Winter Harvest!

Hey everyone, this will be my first winter in the bee-keeping trade, we are learning so much daily. One thing which I have recently learnt is that honey is far harder to work with and manage in winter for what reason and how can this be? You may ask? The viscosity of the honey is just much more and it crystalises really fast which can be a problem when you are selling it per kg out of a settling tank, which we do!

This is quiet a cool pic, what we have here is the honey extractor spinning the frames to gently remove/extract the honey from the comb. This unit has a built in 'safety' as it is opened much like a washing machine it cuts out. As I opened the lid snapped the shot to get the unit in motion.

20190601_162841.jpg

As a bee-keeper this is exactly what you want to see when you open up a hive. On our last harvest a few weeks ago this is what we took out of 3 hives, 12 fully capped, ripe, raw incredible honey.

20190601_154341.jpg

20190601_154352.jpg

As per usual before putting these frames into the honey spinner I take the cappings off the comb with a specialized un-capping fork. This allows for the honey to easily flow from the combs into the machine and settle at the bottom once spun off!

20190601_154634.jpg

20190601_161214.jpg

My South African mates here will know what this means! I took this frame from a super which is faulty, every time I put frames in it they fell through which was not optimal. Marking faulty frames and supers is always a good idea as to avoid downtime, a disorganized hive etc.

20190601_154414.jpg

From the main tank the honey flows through these two sieves and into the settling tank to be bottled. These simply remove the bigger parts that may be floating around the honey!

20190602_130725.jpg

Inside the machine if you look closely at the bottom lies the freshly spun off honey and wax. The sides of the unit now just have the empty combs and frames.

20190601_162852.jpg

This is the winter problem we experience. This honey is literally not more than a few days old, very hard already, a good sign of true raw honey. I enjoy it like this too is certainly has a different taste it is just a little harder to manage. I normally simply bottle it and when needed which in my case is a daily activity, simply put the bottle in a glass of hot water, it melts and becomes viscous a few minutes later.

20190606_100028.jpg

Here we have a combination of wax and honey probably around half of each. The honey to be extracted from here is a little tricky, the only way is to press it out. We generally just feed it back to the bees or sell it off. The residual left from the filtering process.

20190606_100011.jpg

Be sure to stay tuned for more of my epic bee-keeping adventures!

I trust you have an incredible week further.

Cheer$;)

Sort:  

I just got my beehive from my parents. I spent some time cleaning it out and now I need to make a top for it. It has a few plastic frames. Have you used plastic frames? or do you recommend them?
IMG_20190608_121330.jpg
IMG_20190612_105608.jpg

Hey wow nice times, take some more pics of the frames, they have a wax foundation? Treat that whole thing excl the frames with a product called waxol (WAX SOL), now you need to catch you some bees, a little honey inside at the back as well as two drops of lemon grass oil and you are off to the races, do keep me posted and post a vid of them moving in thats always my favourite part. Cheer$;) PS: never used plastic frames they sound good as long as they have a proper wax foundation?

Another tip, in the brood box you have ten frames which is right leave it as that. Take 1 frame out the super to be 9 and space them evenly, the theory is the bigger gaps between frames gives them more space to extend the combs further and fill with more honey. We have tested both with 9 and 10 frames in the super, I can tell you now with experience 9 frames will render you more honey just space them equally apart ;)

Good idea on using 9. I will give it a try. The plastic frames have plastic foundations, I am not really happy with the plastic as I am not a big fan of the alleged chemical side effects with plastic. But who knows. It's worth a shot and I will order some wood frames when I need to swap out some. Thanks for the advice. Hopefully tomorrow I make the top, then make a post. I am planning on my next weekend, to move a wild hive into the box.

Hey bud ye I have heard those plastic foundations are not the best the bees are reluctant to build on them. When you do get the wax ones though make sure they are from a reputable bee keeper with legit bees wax not some imported rubbish I hear is flooding the markets from China also not good. Keep me posted and blog some pics. Cheer$;)

This is a very interesting post, you are teaching me a lot!!

Nothing beats bee-keeping brother, legit proper wholesome honey, medicine I call it. Saving bees and nature.. It really is truly spectacular and I am so blessed that I am involved! Cheer$;)

This is a very
Interesting post, you are
Teaching me a lot!!

                 - rynow


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

You chaps rock thanks a ton! Cheer$;)

Nothing beats eating honey in the comb, second best is fresh from the farm.

Thanks for detailed explanation on how you extract the honey @craigcryptoking

#teamsouthafrica nominated post for today.

Stunning thanks a ton Joan much appreciated. Cheer$;)

I am enjoying each post, and this one reminds me that I am out of honey! Also sweet picture of the extractor spinning!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks so much my brother and thanks for the love as always. Cheer$;)

That looks so delicious. Hope all is well.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi @craigcryptoking!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.193 which ranks you at #2838 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 5 places in the last three days (old rank 2833).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 185 contributions, your post is ranked at #86.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63968.82
ETH 2633.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84