More straws to break the camels back

Before I moved to Wilderness from Cape Town early this year, my daughter and I did a few beach cleans on Blouberg Beach, the beach closest to where we lived at the time.
Just the two of us, I wanted to start educating her on the evils of plastic and the stupidity of single use straws especially, from an early age.

What we found every time we went was shocking and disgusting, but it did make for a great education for her (and me)
The harbour has a lot to do with the trash that washes up on that beautiful beach, no doubt, but I can also tell you that the "humans doing" make an impact as well.

There is a KFC across the road, along with shops and cafés and many restaurants, which spew their filth onto the beach, via the medium which are uncaring, selfish and stupid "humans doing" not human beings (in my opinion) and these people have kids - do they not care about the future state of the planet their grand children will inherit from them?

I just can't fathom why someone would just throw their trash onto the beach or onto the road or anywhere that is not a waste bin???

I want to make an appeal, if you have read this, please try your best to reduce your plastic consumption by refusing single use straws, taking a reusable shopping bag to the store or, if you have to (and we all do) recycle your plastic to the best of your ability! It is really not that hard to do these days.

The impact that single use straws alone have on the aquatic bird species around the world is scary {for lack of a better (less profane) word} and if we all stopped using them, I believe we could really make a difference!

Keep it tidy folks :)

Some of these pictures I have posted in the past, but I have grown on steemit since then and I thought by trying again, I could now reach more people, and spread the word further...

My little beach warrior :)
1502016968901.jpg

Sculpting with straws
1502026907207 2.jpg

1502026907389.jpg

IMG_20170917_113822_096.jpg

IMG_20170917_175649_571.jpg

The plastic bucket was also found on the beach
1509358320295.jpg

Clean up #1 - all collected on the sand over a distance of roughly 250m each way
1509358360852.jpg

This is what we found on clean up # 3, before going into my recycling bin. The coke bottle was also found on the beach
1502433384304.jpg

Oh, and before I forget: We have done two organised, large group, beach cleans on Wilderness beach since moving here in January and between about 20 of us on each occasion, did not collect what myself and Drew did on Blouberg beach on our four missions.

That tells me that people in the cities are far less concerned about their immediate environment than folks in smaller places...

Sort:  

We rely need a crypto to pay peole cleaning up and a fine to apply to polluters. The fines could back up the crypto.

This is a great idea @solarcoach! The only problem I see is corruption and management of the system...

Of course, it will require some work. Have a look at this project:
https://challenges.openideo.com/challenge/bridgebuilder2/review/reguleum

Educating our children like you have done is one of the most important steps really. I do the same with my 2 kids, hopefully he new generation have more respect for the environment. We know better so we should do better.

Agreed! I do believe it starts at home. Any parent knows that kids really do what they see us do...

Congratulations @freewheeler! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

You sure are living in a beautiful place now, yes city dwellers by sheer numbers tend to lose the tendency to keep places clean, almost like it's someone else's job to clean up after them @freewheeler

We have done similar over the year, especially concentrating on fishing lines and hooks that are hurting animals.

I would love to see a law passed that makes it mandatory/compulsory that the citizens of the country come out once a week to clean up their mess...
Would be a great way to get people to feel a bit of pride in themselves and their neighborhoods...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63665.23
ETH 2621.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77