SOLAR POWER - MTN LUMOS, MAKING SOLAR ENERGY AFFORDABLE

in #technology6 years ago

mtn.png

source

If you live in Nigeria, you must experience power outage. This is a problem that citizens of my country have been facing before I was born. As time has gone by, the government has tried to make the power sector improve and this led them to privatizing the sector.

MTN-Mobile-Electricity.png

source

A telecommunication company called the Mobile Telecommunications Network (MTN) came up with a plan to help the Nigerian citizens when it comes to power. They introduced the LUMOS MOBILE ELECTRICITY. The source of energy that Lumos provides is Solar Energy.

The essence of providing this service is to give the people access to solar energy at an affordable rate as they pay by installments.
They payment plan is spread out in five years. The kit can carry a radio, a DC fan, a DC light bulb, a laptop, a mobile phone, an AC standing fan and a hair clipper. Customers can pay as low as 1000 naira per week after making a compulsory initial payment of 26,000 naira.

This is one solution to the power problem in Nigeria. If you calculate the money spent over time, (over 200,000 naira), a person can get proper solar panels. However, most people cannot afford that amount of money at a go.
The reason why I would recommend this product to people is the fact that it is noiseless. 9 out of 10 Nigerians have generators and this cause a hell of noise. This is one of the most annoying things to experience ever, especially at night when you are trying to sleep. I experience this on the regular and I tell you this is not funny.

At the moment, my family uses a generator when the power is out. If I had my way, I would pay to get solar panels installed, I would not get Lumos because it would not carry most appliances in my house. By appliances, I mean the refrigerator, the air conditioning and our ceiling fans.

I believe solar energy is the future and as you know, the future is now!
Thank you for reading.

Sort:  

Solar is the future..Good thing is renewable energy is cleaner and sustainable too

Very true. Thanks for contributing.

Yea av always thought that solar is cool. They should push more money into developing it for further bigger use, i mean the government of Nigeria. But then who am I kidding, the powers that be will never learn.
@dee-y over and out.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Solar is the future of energy.

Though not post related, but if you are ever interested in blockchain, crypto or ico then you can look into this project and also resteem it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 62134.65
ETH 3418.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51