Team Malaysia | Team Malaysia's First Official Meetup 13/01/2018 #MYmeetup18

in #teammalaysia7 years ago (edited)

Group by aaron.jpg

Photo taken by @aaronleang

I knew that #bitrocker2020 wanted to do an official #teammalaysia gathering once the team is a little larger now. When I first came into Steemit, #teammalaysia had approx. 200 members only. Now we have over 500 members and we are expanding really quickly!

When the official announcement came out 1 month before the event, everyone was hyped up! Heck! Even I was excited to be able to meet all the new and season Steemians that I've only known through Steemit, Facebook & Discord.

First Things First

I would really like to thank the committee members behind the scenes, though they don't mention themselves much, but I want you all to know these faces who've started planning 2 months ahead for you all to have a successful event.

Board of Committees

@bitrocker2020 - Witness

@karinzdailygrind - Planner & Executing

@davidke20 - Registration & Icebreaker

@elizacheng - Kiddy's crowd control

@aaronleang - Official Photographer/Videographer

@maverickfoo & @joannewong - Committee Members

These are the amazing people behind the events that #teammalaysia organizes. They've spent lots of time and effort into growing and nurturing #teammalaysia to what it is today. Lastly, I would want to also thank @kevinwong for always supporting #teammalaysia.


DQmdSzzTD3vvUuGzQNcMX9RF8pGFUuupoy6XK4GojGowKov.png

Continuing from my previous post, the tease. I would like to shoutout again to @danielwong who has so kindly allowed us to host this event at Big Hug Burger! The place was perfect for a close-group gathering, it was really comfortable and the burgers are one of the best I've tried in Malaysia!

That's not all!!! The fees for the event was FULLY PAID WITH STEEM. 5 STEEM per person and you are allowed to sponsor other friends or Steemians too. Also, this is the first time I'm using cryptocurrency to pay for my meal! Thank you Steemit.


The Day of the Event

DQmRU39VAzM5Edk6wNUBFixLNsUCinGLUMeQKAtPqC4FYzg_1680x8400.jpg

Got up and so READY for the event. But hey, it's not only me. Apparently, @elizacheng also ganjeong(excitement over 9000) when I picked her up at the train station. Everyone was excited and committees arrived very early too.

DQmXmLDD8Geu4bnuwrRo3WXdHtpcsxb3TJht2Nar89Z88AB.jpg

This was the banner outside Big Hug Burger, nope, I did not design this. This was designed by @bitrocker2020. This is the anthem we at #teammalaysia shout of.

WRITE, VOTE, EARN


From here on out, I will let the photos do the talking

Photos are taken by the Malaysian Podcaster, @branlee87. Thank you for letting me use them.

DSC01125.JPG

The entrance to Big Hug Burger. You can peek in and see the committees are preparing the registration lists and nametags before the people arrives.

DSC01127.JPG

Our Official Photography/Videography, @aaronleang with his trusty camera stablizer.

DSC01129.JPG

A little while after I arrived, a few members of #teammalaysia has also arrived.

DSC01131.JPG

This is me giving you the thumbs-up that we're ready to go. Nah.. actually I was supposed to be helping out with registration :P Sorry @karinzdailygrind & @davidke20.


The Big Hug Welcome Sign
And...the front view

The staffs are hard at work
Members are hard at eating

Ohhh, with 5 STEEM, the drinks and the side snacks (wedges, fries, samosas) are free flow!On the other hand, members can claim 1 set of burger on the menu at the counter.

DSC01184.JPG

One thing I love about Big Hug burgers is that the patties are so thick and juicy. Definitely my kind of burger. In Malaysia, it is very rare to find thick patties even in burger joints. I would always love a patty with deep flavor and juiciness. Yum... nom nom nom

DSC01176.JPG

This my friends, is the famous soft shell crab burger and I know who exactly is craving for this. She was sad she didn't get hers when she visited Big Hug Burgers last time. So here's a teaser for you.winks at @explorernations


DSC01165.JPG

From left-right : @superoo7, member, @namchau, @kokuryo, member, @cryptochindian, @danieldoughty

I'm sorry that I did not managed to meet and talk to some of you but I'm hoping to see some of you in other events to come.


DSC01205.JPG

DSC01201.JPG

Oh, this is my first time emcee-ing for an event too. I was pretty nervous but yea, had to do it anyways. Thank you #teammalaysia for giving me this opportunity.

Show of hands! How many of you have been on Steemit less than a month?

That was what I was asking the members, the period of how long they have joined Steemit.


DSC01224.JPG

After I was done, I passed the mic to @bitrocker2020 to update all of us on #teammalaysia latest updates and what to expect for 2018 and I can tell you that we have some really interesting things coming up. Just gotta wait for the announcements.


DSC01287.JPG

@sireh, founder of #steem-cartoon also wanted to share a major announcement to the members. They will be having a Steemit workshop @ Muzium Negara on the 23rd January 2018 and are expecting around 300 people to attend!

More Details about the workshop can be found here


DSC01253.JPG

From left-right : @natalielo, @crypto3d, @namchau

DSC01255.JPG

DSC01256.JPG

Members of #steem-cartoon (left-right) @hanbun & @elliebong

DSC01309.JPG

This is my buddy @branlee87 & @siren87(wife) AKA the Malaysian Podcaster, Thank you for all the photos you've taken and allowed me to use.

kokruyo.jpg

@kokuryo and me

Photo was taken by @kokuryo

djlethalskill.png

Photo was taken by @djlethalskillz

I've managed to meet the one and only @djlethalskillz & @vandigital who is pretty awesome in the music mix in Steemit.


24800604827_1a606ed14c_k.jpg

This photo was taken by @orangila

39669761861_8ef3cb2f8e_k.jpg

This photo was taken by @orangila


Wrapping Up

Come to think of it, though there were many minor hiccups along the way, I thought the whole event fulfilled its purpose. That was to have a gathering so that #teammalaysia members can finally for the first time meet with one another. It was a very chill and happy event and everything flowed pretty smoothly. Everyone enjoyed each others company till the burger diner had to close. :P Even then, the members of #teammalaysia still were chit-chatting away outside the hallway.

Thank you #teammalaysia


Thank You

If you like what I do, check out my other posts on my artworks, photography & animations.

I'm also open for

Personalized Steemit Profile Banner,logos & GIFs

DM me on discord : zord189#7776

Sketches_Footer.jpg

Credits to @pinstory & @coloringiship for this lovely photo of me.



APP.png








Sort:  

Awesome, #teammalaysia going well!

It is! Thank you

Was great meeting u in person bro, great event and a great post! We'll catch up on Discord See u in the next 1 soon, Kudos!

Hey! It was indeed! You and @vandigital are so cool.

Very thorough write-up, helped me feel as if I was there too, haha. Thanks @zord189! :)

I felt the same way too! :) Thank you @zord189 for a super-detailed post, and most importantly, double high-fives to the entire #teammalaysia for hosting and participating the first Steemit gathering! Many more to come!

Haha, I actually had a few photos I missed posting and a few other things. But glad it made u feel part of it. Do join us next time.

Thank you! I do hope you would join us the next round of gathering!

Excitement over 9000? Why not 10,000 leh? Got special meaning ke?

Haha, It's a phrase @elizacheng from dragonball. hehe But if u want 10,000 also can.

Long time never watch dragonball liao... oklah, 9000 or 10000, both is fine... just curious only... hahaha

Great job done as emcee, man!

And well done to all of you guys for making this event happen!

Thank you !

Must be great finally see the faces that matched the names!

Hehe, it was really fun and exciting to finally have faces to the names

First time as emcee @zord189? ... I couldn't tell!! You did great 😊

Ahhh, ur too kind! Have u found out the solution about we were talking about during the gathering?

Did some reading up and it's a grey area- up to interpretation 😅.... guess the only way to find out is to walk through it... 😁

Looks like a really fun meetup @zord189 ! I hope I'll be able to make it for the next meet up. Hoping to meet up with all of you soon :) And thanks for the invite once again bro.

Plz do! I would love to meet you too.

Heck ya man! That is so cool. 200 people! That is huge. Me and my buddy @rt395 are setting up the first Southern California Steemit meetup for next week! It will be WAY smaller than this one I'm sure, probably less than 10 people, but I'm still super excited!!

Hey! It's still a start bro!!!! I can't wait to see some photos and writeup on your post. REMEMBER TO DM ME the link!

Amazingly done ..brother ... it would have amazing .. 200 peoples

Thank you! and the turnout was good.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63635.72
ETH 2597.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.91