Should I switch to Mac ? (visit to the Apple Store)

in #technology7 years ago (edited)

image

Recently I've been torn about is if I should switch over to Mac. To give you guys some background, I've been a long time windows user and I game a lot. Recently however I've been doing a lot more video editing ( I'm a complete beginner at this and want to learn) and I've heard a lot of good things about Macs. For one imovie and Final Cut Pro seems amazing I'm terms of ease to use. I recently traveled a bit and my old laptop is definitely not good enough for the job, so I'm wondering now if it's time to buy a new laptop. If so, should I start switching to Mac
image

My visit to the Apple Store

I paid a visit to my local Apple Store. They definitely have one of the nicest stores here. I spent a while on the machines and I definitely admit they are good for what they do.

Should I make the Change

Being a long time Windows user I'm still wondering about the change. What do you guys think? Should I switch to team Apple ?

Sort:  

Move to Linux you pleb 🙈🙉

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Arkadiy Deli from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

If you still want to use your computer for gaming, then you should really think twice, other than this reason, I can't see why you should not move to MAC platform.
I went through this situation 10 years ago and I am still a happy MAC user.

i might switch to mac so i won't be tempted to game as much

MACS The best, I have the new macbook pro and its awesome for editing. I transitioned in 2011, I sill have my desktop windows but never use it, it just plays music these days lol

wow. I saw a lot of people use macbook pro for editing over desktops even. is it really that good?

Took me a while to adapt, but it worth it 😬

well mac is great for blogging!

No need to contemplate over the obvious choice you gonna make ;)
Apple just works. Their products are more durable, the apps look better and often also work better.
And without a doubt, if you think about it. If you compare a good windows computer with a macbook pro it's maybe like 1.5k extra, which you will earn back in the end cuz the macbook will last so much longer. (Also, 1.5k in terms of crypto, its a bit more than half a bitcoin or 5.5 ether. Treat yourself and enjoy a bit of your crypto profits :) )

almost 1 btc for a macbook pro 15''. looking at used second hand market.

There is nothing better than a Mac for Video editing (when you are not an professional using Premiere Pro, After Effects ect.)

Definitely switch to Mac!

A lot of my friends use Apple computers but most of them are web or graphic designers. But I found it funny because almost all of them are running windows on mac os. :)

wut really? thats not worth it

Short answer: YES!!!! I moved from Windows PC to Mac back in 2001 and I never looked back. Have had 7 different Mac laptops in the past 16 years and they all served me very well. And I managed to sell each and every one of them (except the latest one that I am currently using) for about half the price I myseld paid for them, once it was time to upgrade to something new. My current MacBook Pro is a mid-2011 model, bought second-hand in 2012 and it is still working amazingly well. I whole-heartedly recommend that you switch to Apple Macintosh, Michael.

congratulations on the switch. I'm trying to weigh the cost of the macbook against the benefits

I was in the situation to choose between a Dell XPS and a MacBook Pro. I chose the XPS at the end and I think I make a bad decision. I have prior and ample working experience in both Mac and Windows as I am a software developer. While XPS is indeed a top notch laptop for Windows, but it is the software experience that make me felt like I made the wrong decision. But anyways, you cant go wrong with MacBook if you are getting it for productivity. I think you will love it.

With Apple I think things like battery life is a little bit better because of how they regulate everything. It's the same parts but their software is a bit more restrictive

Yeah. I agree on that. They are the one design the hardware. With that extra control, they can definitely optimize their OS to use the hardware efficiently and hence, better battery life. The top notch Windows laptop like XPS battery is pretty damn good as well. I bet Dell have spend quite a resource to optimize it and therefore the higher price tag. XD. The software choices is indeed lesser if you compare MacOS to Windows. I suggest you compare the MacOS version of similar app to Windows and see how you like about them. For example, I really use command prompt a lot. The equivalent of it in MacOS will be Terminal. Oh boys, that is totally another tier of user experience. In order to replicate that experience, I will have to install ConEmu but It is buggy. So do some comparison on the application you frequently use might be a good way to help you make decsion.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63526.15
ETH 3387.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56