Edmonton Airshow 2017

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

I officially love air shows from yesterday on!

DSC01217.JPG

Me and my boyfriend decided to visit the Villeneuve Airport on a lovely (although quite windy) Saturday morning.

We woke up and went to have a morning coffee and hit the road. The Villeneuve Airport is located app. 40 kilometers south-west of the city center of Albertan capital Edmonton. The event started at 9 a.m. and when we arrived there around 10 a.m. the parking place was already filled with lots of vehicles.

This was our first time at Edmonton Airshow and we soon learned we came 'a bit' underprepared. Other visitors looked like they were going camping! With camping chairs, air mattresses, beach umbrellas, coolers, hats, sunscreen, etc.

DSC01185.JPG

I had none of it. Only my camera and a wallet. It turned out to be almost enough but I had to (at least) get me some hat - and a stylish one too!

DSC01138.JPG

I would have loved the comfy chair like this one.

DSC01184.JPG

This is my introductory post to this fabulous two-day event and I wanted to show you a few of the aircraft that were part of the display. It was so many of them and also so much going on that I did not want to overwhelm you with all of them at once. They also deserve more attention so I will present them to you in a couple of posts in the next days.

Let's start with the military helicopter that got a lot of attention.

DSC01082.JPG

The kids (and even much older ones) seemed to love it.

DSC01083.JPG

All shiny and ready to fly, they all looked pretty for the display. Owners must have been so proud of them!

DSC01074.JPG

I liked this next one because of its bright color and vintage look.

DSC01075.JPG

DSC01076.JPG

If anyone is looking to purchase a plane, here is one for you.

DSC01079.JPG

And last but not the least for tonight, here is Edmonton Regional Helicopter. One day I want to take a trip above my city and take some shots to share with you.

DSC01086.JPG

DSC01087.JPG

Next time I will show you more. Here is a sneak peak:
DSC01149.JPG

..till the next time. Thanks for stopping by :)

Sort:  

Great hat :) Did they have spitfires too? Sounds awesome when flies by.

Thanks, it's quite neat I agree. I am not a fan of hats but this one I had to get.I did not see any of them fly, only on hats :D

Really great photos! Have you been inside any of the planes?

Thanks @penticton. I have not but I would love to. I intend to visit the Alberta Aviation Museum. Maybe there I can see more.

did uou know that the Canadian Forces Snowbirds back in the Edmonton area for the first time in 15 years...Edmonton has a rich civil and military aviation history and heritage.

Yeah I am about to show them to you guys very soon!

Very cool! It's always good to try and experience new things. Before this post I never exercised the idea of going to one of these shows, but after seeing this pictures it looks like something I would want to try :)

Yes, there is so much more to explore and discover. Oh neither have I, if my coworker would not have recommended I would never go. I highly recommend it to anyone. And it's awesome for kids too!

Cool post! Great shots!

Thank you!

If only I could purchase that plane! Great pictures by the way!

I know right. Would take a lot of Steem ;) Thank you so much @maxy-hopkins!

Very nice. I love the wide angle lens you used on the airplanes. A lot of cool stuff going on in Edmonton.

Thank you. There really is lots of things going on. This is one of the reasons I am not so active on Steemit lately.

Cool - enjoy the summer while you can! There will be plenty of time to post on rainy days.

Amazing and beautiful post Thank you for sharing

You are very welcome!

awesome air show

nice good use of angle.......

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57929.49
ETH 2354.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44