Decentraland - A virtual reality world with ownership assured by blockchainsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #technology7 years ago

for_sale.png

https://decentraland.org/

I am excited about the launch of Decentraland - A Virtual Reality world which uses Ethereum blockchain as the store for 'land ownership and it's content'

This is an open source protocol, so it sounds like it has the potential to back the evolution of VR and foster interoperability between VR environments run by completing organisations.

VR is still purely theoretical for me as I have yet to try VR hardware. I am waiting for the second gen tech - as I think it will deliver even more of a bigger / more-shocking impact on me.

But being a techie, I have been reading about Virtual Reality for more years that I care to remember, and I am very keen on the idea of high speed drone racing in a virtual environment. Maybe Decentraland will enable be to run my own drone racing track in Virtual Reality!

Sort:  

I've found this web based demo of Decentraland.

https://decentraland.org/app/

They talk about compatibility with Vive and other Unity supported hardware. I think the rendering of their web demo is basic - I guess it highlights that it is early days.
However it could grow pretty quickly if people can aquire real estate and then drop 3D models on it.
Maybe i'll trade a few STEEM for a couple of virtual acres :-D

Very cool. Marrying VR and blockchain makes a lot of sense. It will be interesting to see the two technologies grow together.

It sure does - I am excited to find this one before it goes live. I've just joined the slack channel, so I will report back on to SteemIT on any juicy titbits that I pick up on...

I like the idea. VR is growing everyday, and im glad it is expanding to blockchain technology.

You've been UpVoted via the UpVote Experiment 002 Bot. Depending on my VP & the price of STEEM you should get a $.01-$.03 for your trouble.
Read more about this experiment here.

Thank You - @blueorgy

Are you gonna get the next gen Oculus Rift?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67494.12
ETH 3222.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65