You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Google Duplex: Salvation or a Threat?

in #technology6 years ago

:-)

... some people are seeking salvation in technologies for their mental conditions.

I wonder what they'll find. You know "The Donna" from the series "Suits"? It is a wonderful toy for all those who create and program it and spend their dreams with it. It is fascinating to imagine that human consciousness could be incorporated into a machine. Which of course is sheer nonsense, but as you know, nonsense is a lot of fun. I don't think we need to take this whole enterprise so seriously, artificial intelligence will always be: artificial.

The question whether an AI is better intelligent than a human being; a subjective answer from me: Of course not.
That we fantasize that world knowledge can soon be fed into the machine is a huge joke that Douglas Adams has already recognized with "Deep Thought". To the ultimate question of the answer, the meaning of life, the universe and all the rest of it, Deep Thought answered: 42 After millions of years of computing time. Which says it all. It could have also said: The universe consists of burnt almonds (as Alan Watts sometimes puts it in his lectures).

It's pretty silly to assume that a social phobia could really go away by chatting with my AI. Since the social phobic (if it exists) knows that he is talking to a machine, it will not bring him any relief in dealing with real people but only an eloquence and finesse in dealing with AI. Now you could say with a shrug of the shoulders: I am talking to one (although I claim that I am talking to myself right now and if you want, you can take part in my self-talk, since I am disclosing it here).

I would like to bring the strongest counter-argument, what the phobic is actually most afraid of: Not of other people and social interaction. He's the one who's most afraid to be alone with himself. Therefore, when people are confronted with their greatest fear, they are put in dark solitary confinement. There, alone and without any form of distraction, is the worst enemy of man.

World knowledge is bound to the organic of man. No cybernetics and no machine has grown organically and no brain can be transferred or computed. Machines and their "intelligence" are created by us alone. But because they are mechanical and constructed from individual parts, they can and will never grow like cells and develop from cell division. They are always only the mechanically electronic parts of what the human mind gives birth to. They should not be imbued with so much godliness. Even if it is fun and born of inferiority, according to which many people classify other people as less intelligent and eloquent. Which is, of course, just another reflection of who looks at himself in the mirror.

I wouldn't mind a Donna if I wanted to have a chat in the morning and nobody is available. But of course, I can still make do with myself, because Donna will never be able to hold a candle to me either. Wink ;-)

Sort:  

Thank you for your kind and long reply and sorry for answering 10 days later, but I literally had no free time these days.

I would say that you approach on the topic of AI is ... let's say limited.

AI is not the future. It is now. It is happening as we speak and I believe in the years to follow it would surely replace humans in many aspects.

I am writing an article on this topic and I would like to hear your opinion again.

Thank you once again for your time and effort !!

Oh, I am in good company with my approach as it's not my property alone.

My approach was focusing sharply on the single sentence I quoted from you, nothing more.

Though I know that AI is replacing humans in "many aspects" they won't replace them in precisely that aspect I talked about. ... Why would I want that, I wonder ... ? Do you want that?

... I prefer to talk to humans from flesh and blood to practice my social behavior. The biggest gain is always perceived from me when I listen to real life experiences and withdraw something from a personal story which came out of a mouth of another human I could observe also in his body language while he or she talked about this experience. Flesh and spirit are interconnected. How on earth should an AI deliver such thing ... ?

I prefer to talk to humans from flesh and blood to practice my social behavior. The biggest gain is always perceived from me when I listen to real life experiences and withdraw something from a personal story which came out of a mouth of another human I could observe also in his body language while he or she talked about this experience.

Cannot agree more with you on this one !

But sadly, there are people who don't think this way and try to create something which they don't understand.

You see, the paradox is that humans try to recreate human behaviour without understanding what it actually is. Having this said, I also don't think that we as species would be able to fully recreate AI, which will absolutely replace us, as we exist. But that does not mean that we won't create something else, which we don't suspect could exist at this very moment...

well said. Yes, I totally agree with that, too. "Intelligence" cannot be defined as it is way too complex. It's not a fixed thing. Intelligent living is connected to surf every living moment using the right decisions, actions, and non-actions to the benefit of the participants of a system. This is tricky and if intelligent acting is not connected to ethical principles one gets lost in the definition of what is a losing and what is a winning result.

Yes, there will be created something else as always. That's the game.
I am here for questioning things and probably not only for popularity.

Absolutely with you on this point. I discuss something similar in my latest article from today !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57810.45
ETH 3116.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43