BACK to work

in #teamsouthafrica5 years ago

Yes, it has happened. The annual shutdown over Christmas is over. A glorious full month; 14 December 2018 to 14 January 2019.

chilled-out-daffodils-hat-1118762.jpg

When I was employed as a more senior accountant in previous management positions, leave was a luxury. Usually I would be paid out for untaken leave days at the end of a business cycle. Not going on leave was never a problem for me. I was always fascinated by the elaborate vacation plans of some of my colleagues. They had so much ENERGY. After those holidays, surely another holiday immediately thereafter is required to really relax?

Now days, the leave is compulsory, so I must go on leave. So do I go anywhere? No! Not interested in the slightest. Books, sport and relaxing at home are all I want. My dear wife decided to liven things up a bit this holiday, so we went to a botanical garden for a picnic with most of the girls. I must admit that I enjoyed it despite the dreadful heat wave we were experiencing here in Gauteng.

When I am on leave I only play my chess games, no internet otherwise. A bit foolish I suppose, but my loss.

One thing I do really enjoy, is watching the South African Cricket team play, particularly five day tests (Proteas). I just "veg" out and listen to the various commentators drone on. It certainly can put me to sleep, and it often did. But watching sportsmen perform at the highest levels fascinates me. Trying to puzzle out their planning and overcoming the plans of their opponents is very interesting. This is where the commentators are helpful because their experience and insights allow me to see a level of competitive sport that is (and will always be) beyond my levels of understanding and even comprehension. I have to watch at home, I would not go to watch a live game. Too boring as I lack understanding. So I watched the touring Pakistanis struggling on foreign pitches against a powerful pace bowling attack. Margins of error are so fine and the skillful players are brilliant in their exploitation of such tiny weaknesses. Yes, test cricket is a game for the holidays, from a bygone era. I wonder how much longer test cricket will survive in this modern world?

images.jpg
(one of the world's greatest cricket grounds - Melbourne Australia)

Long leave is definitely a good thing; for example, when I was coming to work this morning, there was a bit of traffic congestion, but my reaction now in January 2019 is vastly different to when compared to December last year, just before I went on leave. I was so aggressive back then, whereas now I am quite calm and relaxed.

So I am enjoying being back at work; I regard all my colleagues as friends, even extended family.

Another year begins, lets hope it is a better one than last year. Last year was good, but the promise of a new year is with us. Enjoy it folks, I certainly intend to enjoy mine.

Sort:  

Nice to see you again. Usually, people after the holidays are lazy to go to work. But you apparently missed your team. It’s good when you like work. It means you are in your place.

So nice and interesting game of cricket. These are good pictures and nice articles. good post.

Excellent review, my friend and you are right, each of us is relaxing on vacation in different ways and your cricket observations are worth it! Thank you @fred703

Really on vacation is good. Not only that, he does not bypass the person. I am glad that you have rested and now again with us

thanks, nice to be back

Oh yes @fred703, with the return and I also love to relax on vacation more privately, away from the city rush!

That's great post keep it up and carry on your activities..

I love cricket game because cricket is very exciting game.thanks for sharing this post.

I never played it at school as I was too much of a coward

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Cricket is a game of gentleman and it's my favourite game. I always like South Africa cricket. They are the super power of cricket world. AB De Villiars is my favourite cricketer. Thanks a lot sir @fred for watching the test cricket and share your moment with us.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66579.21
ETH 3282.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30