Estonia might be doing it again by being the first government ICO.

in #technology7 years ago

Those who have been following my blog and articles will know that I have written a few articles on Estonia and how they are a Blockchain mecca and by far the country with the most advances blockchain in the world.


Image Credit

You can read more about my opinion on Estonia is most probably the most advanced digital society in the world here

Estonia is doing it again.

I am saying this as Estonia might be the world first ICO or taken sale very soon. Most of us know by now that we anybody can become an e-citizen of Estonia via remote application. They might now be offering e-tokens or e-currency to their e-residency.

I think this is just amazing and in my opinion Estonia might be the most visionary country in the world when it comes to blockchain technology and using this technology to their advantage as they are already doing Voting on a blockchain since 2005.

Will Estonia be the world's first government ICO?

In my opinion, if we look at their history, I do believe they will be. I wish them all the luck and am seriously considering becoming an e-citizen :)

To quote from an article written by Vitalik Buterin (for those that does not know Vitalik is a developer and co-founder of Ethereum)

An ICO within the e-Residency ecosystem would create a strong incentive alignment between e-residents and this fund, and beyond the economic aspect makes the e-residents feel like more of a community since there are more things they can do together!

You can read the full article The world's first Government ICO : Estonia could offer its own token here

I am busy with a series where I explain technical concepts in laymen's terms. Please let me know if you have a specific technical topic which you want explained in Laymen's terms.

Some of my other in Laymen's Terms Post.

ICO's or tokensales in Laymen's terms
Crypto Wallets in Laymen's terms
Smart Contracts in Laymen's terms
Artificial Intelligence in Laymen's terms
Blockchain and Digital Signatures - In Laymen's Terms
Trustless - What does it mean in laymen's terms?
Cyber Attacks explained in laymen's terms
Machine Learning - In laymen's terms
Internet of things and what it is in laymen's terms
Big data - What is it really about - In laymen’s terms
Some Technical Words explained in laymen's terms

Happy Steeming!


Sort:  

I love Estonia, and I'll be visiting soon. But I wouldn't take a proposal by one civil servant too seriously. These blockchain announcements about exotic countries are always overhyped, as if someone could simply flip a switch.

I am italian, when I read these kinds of articles and then I look at my country I want to cry..

I honestly love how the world is beginning to accept blockchain technology a lot more and creating innovation through it. Makes me remember the days when Bitcoin was just emerging and people had a bad idea of it.

Motivation.png

Thank you so much, great content! You just got yourself a new follower ;)

the postings that are interesting, sanngat,
I've memfollow you @jacor and resteem posting.
I hope you also follow me @blackbone and resteem my post.
good job !!!

excelent, very good ✳

UPVOTED.
very good.
I would be happy if you like to follow me and give your opinion about my posts.
Thanks.

good post my friend

Great post @jacor. thanks for sharing friends

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 65292.16
ETH 2651.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85