The fastest and most economic high-speed cruiser - Virus SW 80/100

in #technology7 years ago (edited)

This little guy was displayed at the Edmonton Aeroshow 2017 and it caught my eye as I noticed very familiar name - Pipistrel.

DSC01124.JPG

Pipistrel d.o.o. Ajdovščina is a Slovenian light aircraft manufacturer established in 1989 by Ivo Boscarol and based in Ajdovščina. It was the first private aircraft producer in Yugoslavia. Its facilities are located in Ajdovščina, Slovenia and near the town of Gorizia, Italy. By June 2017, Pipistrel had produced more than 1500 aircraft.
~Source

Many of you might have never heard of it before, especially because the manufacturer is from a tiny country of Slovenia. I used to live there and this is the reason why I am introducing the Virus SW to all of you.

Virus SW 80/100 is the most economic high-speed cruiser and the fastest high-wing aeroplane in its category

It is lightweight and what I found the most fascinating was that it can lift more than its own weight!
With a standard empty weight of 287-289 kg (631-635 lbs) and the maximum structural weight of 600 kg (1320 lbs) - depending on the certificate - the payload is more than 300 kg (660 lbs), which is enough for two large pilots and full luggage.

DSC01125.JPG

Virus SW 80/100 is the double NASA Challenge winner

It is able to operate at all elevations from sea-level up to 15.000 feet, take-off and land from short runways and over obstacles thanks to unique air brakes, is the quietest light aircraft and has one of the lowest operating costs in its category.

DSC01126.JPG

Due to its superior aerodynamic efficiency, state-of-the-art composite material structure and lowest fuel consumption figures in the category, the Virus SW 80/100 is ideal for High-speed cross-country flying, surveillance missions, ab-initio-, advanced and extreme manoeuvre training, aerial photography and high-mountain operations. It has the glide ratio of 17:1 and can glide further in case of emergency than most aeroplanes.


~Source

Here is another interesting fact about the Pipistrel company. They stated that every aircraft is designed, manufactured and perfected in an energetically self-sufficient facility in Ajdovscina, Slovenia. By using geothermal and solar energy to power the whole production process, they are able to spare the environment 180,000 kilograms of carbon dioxide emissions every year. They call it 'The Ecolution Campaign' and it represents Pipistrel's mission to show the World that eco-friendly, high-technology products are in fact possible and available today.

I found a great video clip on Youtube if you want to see Virus SW 80/100 in the air:

~Source

I could not have done this post without very resourceful Pipistrel official web site. You are very welcome to take a closer look there as I did not want to make the post too long. You can find all other light-weight aircraft from the manufacturer there if you are an aeroplane enthusiast.

I have to admit that despite being familiar with Pipistrel company, its good reputation, and success, I did not know as much about it before creating this post. I am glad to have seen it live for the first time overseas in Canada, far from the little European country of Slovenia.

I really hope you learned something new and interesting today. Thank you for stopping by. I am looking forward to your feedback!

Have a wonderful day Steemit :)

P.S.
A note to all new visitors of my blog. I have already introduced two Edmonton Airshow 2017 posts due to numerous aircraft displayed there. If you want to check them out, here are the links to Edmonton Airshow 2017 - Part 1 and Edmonton Airshow 2017 - Part 2. I promise you, you will love the photos ;)

Sort:  

It is probably one of the greatest Slovenian products. They signed the contract with Uber to provide electrical aircrafts for short distances in urban areas.

I did not know that. Thanks for the update. Which urban areas? Any specific country?

Great article about a great technology. Thanks a lot.

I've learned something new too, thanks to you.

You are very welcome.

Very insightful post, I learned a few new things. Nice work @k4r1nn!

I am glad to hear that.

Double NASA Challenger Winner- wow ! To be honest at first glance this plane looked to me like many other propeller planes - but there is definitely more than meets the eye after I read all the technological advances of this plane! Very interesting and thanks for sharing !

I must agree with you. I was familiar with the name but was not aware of all the good stuff. It looks so tiny in comparison to the rest of the big guys I showed you in the past. Thanks for the feedback, @dandesign86!

Very beautiful design and well engineered aircraft. The body looks similar to a helicopter. Nice find at the air show!

It is quite different from regular planes. That is why it can reach such high speed and is so efficient.

It would be great if they could scale this technology up in size for commercial aviation but the loads are probably too heavy. It would be fun to take a ride in one of these!

What is the price for that baby ?
=]

Base price according to the Wiki is EUR 69,000, LSA certified (a bit more) EUR 159,000.

I hope it will be more adapted! It looks great this small plane!

I am sure Pipistrel company is striving to improve. They are definitely on a good way.

Has a pretty futuristic look to it as well. And always good to hear when it's made in a sufficient ecologic way! :)

They are trying really hard to implement eco standards. Hopefully, others follow soon.

looks awesome!!

It is pretty neat, I agree.

There is one for sale near my place, he's asking 250k$ CAD 🤪

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63064.62
ETH 2460.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66