#ULOG | I Just Lost The Last Five Years Of My Life

in #teardrops6 years ago

IMG_20180401_111425.jpg

I want to cry. But I don’t have enough tears. For each story, article, poem or play that I remember, the dam in my eyes threaten to give way. I wish it is all a bad dream. If it is, then it is a dream I remember too vividly. It is a dream I don’t wish on my enemies. It is a dream I never want to remember.

I have been writing for about five years now. I write stories, poems, plays and articles. Writing is what pays my bills and helps me find fulfilment. Two days ago, I made a terrible mistake. A mistake that now costs me everything I’ve written with the last five years.

Here is my story

All He Wanted Was A Couple Of Videos

A few days ago, a very close friend of mine arrived at my apartment in the evening. He came to collect some video files. At the time I was very hungry and was thinking of what dinner would be. I am a terrible cook so I try to avoid cooking. Well, I was too hungry to attend to him so I directed him to my laptop. I showed him the video folder and left him to his own devices. And I stepped out to get some air as there was no electricity supply at the time.

When I returned to my one room apartment, I noticed my friend was a bit melancholic. I asked for the cause and he explained that he had done something terribly bad to my laptop. I am a very relaxed person; I try not to blow things out of proportion. I simply put on my glasses and inspected what damage had been done to my laptop.

There was no real damage. He had simply mistakenly changed the settings for my video folder. I use an old model Levono Thinkpad that runs on Microsoft Windows 7 Operating System. I could have had it upgraded to Windows 8 or 10, but Windows 7 is factory installed and I didn’t want to replace it with a cracked operating system (as I cannot afford to buy from Microsoft). For Windows 7, you can add locations to a folder. What he did was to add My Document Folder as a location in my video folder. That way, the files and folders in My Document Folder (Over 1000 files in all) were visible in the Video folder.

Obviously, there was nothing damaging in that. He simply made a mistake and I could correct it any time. I assured him that it was nothing serious. I asked him to continue his transfers, that I would correct the mistake later that night. I didn’t correct it that night though. I was pre-occupied with thoughts of dinner. And after dinner, I took a long trip to dreamland.

I Only Wanted An Organised System

Two nights ago, I was surfing through the files and folders on my laptop when I noticed how disorganised everything was. There were files and folders everywhere. Sometimes, a disorderly system pisses me off. That night was one of those times. I have a lot of junk on my laptop - drafts I no longer need, movies I didn’t enjoy, songs I don’t listen to, etc. So I began a cleaning process, one at a time.

Soon, I arrived at the video folder. I noticed how a folder that contained about 10 sub-folders suddenly had almost 30 folders and almost 400 files in the root folder alone. It was then I remembered what my friend had done. I simply went to My Document folder to ensure he didn’t move the files and folders. I was happy to see the files and folders in the My Document folder. It was then I made the costly mistake.

Shift + Delete

Because I felt the files and folders were in My Document folder, I decided to mark all of the files and folders in the video folder and then hit shift + delete. After all, the original files and folders would still be on my laptop. I ended the cleaning exercise and closed my laptop. I was wrong.

I opened the My Document Folder yesterday to locate some drafts but I found nothing. The entire folder was wiped clean. In that moment, I didn’t know how to react. I didn’t shout, frown or even cry. I simply shut down my laptop and left it alone.

Then later in the evening, the gravity of what happened suddenly hit me. It took more then 24 hours before my brain processed my enormous loss. At that point, I just lost the strength to do anything else.

In fact, it seems as if it just happened. The more I think about it, the more acute the pain becomes. Then it was just a mistake. Now, it's more than that

My 70,000 words Novel is Gone!

I have been working on a 70,000 words novel. It’s an epic story spiced with romance, war and magic. I’ve gotten to 8,000 words already. It’s something similar to the Drazen series I have been posting on Steemit. That is gone.

I have about 300 poems. I have actually written more than that but those are the ones I hope to publish one day. They are all gone too.

I also have a short story series, three actually. They were written as stand alone episodes with a loosely connected plot. They are all gone too.

I want to cry but I fear I don’t have enough tears. I can’t even bear to think about it.

Screenshot_20180506-111508.png

Steemit: My Only Consolation

Thankfully, I have been posting some of my stories, poems, plays and articles on Steemit. That is my only consolation right now. I have a few files in my Google Drive and my phone storage. Beyond those, I have nothing.

I guess I have to start all over again.

I am seriously trying to find the silver lining in this cloud. I have told my friends about it. Someone is trying to see if he can help recover the files. I don’t know how it works or if I should exercise hope. Maybe I should just mourn my loss.

Thanks for reading my story

Blessings

[Image Source: All pictures were created/taken by me]

Sort:  

I'm sorry you lost just about everything. It's something I see a lot with other people. I hope this learning lesson results in regular backups and more importantly external backups. It's only until we lose things that we take insurance steps to protect our content. You can also explore Image backups which in your case would have reversed the damage entirely.Believe me, I feel the pain and frustration right now.

Thanks a lot.

And yes, I'm backing up all my 'good' stories and poems on Google Drive.

I'm trying to laugh about it but it's somehow hard. A friend helped recover some of the files. Not the novels though

Thanks for stopping by and sharing with me

Blessings

i dont even know what to type. Gray sorry for your loss. the one time this happened to me, it was my files - PDFs, Videos etc - but nothing like this. me that struggle to write cant imagine what it feels like for you.

Still, knowing how powerful your story-creating abilities are, you will remember this story one day and smile.

cheers bro.

Haha

Boss

Maybe it's time I started writing new stuff. Most of the stories are quite old. That novel is more than 2 years old. A lot of unfinished works too.

Maybe it's a fresh start.

I look forward to look back at that moment and smile

Blessings

Eeeyah, very sorry for the loss, such has happened to me before, I just stood transfixed that day, but you know what ? Life goes one and they'll surely come back again especially those stories.

Amen

Thanks boss

Geez! I am so sorry. No amount of words can bring back your written words. Reminds me of when my memory card got wiped over 800 of my precious ebooks were gone. I cried for an hour but life goes on. I really don't think it would all be gone though.

Yeas dear, life has to go on

A friend helped to recover some.

What did you do about those e-books? You recovered them or got new ones?

I had to get new ones. I had to download the few I remembered. I still feel sad remembering my juicy collection but its all gone now. I never keep more than 20 at a time now.

Touch man...don't even know what to say...is hard to just loss all that great effort... Just be strong bro...better things ahead

Thanks boss

Blessings

Oh boy!!!!

I have not used Steemit in a really long while but I felt it was exigent that I did this and shared what little knowledge I had on this issue.

So, this is what I feel would help you salvage your loss:
Visit a computer technician around you, (I'll recommend #E-Maxie in New Market) and ask them to restore your files to a previous date.
What this would do for you is that you might lose some files after the restoration, but those ones before the date of the restored files would be found back.

Speed up your actions and ensure you take your time to rest and take your mind off the issue.
I had a similar situation one time and I had my documents restored after that.

Peace out fam,
One Love,
The David Adesina.

Thanks boss

I've done that

I'm moving on now

Blessings

I pray you recover your files

I did recover some of them

Thanks for your heartfelt prayer

Blessings

Oh no, that is so terrible!

But perhaps, you have a chance to retrieve your documents. I'm not a computer genius, but I think the files are still on the drive, it's just that they can now get overwritten. As long as you haven't formatted the hard drive or stored files on it that are as big as the capacity, you can access them again.

There are several ways, one of which is even offered by Windows.

But before trying something you aren't sure about, you should read about it and consult a friend with computer knowledge.

I hope, you'll get your data back..

Thanks @lisaliebeslust

Yes, it's terrible. Kind of almost ruined my mood.

A friend helped to recover some of the files. I'll be backing up the most important ones on my Google Drive

Thanks for your genuine concern

Blessings

Hello, how are you?
Please answer me on my question. I am impressed by this new community #ylog and I want to ask you are there any conditions for obtaining support in this tag ?

Go get easy recovery software bro... It'll bring your files back...

System restore may work too... But easy recovery is the more reliable option

Thanks boss

Someone gave me Recuva

I was able to get some of my files

I couldn't recover the novels though

Thanks boss

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54357.85
ETH 2282.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31