Dedication to my Keyboard

in #technology6 years ago

The Steemit Grind


Every since co-founding @sndbox and subsequently @creativecrypto, it’s goes without saying that much of my day is dedicated to typing. I’m likely averaging at least 5000 words per day with several articles across the accounts, emails, proposals, drafts, project material, and my personal blog. As with any repetitive physical activity like jogging several marathons or weightlifting constantly, this takes a fairly hefty toll on one’s body.

My weakness started at my wrists, which are thin to begin with and prone to spraining. Then, my fingers started to ache as I primarily use my laptop’s electrified touchpad to the do most of the onscreen navigating.Since I’m doing this on behalf of a startup, there isn’t much opportunity or mental capacity for rest of any kind, and the creaks and sores just got worse. I knew that if I didn’t make some change fast, I’d wind up injured and way behind on work and progress.

So I did a bit of research and took the plunge on a little luxury that soon transformed my daily routine completely. I bought my first-ever ergonomic keyboard, one designed to accommodate hand placement and more comfortable typing. I settled on this little beaut -

The Microsoft Sculpt is a curved bluetooth keyboard that’s partially split in the middle with a padded base to rest the wrists. The mid-body swell allows you to type with a more natural inward angle to the wrists and a clean separation between what keys should be designated to each hand.

To give you a bit of a timeline and context, I started using the keyboard about 1 - 1.5 months ago and at the time, my right wrist had a spark, almost needle-like pain when I rotated it in certain ways. Now, after consistent use day after day, I have absolutely no discomfort at all. It’s almost a chore to use the MacBook keyboard, which feels like playing saxophone with a rock now, and I even find myself lugging the thing back and forth from the office during weekends. It’s that comfortable, like a neck pillow for desk hands.

I suspect many Steemians who have thousands of comments and daily posts might suffer similar issues. I cannot recommend one of these enough, it’s worth sacrificing a nice dinner out to snap one of these up off Amazon or your local store. It really has turned the arduous task of post-making into a smooth joy.

That’s my little dedication. Steem on!

Sort:  

I know who bad that can be @hansikhouse. I also had severe pain since I type all day, whether it be programming or blogging. I use a Kinesis Freestyle 2 at work, and it's ok, but I love the mechanical keyboards.

Almost a year ago I switched to the Dvorak Simplified Keyboard as a last resort because I had pain no matter what physical keyboard I used. I don't recommend everyone switch because it is a mental pain to re-wire the brain to type on a new layout, but Dvorak has been the most significant help in reducing pain in my fingers. (I'm using what is called "Programmer Dvorak" at this time).

If you don't have pain other than your wrists than what you outline in this post should help a lot. For me, the pain was so severe that it traveled down my arm and I did not want to have surgery.

Happy Typing!
happy-typing

I've seen you post previously about the Dvorak keyboard @jrswab and I've always been intrigued! I don't mind a bit of rewiring, but the main hesitation is the need to switch every time I'm on the road with my laptop keyboard. Or do you recommend changing key placements on everything?

main hesitation is the need to switch every time I'm on the road with my laptop keyboard. Or do you recommend changing key placements on everything?

Oh, it is even less of a hassle than that! Every dominant OS has Dvorak built in via the keyboard software. All you have to do is change the default layout via the OS, and you are good to go. No need too even move the keys around (and its better if we don't look, that way we can't look at them when learning).

Here is a site that shows how to change your keyboard layout via the OS. The exact icons may have changed on your OS since they wrote that but it gives you an idea of where to look.

To be honest, I don't even own a Dvorak keyboard. The closest I have is a WASD Keyboards device that has switches on the back to put it in Dvorak but I can't even us that since I am learning the programmer alteration.

<3

I did not know there was something like that, it looks great. I also have problems with wrists, especially with the left, because I broke it two years ago playing soccer, and now it bothers me when I spend a few hours writing a publication. Where can I get one of those?

I definitely recommend getting something like this then @vieira. They really take the pressure off the wrists. Amazon has a great selection, but any big electronic store should have at least 1 ergonomic keyboard. Happy typing!

Nice keyboard perfect tech for all streamers
I recommend that for all
Hw much does one cost wit shipping to Nigeria

In the event that you work at a work area, you require a decent console. ... A vertical heap of three equitably divided level lines. .... It has committed media keys, devoted directional keys, and a different numeric keypad. ... This gives you a pleasant blend of ergonomic info gadgets that'll shield you from agony exhaustion ...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62153.21
ETH 2411.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64