You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: WHAT DID YOU THINK ABOUT TECHNOLOGY? I'M CURIOUS TO KNOW YOUR VIEW

in #technology7 years ago

@honourmaus you beat me to this topic because I have actually started scribbling some points to nail technology in the head but nevertheless I will speak my mind concerning the issue of technology which is an offshoot of civilization. I have been in both worlds , by the virtue of having grown up in the village with my grandma and also having lived abroad for a few years and I make bold to say that in the long run we are not better off than when we started. Technology has come to us with attendant evils and no matter how we would want to explain it, Technology is basically what I call 'give a life and take a life'. It gives you one good and takes away a million . It gives you fertilisers to make your plants grow for self sufficiency and then in turn takes life by introducing toxins into our bodies. It gives you a semblance of comfort and in turn introduces more pain and discomfort. Show me the area of technology that has not adversely affected us and I will show you the superiority of nature's ways. Tell me what is the life expectancy of this present age, now that we have technologically engineered medical advancements compared to that of our fore fathers. All my grandparents died at over a hundred years still able to trek long distances without stress but here I am at less than half their ages and not able to walk some kilometres. Every thing that technology has brought us is killing us gradually. It has robbed us of innocence, of humanity, of our values..... Let me pause here because this is a very very exhaustive topic and moreover this is your post. Thank you for bringing out this topic. It's already a battle line drawn.

Sort:  

Hummmmm, If I am not wrong Ma, you despise what Technology has brought to us, quoting your word below

in the long run we are not better off than when we started

But what did you think is befitting us, the olden days technique of doing things or the modern Technology?

My dear technology has come with some benefits but they are far outweighed by the demerits. If I analysis them one after the other, you might see reasons with me . But let it be a topic for another day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59439.79
ETH 2290.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48