Galap

in #teammalaysia4 years ago (edited)

image.png
(Picture from:https://images.app.goo.gl/bF2gnBbr8Xdsgvx36)

“Hariz, where’s your homework?.”

“I’m really sorry, sir. I had to leave it. I had no choice,” Hariz with his excuses, as always. This boy has been coming up with a lot of reasons lately. Every time I ask about his homework, his face would start to go a little pale, and he would run his finger across the back of his palm.

“Let’s talk in my room, after class.”

So, after our one-hour class, Hariz came along with me to my room in the teacher’s office. While we were walking, I looked at him, and he seemed so anxious. I was afraid that he thought I would scold him, but he didn’t look at me. He was looking around him as if something or someone would get him.

“Are you okay?”’ I said, patting his shoulder. He was shaking a bit.

“They are not here, right sir? Yesterday, I saw them in front of the gate.”

“They? Who are “they”? Is there anyone bothering you, Hariz?”

Hariz kept silent as we kept walking. This school is quite unique. This whole building is both for primary school and secondary school students. They just separate the classes, primary school on the left side, and secondary on the right side. That’s why I thought some older students would bully him.

“So, now tell me, why have you been acting up with your excuses lately, Hariz? If this keeps on, I would have to take you to the principal’s office.”

“Please, no sir! They almost got me yesterday. My bag got ripped off while I’m on my way back to my house.”
“Tell me who’s this “they”, is it the older students? You can tell me.”

“No, no, no. They came from the creek.”

“Creek? Where’s this creek?” Then, I remember that Hariz is one of the unfortunate students that live in squatter settlements. These settlements sometimes can’t be seen because it’s located near forests or swampy areas. Maybe he was almost kidnapped?

“What did these creek guys tried to do to you?”

“I don’t know, sir. I can’t see them. But I can hear and feel their presence.”

“Is this boy schizophrenic?” I thought to myself. If this boy is schizophrenic, this would mean serious trouble, but he was not like this before. Something is off about his story, but I can’t just accept his story like it is. I need proof.

“Okay, today, I’m going to send you home. Is that alright?” Hariz nodded, he looked a little relieved.
After school, I drove my car with him and went to their settlement. I can’t send him directly to his house because we need to walk. I parked my car at this small open area and started walking with him. We walked past trees, a landfill and this small swampy area with a small creek beside it. From there, you can see the houses, all scattered, no proper drainage system, it’s like an apartment but all the rooms are on the ground close to each other.

We arrived at Hariz’s house, I greeted his parents, who looked a little bit shook, and told them about his homework. The parents probably didn’t get what I said because they just smiled at me and said, “Magsukul teacher, hati-hati galap”. I smiled, nodded and then walked away. As I was walking back to my car, I can see other people in the settlement. They probably know I’m not from around there. They just smiled and said, “Hati-hati, galap”. I smiled and waved at them. A few other people said the same thing, “Hati-hati, galap”. I know it meant, “be careful, it’s dark”, but it was weird since not only one person said it to me.

For sure it was dark already, I turned on my phone’s flashlight. As I walk towards my car, I can feel something, or someone was watching me. I looked around, nothing was there. Then, I heard splashing, as if someone was running along the creek. “Probably just some large rat or something.” I said to comfort myself. Suddenly, there was this foul stench that literally stung my nose. It smelled like dead carcass and I had goosebumps all over. I ran as fast I could, got into my car and drove home.

I took a bath and sat for a while. I thought about what happened. It was very weird and scary. I remembered what the people there said to me, “Hati-hati, galap.” Did it mean something else? I looked up the word ‘’galap’’, and only found things about Galapagos island. I added another keyword “galap + Sabah”, and there it is. Local folklore about a monster living in watery areas. Those people weren’t telling me to be careful because it’s dark. I’m going to have a long talk with Hariz tomorrow.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60453.64
ETH 2425.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48