You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Building colonies - Why Moon Soon?

in #technology7 years ago

Science and fantasy often merge in my mind...
I once read a novel where after a few generations the colony on the moon physically adapted to the difference in gravity and other environmental factors. They ended up with ESP and other cool abilities locked away in our genetics. Living on the moon - I couldn't handle the artificial light or the cold. But I could love it after terraforming. An oasis of plants under a dome and control the temperature. Anyway great read. <3

Sort:  

I've always had a wish to explore the stars, but after the moon visit it seemed to just not be an interest so much for humanity. In regards to the artificial light, we have developed some materials that can capture and slow down light, so perhaps we could have long tubes of varying lengths of this substance, capturing real light and releasing it slowly over time for an ambient light level created with 'real' photons from the sun. The cold shouldn't be too much of an issue, the only reason it's so cold is the lack of atmosphere, by building beneath the surface we would retain much heat.

Likely to the point some of it would need to be dumped into cooling towers.

Thanks for your kind words and support hope you have a peachy day <3

I think that living in a lava tube with real photons stored from the sun would be okay!

Hey, sounds interesting... do you recall the name of the novel? I'd like to check it out myself too if possible... :)

Hmm...the title does not come to mind right now. But it was teen fiction - sort of spun off the recent trend of twisted fairytales. Honestly quite a bit of that book puzzled me...and I didn't care for most of it. The best part I took away is the fragment above. Makes me want to write my own novel with moon beings and that premise of evolution though! Maybe Sam can be my scientific advisor for it <3

Haha... be sure to send me a link if you do. :)

Subjugation by James Galloway...and no, my memory isn't that good, just remembered reading something similar and it bugged me enough to Google moon colony telepathy

Enjoy ✌️

Cool! Thank you @cryptologyx! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65375.87
ETH 3337.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63