You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dedication to my Keyboard

in #technology6 years ago (edited)

I know who bad that can be @hansikhouse. I also had severe pain since I type all day, whether it be programming or blogging. I use a Kinesis Freestyle 2 at work, and it's ok, but I love the mechanical keyboards.

Almost a year ago I switched to the Dvorak Simplified Keyboard as a last resort because I had pain no matter what physical keyboard I used. I don't recommend everyone switch because it is a mental pain to re-wire the brain to type on a new layout, but Dvorak has been the most significant help in reducing pain in my fingers. (I'm using what is called "Programmer Dvorak" at this time).

If you don't have pain other than your wrists than what you outline in this post should help a lot. For me, the pain was so severe that it traveled down my arm and I did not want to have surgery.

Happy Typing!
happy-typing

Sort:  

I've seen you post previously about the Dvorak keyboard @jrswab and I've always been intrigued! I don't mind a bit of rewiring, but the main hesitation is the need to switch every time I'm on the road with my laptop keyboard. Or do you recommend changing key placements on everything?

main hesitation is the need to switch every time I'm on the road with my laptop keyboard. Or do you recommend changing key placements on everything?

Oh, it is even less of a hassle than that! Every dominant OS has Dvorak built in via the keyboard software. All you have to do is change the default layout via the OS, and you are good to go. No need too even move the keys around (and its better if we don't look, that way we can't look at them when learning).

Here is a site that shows how to change your keyboard layout via the OS. The exact icons may have changed on your OS since they wrote that but it gives you an idea of where to look.

To be honest, I don't even own a Dvorak keyboard. The closest I have is a WASD Keyboards device that has switches on the back to put it in Dvorak but I can't even us that since I am learning the programmer alteration.

<3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62170.06
ETH 2415.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65