Daily tech talk.. IBM Power9 Server

in #technology7 years ago

Today morning I got a newsletter form a tech site which I always read.
THENEXTPLATFORM

Last year when I first read about the Commodity Power8 servers, I know immediately I will need it for my researches.

I was amazed the NVLINK between the CPUs and the GPUs
IMG_20170320_132623.jpg

We have 4 P100 Pascal GPU in the server, and two 2x100Gb Infiniband connection, which together provides 400Gb connection to the outside world.

The P100
IMG_20170320_131142.jpg

IMG_20170320_132251.jpg

But now this is the past only, with the new Power 9 servers. Let's see what's new:
ibm-power9-witherspoon-exploded.jpg
* image source

It is a two socket server
You can choose between a 16-core version of the Nimbus chip that has a base clock speed of 2.6 GHz and that turbos up to 3.09 GHz, or a 20 cores running at 2 GHz that turbos up to 2.87 GHz.
The chips are real power hungry ones with 190 watts TDP which is a little lower than past generations of Power processors.
Maximum memory capacity will be 2TB with 2666MHz DDR4 modules.

The memory speed is really impressive: 306 GB/sec of aggregate memory bandwidth across the two sockets.

The system can be configured with either four or six of the Volta G100 accelerators.

With 4 Volta GPU the bandwidth to the GPU is rated at 150GB/s, with 6 it is limited to 100GB/s

The server has a shared two-port 100 Gb/sec network interface card mounted right onto the motherboard, and this NIC interconnects with two PCI-Express 4.0 x8 slots coming off the controllers on the Power9 die.

Each socket also has a native PCI-Express 4.0 x16 slot that is enabled with the CAPI 2.0 protocol.
This is an excellent connection for non-GPU accelerators and persistent memory devices like flash and 3D XPoint or ReRAM.

From storage perspective it has two 2.5-inch drive bays and a SATA storage controller for flash drives.
The flash drives can be 960 GB, 1.92 TB, and 3.84 TB capacities.

If we have enough fast network speed for this server we don't need to much local storage.

I'm really curious to see this in live. Last times when we compiled GPU based Database MAPD to the Power GPU platform it was amazing. On one billion record size database the average query response time was 10ms on average.

I think this will be the future of the realtime analytics, but from these I will talk later in another daily tech talk. Stay tuned!

Sort:  

Cool hardware, it's make me dream to have it too! ^^
Even i don't need that much power, can you mine with stuff like that?

I tried once to compile mining to this hardware, but it hard to use. It's processor use altivec instruction set instead of SSE which used in the codes. I don't have time to port to altivec :)

good job

friends i need your spot please visit my blog fallow me i fallow you vp me thanks

interestingly written, I think many agree with me

nice post. Shared :)

Congratulations @cuttie1979! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I know their P9 have PCIE gen4, which is 10Gbps

This post has received gratitude of 21.09 % from @appreciator thanks to: @cuttie1979.

This post has received a 26.04 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @cuttie1979. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

You got a 18.10% upvote from @upme requested by: @cuttie1979.
Send at least 1.5 SBD to @upme with a post link in the memo field to receive upvote next round.
To support our activity, please vote for my master @suggeelson, as a STEEM Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63439.39
ETH 2545.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66