WHY YOUR CELL PHONE BATTERY DRAINS FASTER | TIPS TO MAKE IT LAST

in #technology6 years ago (edited)


image
Pixabay

So, you bought this smart phone, the battery was super fast in the early stages, after three months, the 4000mAh battery that lasts for 6 hours couldn't stand an hour anymore.

I'm sure you concluded every phone's battery loses its power the longer it is used. Well, that's not 100% true. That battery that lasted for five hours when it was bought can keep lasting that long only if you read and adhered to instructions.

Every smart phone comes with a menu, how to charge and handle your device correctly is included in it. A very low percentage of smart phone users bother to read and practise it. Now that you are on my blog, count yourself lucky, I'll be sharing 6 tips on how to make your battery last longer.

Remove the protective case when charging.

I decided to start with this because it sounds weird. You wouldn't believe this, I know you would be wondering why a protective case should be removed when charging.

These cases causes the battery to over heat during the changing session. Especially if it's a bulky protective case. When charging, heat is passed, the phone should be freed don't you think? This protective case causes more heat and should be removed when charging.

If you've been charging your phone with the bulky case, it's high time you stopped.

Know when to recharge your battery



image
Pixabay

You must have been told that battery suffers when you keep charging even when the battery is full. That's not true. There's an inbuilt control that regulates the time, it stops the battery from taking more time to continue when it is at 100%, automatically it stops charging, and it doesn't drain. There's no risk of overcharging your battery provided you didn't break the other rules (well, we will get back to this).

Now, don't keep your battery charging all the time, the battery needs to work on its own, it needs to experience its life span. Its advisable to let your battery drains up to 20% before plugging it in again. Charging when the phone is at 85% and above is preventing the battery from completing the number of cycles it should attain.

Manufacturer measures a battery life by the number of its discharge cycle and it's usually between 400 - 600 cycles. When your battery drops to 5% - 10% and you start charging, the number of cycles increases up to 1000.

Don't get too confused, just let that battery work, know its strength by using it.

Stay away from cheap and very fast chargers.

Cheap chargers don't have inbuilt controller. When your battery gets to 100%, nothing controls it. This is risky and could cause other hazards, you might experience an electric shock.

Everybody wants to charge his/her phone quickly, ultrafast chargers kills the battery too.

Every battery has its designated charger, read the phone menu and know the chargers compatible with it. That's if you misplaced the one that came with the phone though.

High and Cold temperatures should be avoided

I was shocked when I found out too. How can you avoid high and cold temperatures? Then, what temperatures should we use our phone then? Warm? Well, these are the questions I kept asking myself. I just asked your questions, now, I should answer them.

Battery can't stand over heating, I believe I've mentioned this. It shouldn't be exposed to sun or other ho substance. When your phone falls into water, placing the battery and the phone face to the sun isn't the solution, it kills the phone and the battery instead. Place your phone in a bag or bucket of rice when that happens. Yes! It works.

Batteries don't like cold weathers too. You can use them during that time, quite alright. But, it wouldn't last as much as it could. When the battery gets cold, it needs a warm temperature to function back. If you haven't noticed, batteries don't last in cold weathers. The best place to keep your phone during this time is your pockets. It's warm in there.

Reduce your screen brightness and avoid bright wallpapers.

Your apps alone aren't the only things eaten up the battery. The display of the phone plays a major role too. When you have a live wallpaper, the battery drains faster. Use black and white wallpapers instead, it helps in conserving the battery life.

The brightness of the screen should be controlled too. It should be reduced to the minima. It's more than enough to see what's on your phone. Better still, set an auto brightness, you should see your screen even if you are in a very sunny environment.

When the battery drains more than the required cycle it should go, it loses its power.

Software updates should be avoided.

Technologies improves and increases, operating systems and softwares are modified often. But, your smart phone stays the same. Before updating, read the user reviews before clicking that update button. Your phone might not support the update or rather the update might be too big for your phone. It's almost impossible to go back to the software you were using before updating.

The updated softwares might not work well with your phone and hence causing the phone to work more, and this ends up killing the battery life. If you are planning to protect your battery life, manage the softwares it supports, don't upgrade to a version your phone won't handle.


image
Pixabay


I hope you've learnt something new. That amazing phone you got will be much enjoyable when you have a better battery. Take this tips and enjoy the battery life.

Thanks for reading.

@afolwalex cares.

Sort:  

This is a very nice and useful post, I made sure to read everything word for word, it's funny how I thought I knew why batteries do not last but this post proved otherwise. I am grateful I found myself here. Good one!

Thanks for reading, I hope to see you more often.

@afolwalex, Well this is really an eye-opener for me, I did not know half of what is mentioned in this post, thank you for this very useful information, especially the part about the brightness of the screen, I always have trouble seeing what's on there in the sunlight, I will adjust that for sure.

Yes, you should try to adjust that and take other precautions. I'm also guilty of that too, but I'm stopping it too.

Thanks for coming around.

Yes I will take all of your advice to heart, and if I forget something I will always refer back to this post.

Thanks! It is a very interesting and usefull post.

Waoh,I had to make an upvote for this because am sure is gonna help,thanks to @afolwalex

Thanks for that bro

Thanks! It is a very interesting and useful post.

Your post has been upvoted by the @steemiansarens. Our goal is to support minnows and help them grow. You can join our discord server here Whastapp here.. You can also support us by either contributing steem or delegating SP to us

I sure did get some new info especially that one about the battery in a bag of rice. That's quite interesting. Thank you for sharing this. I guess someone like me would have also benefitted from it.

Thanks for reading. I hope you don't dip your phone into water just to try the bag of rice logic though.

This is really informative specially for iphone users like me as iphone is so pain in the ass nowadays.

And yes, I agree bout not using cheap batteries. Proven and tested.

Thanks !

Thank you, among all I found out about 2 things I didn't know so far.

Thanks for these great tips. Another good idea is to turn off Bluetooth if you are not using it through the day. The radio can drain your battery. Many people just leave it on all the time not realizing they are costing battery life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60844.65
ETH 2995.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88