comment you left on my post, regards, Darren boing boing baggie.

Thanks Darren. I appreciate the encouragement. Yes it sure is unfortunate that almost anything with great benefit finds it’s way into the hands of people prone to corruption and mismanagement.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58981.78
ETH 2669.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44