'Hello, World!' My First Experience in Programming...

in #technology7 years ago

hello-world.jpg

'Hello, World!'

This is the first experience in the world of programming, and I will like to share.

I'm very sure, it's been a question in the heart of everyone that has learnt programming languages or is into programming already, why 'Hello, World' is the first phrase you compute when you get into the world of programming.

I have been a lover of foreign languages, but not programming languages not until I was invited last month Dec. 2017, for a seminar in 'python'; a programming language I was just introduced to. But what created a question in my mind is the fact that the instructor asked us to write the phrase 'hello, world' and told us that 'hello, world' is the first phrase every programming languages introduce you to, as novice programmers but wasn't clear why. To the best of my knowledge in native and foreign languages like French, English etc, the first word you're been taught is 'hi','salut', a form of greeting.

I could say:'hello, world' is a form of first greeting phrase into the world of programming.

Making my research about the phrase 'hello, world' in wikipedia.org, I found out that the phrase was influenced by an example program in a seminal book, The C Programming Language. "Brain Kernighan wrote the first 'hello, world' program as part of the documentation for the BCPL programming language developed by Martin Richards."
(https://stackoverflow.com/questions/602237/where-does-hello-world-come-from)

Now, I'm very glad I've found a new love in python programming language. It's easy to learn, so far. And I hope it continues like this.

I'll be posting more of my experience into the world of programming as I increase in learning. I believe there are whole lots of things i'm missing and that I will gain as I dive more into this awesome world.

Sort:  

Congratulations @dejimichel! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard supports the SteemFest⁴ Travel Reimbursement Fund.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68338.18
ETH 2645.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69