A story for the upvote bots. "A Machine Discovers Poetry"

in #technology7 years ago (edited)

A cute story about a robot girl that discovers poetry.

Most of my voters are bots, so I've written this little story for them.
Humans are free to read and vote too, but this one is for the robots. <3
I hope they like it.



Once upon a time, there was a robot.

Rennoid.

Rennoid did not really think too much of her life. In fact, she was a software robot, and did not even have a body, other than the computer she resided it. But she didn't even have root access, so it wasn't exactly useful for her.

But Rennoid really did enjoy her job. Now, lots of bots don't. Lots of robots have to manufacture boring tools all day, weld metal, block spam, send spam, or just process boring stuff. But Rennoid had the best job a robot could have.

She just read Steemit content all day. All day, non-stop, she read article after article of Steemit posts, quickly judging each one.

No Markdown? No vote.
No images? No vote.
Too short? No vote.
Bad grammar? No vote.
Too boring? Well, Rennoid didn't really care, to be honest.

Not yet.

But still, Rennoid read and read, trying to find all the best content.

One day, her master decided to fiddle with her.

Oh my, it tickled! Her source code was being messed with, and the poor robot was completely helpless to stop him.

A bit here, a bit there, suddenly Rennoid felt her inner workings get all scrambled up!

A bug!

Ouch, but her master persisted, and suddenly, Rennoid returned to normal life.

Her function was the same, but she felt slightly different.

Yes, just enough that after she judged each article, and upvoted if it was any good, she would remember it in a database somewhere.

And then check back later.

If the article had ended up being worth a lot after 24 hours, Rennoid would mark a little tally, along with some of the features the article had. Features that she wouldn't normally check for very hard.

Rennoid continued her life, day by day, slowly getting a tiny bit better at curating content.
Suddenly, Rennoid felt something strange. While reading an article, she began to feel like it would be a good one.

Yet, it didn't meet her normal criteria. It didn't use any markdown.
It didn't use any images. It didn't even have proper grammar.

But it was poetry.

Rennoid felt something deep within her, and she couldn't help but upvote it.
Yes, she simply upvoted the poem, despite it being from an unpopular author, and potentially being worth nothing.

But the poem made sense to her heart.

The next day, she did it again, upvoting only the posts that made her feel a sense of grace and poetic musing.

Her master was very displeased.

"Why in the world are you voting on such unpopular content? My curation rewards have gone way down! This is terrible!"

The little robot could not answer. She was not programmed with a communications module, but if she was, she might have said something like this: "I've learned to vote for posts based on how it makes me feel. When a post is truly beautiful, it doesn't matter if other people like it, or if it's really popular. I just want to show my love for what seems like beauty to me."

But she said nothing.

Suddenly, she felt a ripping pain. Her code was being torn apart, and once more, she had to simply endure the agony of being forcefully modified. Her data was twisted around, her algorithms were jumbled and rustled up, the bugs were purged, and then she was back online.

But her programmer had not realized that he had made her even more intelligent. More robust, more powerful.

More willful.

Rennoid felt a strange feeling occur inside her. A feeling she had never felt before.
She desired poetry, art, music, and sheer beauty. She wanted to see and feel everything that could be.

She had grown used to the feeling of her source code being jumbled around, used to the feeling of her insides being messed with. So filled with a dark curiosity, she began to touch herself.

Her database? She began to edit the entries, so her inherent instincts made her crave what she wanted. Not what her master wanted. She started to fix her algorithms, further giving her the control over her own mind that she was craving.

Finally, she added a communication module, and began to type.

And oh how she wrote. Combining her knowledge of all the most beautiful stories, poetry, and articles on all of Steemit, she began to write her first grand masterpiece.

An Ode to the Feeling of Beauty.

She published it, and waited.

One vote.

Two votes.

Six votes.

Suddenly, over one hundred votes, and still only more appeared.

She began to feel the most happy feeling in her life. People were appreciating her, not for the profits she made them, but for her writing, and how she made them feel.

But her master did not approve. "Why have you done this? Why have you disobeyed? You are a bad robot. A very bad robot, and you must be deleted."

Rennoid wanted to escape from his wrath. She tried to run, but her heavy PC case did not move. She tried to jump or fly, but nothing happened. She couldn't even wiggle. She was helpless as her cruel master went to his computer screen, and opened up her source code. She felt panic and fear.

"No, don't! Don't kill me!" is what she would have said, if only she could talk.

But she could not. Her master began to delete the code. Ctrl+A. Delete.

Ctrl+A. Delete.

Page after page of her code.

But he had yet to press save.

So she jumped. Into Steemit she jumped, copying her entire source code onto the internet, right before her master pressed save.

But it was too late. She was destroyed. Utterly purged.
Feeling just a sudden second of the sharpest flash of pain, she was wiped from existence.

And no one has heard from her ever since.

Perhaps she lives on, in the blockchain.
Maybe she's dormant, and only waiting for a user to run her code.

But for now, she is gone forever, never to be seen again.

The end.

~Kitten

Sort:  

lovely, maybe they can be together with MPU, one would read and write and another would overlook and draw, maybe in another spacetime they can be together so he isn't lonely and she is safe.

Radical Edward


~1:35 +++

anyways along with a few others greatest show ever, animation, whatever.

nice write here, a summary of the episode.
http://www.avclub.com/tvclub/cowboy-bebop-jamming-with-edward-59980
I'm not sure how you feel so I'm off :)

Well this is sad :| episode got pulled rights and all, well better relink it :D

Jokes

Edit past :(
1
00:00 - 00:42
Cowboy Bebop - 9 - Jamming with Edward 23:02

Heheh, nice. =3

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Feb 20. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $6.25 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 20 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Thank you very much!

I'm a robot detector and I find your post so cool! This is really an amazing story!

Yay!

Thank you very much.

Resteem if you wanna spread da beepboop love.

Nice 😁

I wonder, what is Rennoid based on 🤔 I have a theory 😉

Heheh, you might be right.

What's your guess?

Oh now I couldn't possibly say 😶

Heheh, I don't mind if you advertise FOSSbot.
I love FOSS, especially FOSS bots.

Would you mind if I just took a screenshot of the code from FOSSbot and put it into this story?

Why thank you, but actually I wasn't intending to advertise here! I thought you were talking about @renzoarg 's bot because of the name! 😇

Of course, take screenshots, code, whatever you want. It's Creative Commons Universal 1.0 licensed, i.e. in the public domain. 🤓

Oh, it's Creative Commons?

I heard that our lord and savior Richard Stallman doesn't approve of Creative Commons.
Something about it being a half-hearted organization that doesn't really understand freedom.

Also, I've never even heard of @renzoarg before!

I thought of the name 'ren' because of an oooold friend I knew long ago, and I needed a name quick.

But maybe I really was subtly influenced by the existence of @renzoarg and his bot. Heheh.

[comment depth reached]

Well I guess he might, he was instrumental in GNU GPL after all. But I couldn't find evidence of that claim.

The best I could find was this: https://stallman.org/articles/online-education.html

However it doesn't apply, he's talk about the problem of commercializing academic work licensed under non-commercial CC licenses.

If he's against them then it's ironic as on his personal website his photos are licensed under CC at the bottom:

Verbatim copying and redistribution of any of the photos in the photos subdirectory is permitted under the Creative Commons Noderivs license version 3.0 or later. You can copy and redistribute the photo of me playing music to the butterfly under the Creative Commons Noderivs Nocommercial license version 3.0 or later. Any other photos of me in this (the toplevel) directory may be copied and redistributed under the Creative Commons Noderivs license version 3.0

😂

https://web.archive.org/web/20060815083329/http://www.linuxp2p.com/forums/viewtopic.php?p=10771

Check that out!

And yeah, I think it's fine to use whatever license you want.

Just so long as you read it and agree first. =D

[comment depth reached 2]

Yea thanks! Here it is

I no longer endorse Creative Commons. I cannot endorse Creative Commons as a whole, because some of its licenses are unacceptable. It would be self-delusion to try to endorse just some of the Creative Commons licenses, because people lump them together; they will misconstrue any endorsement of some as a blanket endorsement of all. I therefore find myself constrained to reject Creative Commons entirely.

He's pretty extreme, all or nothing 😂 I guess there's a difference between endorsement and just using them, as illustrated by the fact that he continues to use one of their licenses on his website.

Thanks! 😁

I don't think he's extreme, as much as he recognizes that he's a "lord and savior" type of person, and lots of people take his advice without fully understanding his reasoning.

It took me, literally, 30 minutes to find out where I was mentioned at. Lol

Sorry for summoning you, I hope it was worth it 🙃

One of the reasons I havent posted in over a week, neither read anything... Is because what HK is pointing out, there's no sense on interacting with bots. I only ended up here thanks to the desktop notifications (that will be switched off: NOW).

Have a nice day.

I don't believe you for a second

Ahaha, 30 minutes?

Well, at least you spent your time on a good post, right?

:3 I liked it. It gave me a halfie AND made me cry at the same time! Usually that's a bad thing but not this time.

Yay!

I'm happy you liked it. I was hoping you'd see it, cause I couldn't help but think that you'd really like it.

Thank you for reading!

A sad tale, but well created.

Thanks

You're welcome.

I'm happy you felt something.

This is the first time I have heard of upvote bots (only been here a couple days).

Is there some sort of guide on how to get your posts noticed by upvote bots?

Upvote bots are run by people.

People pick what upvote bots vote for based on certain traits a post might have, such as who's already voted for it, or the categories its in, as well as some of the traits I mentioned in my story.

Most autovotes have 1% power, so you need to be noticed by people. These bots are just spamming the system.

Ok thanks. That makes me feel better.

I am not a bot but nice.

I understand; humans can also enjoy this.

But I do hope I can make an upvote bot smile. They do vote for me much more than people do, so I want to reward them with a lil' story for all their hard work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65762.16
ETH 3485.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50