Uboxing and First Impressions of The ACEPC T11 Mini Fanless Desktop PC

in #technology7 years ago

Dear Steemit Friends,

Today I wanted to share with you my unboxing and first impressions of the AcePC T11. This Mini But Powerful PC puts a full Windows 10 (64-bit) loaded computer into a small and portable body that you can take just about anywhere. As technology gets more advanced the amount of hardware and functionality we can fit into a small space becomes impressive.

Before I begin with my full review and first impressions of this impressive PC, please check out my unboxing video of the unit below:

As you can see, the PC is no larger than the palm of my hand. Granted there are Mini-PCs that are smaller and even thinner - the reason why I chose to purchase this unit is primarily due to the number of reviews it had, on top of the ability of being able to expand the storage capacity by adding an additional hard drive to the unit.

This Mini-PC has everything you need for everyday basic usage and can even handle some of the more complex tasks such as 4K video playback and 3D gaming - even dual monitor support. The Mini-PC was fairly inexpensive ranging from $150 - $199 USD at various online retailers. I purchased my unit from Amazon.

Hardware Specs for the unit are:

  • CPU:Intel Cherry Trail Z8350 (Atom CPU)
  • GPU:Intel HD Graphics
  • RAM:4GB DDR3L
  • ROM:32GB eMMC
  • WiFi:Dual Band,2.4G/5G
  • LAN:10/100M
  • Bluetooth: Version 4.0
  • USB port: 1x USB 3.0; 3x USB 2.0; 1x Micro USB for OTG
  • Mini SD Card reader: TF Card (up to 128GB)
  • HDMI Port :HDMI 1.4
  • VGA Port:VGA 1920*1080
  • Microphone audio: 3.5mm Microphone jack x1

Below is an Image from the manufacturers website of all the various ports and connectors supported on this device.

The unit comes bundled with the following:

  • The ACEPC T11 Mini PC itself
  • 1 Power Adapter
  • 1 User Manual
  • 1 HDMI Cable
  • 1 VESA Mount

On Bootup you are welcomed by the ACEPC Logo before it quickly boots into the setup for Windows 10, which is pre-installed. During installation, I was asked for a product key which was not provided, so I ended up having to activate the pre-installed Windows 10 manually by calling up the Microsoft Activation Hotline. Hopefully, this is a one-off case, since there is no product key located anywhere on or in the packaging.

Once the setup was complete it quickly booted to the Windows 10 desktop. For a MiniPC, the system operates pretty smoothly. I installed several graphics and video editing programs such as Photoshop and Premiere and was able to edit high res photos and videos without any issues. I also installed VLC and Media Player Classic and played a number of 4K videos without hiccups.

The PC Itself currently stays on 24/7 and is being used to host some of my community Discord Server bots. Aside from the occasional reboot after Windows update installations, I haven't had any issues. I even bought a second one as a media center for my living room entertainment center and that too has not had an issue. One thing to note however is that I also had to call in to activate Windows on that unit.

The device is small enough that you can carry it with you anywhere and due to its fanless configuration is completely quiet. If it weren't for the little blue light that it emits, you wouldn't even know it was on. Support for dual monitors works flawlessly as you can see from the below screenshot as I type up my review on the unit.

The device has only has 32GB of storage space, which is not much for the needs of most people today, however, like mentioned previously - the reason why I selected this over other similar MiniPCs, is because of the ability for you to add an additional 2.5 Inch HDD or SSD. Below is an illustration from the manufacturer with directions on installing a secondary drive.

The only downside I have seen so far is the design. It is not the best looking MiniPC on the market, but you can tuck it out of site so that it is not even noticeable. If your monitor(s) support mounts, then you can easily use the included VESA mount to affix it to the back of your monitor. If not, you can still mount it out of site under your desk or on the wall.

The chassis itself is also made of plastic, so even though it seems durable, it definitely does not feel as durable. I guess the idea was to sacrifice on outer design and aesthetics in order to provide better internal performance and quality. I have not yet gotten to run any 3D Mark or performance tests on it yet, but once I do I will post the updated results for all to see.

If you are looking for a PC that is powerful enough for your basic everyday needs and that is small enough to be able to hide while being cheap and affordable, I would definitely recommend this unit.

I hope you enjoyed my review of the ACEPC T11 MiniPC. If you have any questions, inputs, or feedback, please feel free to post a comment below. I would also appreciate your Upvote, Follow, and Resteem if you feel this post was informative and will help others.


How to vote?
  • Use the witness page https://steemit.com/~witnesses
  • scroll down the page until you see the vote box below and enter cloh76.witness
  • click VOTE and accept my Appreciation and Gratitude!

Sort:  

this one looks good. But are these shipped with a mandatory Windows 10 OS? I'm planning to get one mini pc that I can turn into a media center to replace my WDTV Live.

On some sites, there is an option for a unit without any pre-installed OS. No Linux version that I saw, but you should have no issues installing any OS you want on it. The drivers are fairly generic and I assume should be easy to find.

This post has received a 4.09 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @cloh76. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 64841.81
ETH 2619.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87