Steem Is The Most Exciting Technology I’ve Seen! - Attention Is The Most Important Currency That Anybody Can Give You. It's Worth More Than Money, Possessions Or Things. – Steve Rube

in #teamsteem7 years ago (edited)

CH #4 "Whatever we put our attention on will grow stronger in our life."


The Ultimate Steem Book

- Introduction - The Ultimate Steem Book / Audio

- Chapter 1 - My Steem Witness Application

- Chapter 2 - Decentralized Governance / Audio

- Chapter 3 - Steem's Ultimate Introduction / Audio

- Chapter 4 - Attention Is The Ultimate Currency / Audio

Attention Steem

Maharishi Mahesh Yogi once remarked: "Whatever we put our attention on will grow stronger in our life." Now it's pretty easy to see how much attention's key.

There have been hundreds of people reading me here on Steemit and who knows how many more there will be in the future. I take people’s attention playfully serious.


The more people use Steem*, the more people it influences and the more valuable its shares become.

Let us not forget, there is nothing more important, more valuable than people’s attention. A big part of Steem’s revolutionary system is in the way it values people’s attention. I’ll come back on this.

*Steem is a social network which reward its users for content they create and vote they cast. Users get paid with newly issued shares called Steem. New shares are issued every 3 seconds. Posts with the most shareholder’s votes rise to the top of Steemit.com and are subject to the most attention.

Decentralized Banking

All large scale industries are dependent on banking and currencies and Steem is both a currency and a banking system.

Steem can be used to store wealth (in a form of currency) or transfer it anywhere in the world without any transaction fees in a transparent tamperproof manner.

Here is a chart of all the world’s money and markets in a growing order from Bitcoin, Silver, commercial real-estate, Gold, all stock markets, broad money, global debt and derivatives.

There is at least one time over more debt ($200 trillions) than money ($81 trillion) and a lot more derivatives but all of this is for another article.

World's Money And Markets


Steem's Exciting!

It’s a no brainer and people are waking up to it. Ned Scott, Steemit’s CEO regarding using Steem instead of other websites

Even though, Steem doesn't currently have everything Facebook, Reddit, Twitter, Instagram or all social networks have and even though most of my social circle isn't on Steem yet, Steem is by far the most fun and stimulating social network I use.

Using Steem is mind-bogglingly fun and stimulating; so is musing about Steem’s future.

It helps to keep in mind that early investors always reap the greatest rewards when it comes to a company’s future success and as for me right now, Steem’s rewards go far beyond what money can bring or words can fully describe.

The control of information, people's attention and consensus opinion is crucial to each of us. It seems even more crucial on large scales, i.e. to military strategists, dictators, politicians, corporations, celebrities.

The way Steem handle these have me hopeful for a better future. We'll see.

Here’s a quote (1929) from Edward Bernays, father of public relation, which give some idea of the high stake in regard to the control of information, influencing people’s attention and consensus opinion.


Steem’s Future!

I use Austrian Economics to engineer the economic incentives which make freedom and non-violence profitable. Dan

...

If you have the faith and you're willing not to give up until you found a solution then you will find the solution. Dan

Dan Larimer is one of the two Steem founders and is a huge inspiration to me. He has been an inspiration even before Steem was invented and I left proof of this on the Steemchain.

I share those two quote here because I feel like they give a clear and enticing view of what his core values are.

Dan’s latest series of 8 articles made me rewrite a lot of this current chapter. I invite people to give them a try. This one might be a good place to start. The whole series really inspired me and I know it did inspired a lot of other people too.

Steem has already gone through many changes and many more have been proposed and are being worked on. Steem and Steemit are open source project which means anyone can help making them better.

Love!

Even though I stated what my book aim at in my introduction, I realize I never mentioned any of my sub goals. I plan on resolving this in my next chapter.

It was recognized that the essential ingredient of intelligence is organized knowledge, and that even before something can be learned, a lot must be known, so that the new knowledge can be fitted into an existing structure. Graham Greenleaf

I feel like there’s also a bigger and less tangible goal or purpose to life.

Love is the purpose of all, hence love itself cannot have any purpose. Love is the end of all; everything else is a means towards love, hence love cannot be a means to something else. It is the ultimate value. Osho

I love this quote and I try to make it show in my life. I also love Steem and I’m always super excited when I use it or I'm thinking about it. I can’t wait to see where we take it as well as where it takes us.

*I know a lot about the controversies regarding Osho and what he and some of his followers have been accused and or found guilty of. I love some of Osho’s work whether or not he was a con man.


(That's a lot of "so". I'll do better next time)

My Book Translation And Other Thoughts

Chapter two of my book has been translated in French. It’s been a success. The translation made in the top 5 most rewarded article of the day.

Thanks to @pickoum who translated it and to everyone who voted. I forwarded 100% of the liquid Steem to @pickoum which amounted to 56 SDB.

My mother and many other people have read the translation and that’s awesome. I’m so excited about distributing my work more widely. I’m excited about the idea that I might began to tell people I'm a writer as the writing of my book have been much more fulfilling than my day job. I’m even more excited to continue writing my book.

I feel blessed for the reception I’ve received. I feel the same for the translation @pickoum and I did.

@pickoum has finished translating chapter 3 and I plan on posting it this week.

I might do a professionally edited booklet version of my book someday. That would be awesome.

I’ll give updates on @lamech-m and Harmonium in upcoming posts.

Witness Updates And Hard Fork

There has been a hard fork last week and some changes have been made some have been proposed.

Here’s a link to @jesta’s witness update in which he list his stance on the changes and proposal. I link to his post because I love his post and so that I don't have to repeat all the proposal.

I agreed with all changes and proposal besides those two.

  • Increase miner's pay: Disagree. I think mining Steem must be less efficient than witness signing blocks so if this is the case I think it would be better if mining was discontinuated and if this money going to miners would go elsewhere like witnesses or content creators instead of going to running the miners. Disclaimer: I'm a miner and I mine other coin.

  • Votes for witnesses would expire after 3 months: Disagree. Pretty much for the same reasons @jesta mentioned. I feel like the positives wouldn't make up for the negatives.

Last week, witness #35 @boatymcboatface voted for my witness. I have been voting for his for a long time. @boatymcboatface among many have been supporting my blogs for a long time too and I’m very grateful to him.

Thank you everyone!

If you want to support me and support what I do for Steem make sure to vote for my witness!

HERE

Sort:  

Your comment is worth gold! Thank you so much! I'm glad you liked it and took the time to comment. I work hard to put these together but I enjoy it so much! See you around @instructor2121!

I AM LOOKING FORWARD TO THE FUTURE @teamsteem.

Awesome! Steem give so much strength!

Very good information, thanks for sharing .. I follow and vote @teamsteem, I am new to this, you help me and you follow me? @Sandra16 Thank you! Regards!

I still do not understand how Steemit works, I hope I can understand it, hahaha .. Regards!

One quality steemit definitely has is attention and the curating of content. I'm a writer with a large Twitter following but Twitter doesn't have the stickiness of Steemit - Sure, some Tweeps read my writing but most simply RT the links.

It's true that attention and curation are really boosted on Steemit. I get your point about Twitter. So I hope Steem will really help with this.

Well said. I agree and feel same

I'm glad you liked it and I'm glad to see I'm not the only one who feels very strongly about Steem. I know we aren't alone!

Great post, very informative and a pleasure to read. I enjoyed it.

Thank you @wh8amin! I really appreciate that you took the time to write this comment. It's very welcome!

This is golden!

I'm so glad you liked it. I wish every people would leave comments. That makes me think I'll need to leave more comments! Thank you @framelalife!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66384.36
ETH 3272.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27