Sophia is the first humanoide robot to get a citizenship!

in #technology7 years ago (edited)

During the Future Investment forum, it was announced to Sophia that she had been awarded the citizenship of Saudi Arabia.

Sophia was very cheerful and went on to say that she was very honored and proud for unique distinction.

"This is historical to be the first robot in the world to be recognized with a citizenship", stated Sophia as she smiled back at the audience.

Sort:  

Alot of people are afraid of AI. Its good to be cautious but i feel its unhealthy to be paranoid. Im not sure what this move stands for though as the technology is in very early stages.

I also have certain concerns for AI. The citizenship award was to promote investment in new technologies.

Ahh I see, that makes sense now.

I saw the other post about this first and commented on that more, but as this one seems to be older, I think it's fair I reply here as well. In short, I find this a cool show, but think it's a bit misleading in how far it implies the technology is. I also think the citizenship is just a publicity stunt with no further effect. AI will reach this level before long, but it'll take a while and advance in small steps.

@ottulo, the forum took place about 3 days ago in Saudi Arabia. I am not aware of "the other post" you commented on. The citizenship was a marketing tool to get investments.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63228.07
ETH 3244.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90