You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How “Libertarian” Peter Thiel Is Helping Governments To Spy On You

in #technology8 years ago

A think we need to discuss the why. Why is it wrong for the government to spy on their people for the "greater good?" Because if it is justifiable for the government to spy on their own people, then Peter Thiels is doing the right thing.
However, if the government is grievously impeding human liberties, then we need to work to stop them.
So which is it? And why do you believe what you believe? (I think people have a right to privacy personally, but I'm interested in your opinion.)

Sort:  

Because at the very least they need to have legal cause, that is the premise of due process.. the cornerstone of the rule of law. Every single human being deserves to be innocent until proven guilty, and if officers want to infringe upon their privacy they need to follow the proper procedures and obtain a warrant accordingly. Of course over the years there has been a deterioration of civil liberties and introduction of kangaroo courts, contributing to an erosion of justice. The government, in principle, works for the people and not the other way around. They have no justification to violate the rights of billions of people because of some "greater good".. in fact much of the violence and death that they inflict upon the world is done under such a premise and it's nothing but a farce.

Well said.

I actually came back to this post because this has really been bugging me, since I saw this last nite, like, A LOT.

I want to giver' an LOL here, but really, this is nothing to laugh at.

#BillC51 in #Canadastan

I have fought that thing tooth and nail and shared it a million times the last 3-4 yrs online, done a lot on this and people are just sleep as hell and not paying any attention at all, the theft of #CivilLiberties these days amazes me.

Really was such a shame to watch!

Nesting/ -- Yes I had friends from there, they were at a bible college I was at --- I nearly had time in BC when I was there to skip across south to Seattle and visit but not quite.

I cannot remember, are you here too?? Whereabouts?? If you do not mind me asking

I agree completely, well said sir.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60826.76
ETH 2393.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62