How Automation Designed to GIVE Us Free Time STEALS Our Free Time...

in #technology5 years ago

Sometimes I sit and ponder some of the basic paradoxes of human "achievement."

Whatever else might have been involved, the root idea behind automation and robotics was that "people wouldn't have to do the work."

Regardless of the whole "who profits" and "who gains influence" issue, there's an underlying implication there that when we automate processes it's basically convenient, as a result of which we might also have a little more chance and time to relax and take a break.

That looks good on the surface, but it's actually not so pretty when you peel back the layers and look at some of the deeper effects.

0828Mountain.jpg
Late afternoon sun on the Cascade range, Washington

I Had A Loan Payment Due...

... on the 26th of December.

For my "convenience" the only way I even get to have this small line of credit is by allowing the loan payments to be automatically taken out of my account on the 26th of each month.

But how "convenient" is that for me, as the end user?

As a self-employed person, my income doesn't arrive on a fixed schedule. So automated payments actually make my life less convenient. I lose the ability to mail a check early if I happen to have the money, or "run a few days late" when I don't. I am now a slave to something very "fixed" in my non-fixed world.

Not only that, but I can't even count on a "banking day," any more. What's a "banking day?" Well, it used to mean that nothing was drawn from your account till 9:00am, and if it wasn't presented by 5:00pm, you had a reprieve till the next day.

Because the loan has to fund with either my PayPal account or a debit card, the payment does — indeed — get drawn on the 26th of every month... at about 45 minutes after midnight; 45 minutes into the 26th, which effectively means that the "due date" is the 25th.

0828Maple.jpg
Japanese Maple in fall...

Is this in any way "convenient?" Does it offer me a means to "relax?"

Ultimately, it's just another example of so-called "convenience" that is billed as a benefit to the consumer or end user, but in fact is mostly a convenience to the issuer or merchant.

Automation Steals Freedom?

The thing about automation is that it tends to be IN-flexible, while the human experience is inherently very fluid, unpredictable and flexible. So, in many ways, automation doesn't serve us.

These days there is much talk about the way robots and technology will gradually take over most jobs, in the course of the next 50 years. The entire concept of work is changing.

What does technology offer us? Well, the goal is perhaps fewer mistakes, and an almost perfect degree of uniformity in products, services, processes and so forth.

The question in my mind relates to how that is going to work in a world of infinitely differing human beings? My idea of "perfect" is probably not yours, and most likely also not "Bob's" or "Susan's."

If you project that out far enough, it seems like "being human" is actually in some conflict with automation.

0828Leaves.jpg
Leaves turning in fall...

The second — and somewhat problematic — issue is that someone still has to consume all these products created by automation. So whereas the idea that I will have "more free time" theoretically looks feasible... I will still have to do something (presumably work?) in order to come up with the money to buy all these products being made. And since I am not really needed to work — a robot now has my old job — I am not relaxed at all, because I'm actually in sharper competition for resources (money) than I was before.

But is it really that bleak?

Hard to say, but I tend to play "Devil's Advocate" a lot.

I vaguely remember a quote on the wall in one of the break rooms at the Fortune 500 IT company where I once worked. It suggested the paradigm that "Man invents, Technology implements, Society follows."

I always had a problem with that, because of the hidden implication that society (aka "people") is going to follow technology... rather than technology follow people. People don't need to adapt to technology; technology needs to adapt to people.

Thanks for reading!

What do YOU think? Is automation mostly positive? Or is it negative? Does technology have side effects that actually enslaves humans rather than grant them freedom? Leave a comment-- share your experiences-- be part of the conversation!

xSteemitBloggers.jpg

(As usual, all text and images by the author, unless otherwise credited. This is original content, created expressly for Steemit)
Created at 181227 23:50 PDT

Sort:  

"But is it really that bleak?"

My guess:
The bad news - It will be much bleaker for the majority of humanity that is headed into a trap from which they are unlikely to escape.
The good news - They are unlikely to notice or ever be aware of it once they are enslaved in their virtual reality total environment.

Agreed. In a sense it is almost like a variation on the "Matrix" movies... most people will be entangled in the web and never know (or question) the difference, while a rag-tag few will somehow manage to create little pockets of life outside the system. And those "outside" will mainly be challenged not because they have a lot of direct power, but for their potential of being able to point out that the emperor is not wearing any clothes.

People don't need to adapt to technology; technology needs to adapt to people.

People always adapt to technology, not the other around...

A wheel is still a wheel, we stop walking and ride, kind of thing.
A washing machine is a washing machine, we change our laundry habits...

.....but that's a very different thing than what technology we decide to have...

Part of the "problem" seems to be that people are so eager embrace and adapt new "toys" without even taking a moment to consider whether those toys actually enhance their lives... in the tangible sense.

In the IT biz we used to call it "push technology" vs. "pull technology." With push technology, the user doesn't get to decide what they get to use... that's where the real trouble lies.

In my world it is the oncoming autonomous «sp? Vehicles & Drunk Drivers. (both alcohol & cell phone impairment)

There have been Several deaths by autonomous vehicles.

Big Tech CEO's go on to say they expected some "setbacks"..... You & I would be the setbacks. "Silly Humans"

And the "Impaired".....? Well, let's just say I know about this All to Well...!!

(Photo) 3 pm. Aug 28, 2016 my near death experience due to a pilled up drunk driver.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah, you've been through a thing or two. Unfortunately, humans have become "collateral damage" in the march of technology... or so it seems.

The "problem" with autonomous vehicles — and I have NO idea how they plan to solve this — is that they operate with fixed code and that's FINE as long as everything else is also an autonomous vehicle with the same fixed code. But humans are infinitely variable and unpredictable... and won't necessarily respond in the way the code "predicts."

As for the drunk and drugged... that's a whole different ball of wax.

I have to say that I really enjoy your way of writing.

This post again made me read and think

Yes, I hate this kind of automation and I made my bank to change this
to a manual one, just because excatly the same reasons you are telling me.

They don’t love late payments. As much as I, but running your own company you learn to handle this and “talking” helps and gain trust.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks for the kind words @detlev!

I believe automation can be helpful, but we have to take control of exactly how it affects what we are doing, and not just let the "default setting" (usually created either by some developer, OR a business trying to extract every cent they can from us!) become what governs our lives.

Hi @denmarkguy,

I can’t agree more!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66303.73
ETH 3592.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61