Internet Speed vs Price in various countries (Survey)

in #technology7 years ago

I have been struggling with the speed of my internet connection for the past few days as the speed is around 1 5th of what it should be. I thought I will do a quick scan through google on what the average internet speeds are across the globe and I was astonished to see what is out there compared to what we receive in Africa. I would love to know how Africa compares with the rest of the world.

I am paying R699 per month for a 10 MB Fibre to home connections. That works out to around US$55 per month.
There is an option of 100 MB Fibre at around R1599.00 working out at around $100 per month.

If you do not mind sharing your information, please indicate how much you are paying for what in the comments section.

Here are some information I found online.

US Pricing from Google

UK pricing from Virgin

Thanks for participating in if we can all it a survey :) I will populate into a spreadsheet and share it with anyone who is interested.

Happy Steeming!


Sort:  

I pay $200 for 250mbps here in Kenya, i use such speed because i work from home and page loading is something i hate having to see. I mean who can stand 0.2 second of a page loading! I know i can't!

Who is your provider?

In Romania we have 300 Mbps at 8$. fast internet

In the netherlands, we have all-in-one packages, so it's a bit hard to see what we pay for what.

For instance, I pay € 67 ($ 75) for Internet, TV & Landline phone & Spotify Premium... the internet is advertised as 60 MB/s but since it's ADSL and I am to far from the hub, I ONLY get 13 Mb .

I've been meaning to switch to Fiber, which is (again, All-in-one package) which comes in at $ 65 but that's at least for 300Mb up/down
Again, with TV & Phone, but without spotify

I have been with my current ISP, Virgin Media (UK) for about 10 years. I pay a package price which includes broadband, TV and landline.
I currently pay £49.00 a month for 100 MB/s, this is inclusive of a £9.00 a month loyalty discount.

I can generally get about 75 MB/s download and about 5 MB/s upload through wifi - it's usually a touch higher if i use a wired connection.

Here in India, I have to pay $15/month for a shitty 1MBPS connection lol.

our internet in Australia is pitiful - i am now following you and upvoted this post too -David

Here in Ireland, I have a legacy 240Mb connection (VirginMedia don't upgrade accounts as higher bandwidths become available). My package with them includes a land-line which costs about €5/mth. The broadband package is therefore €47.50 per month (approx. US$53).

On a wifi connection, I get a Download speed of about 20 Mbps (my PC is on the opposite side of the house to my router and the signal has to pass through a concrete wall). Upload speed is about 25 Mbps.

With a Powerline adaptor, the Download speed triples to about 80 Mbps.

With the PC connected via ethernet cable, I get around 220 Mbps.

You have done good survey on this.

Wow good observation and yes the speed and price do seem to correlate. It creates a good opportunity in the arbitrage market as well! Thanks for sharing and I'm following :)

Im in the UK but in the countryside so we have no fiber options, I get about 15Mbps for around £21 per month. The actual broadband and phone is £4.95, its the line rental thats the killer at £16 per month even though we pay it in advance for a discount.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58757.77
ETH 2554.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52