Team Malaysia CNY Gathering: The People and The View = Fantastic

in #teammalaysia7 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemians!

20180225-200714_800.jpg

So after the hype on Sunday and I have been busy with work and replying plus upvoting and resteeming as much #cny2018 posts that I came across, it is time for my take on how it went on the memorable 25 February 2018.

20180225-172724_800.jpg

I never really like to drive down to the city center as to taking public transport, simply because it is usually constantly jam; but that Sunday was exceptionally empty during that hour, maybe it was extremely hot to be outside with its exceptional sunny weather; or perhaps most of the Malaysians who celebrated the festive season are still out of town.

20180225-175212_800.jpg

When Aaron finally got me up to the venue, I took a quick chance to take a picture of this famous bunting that I kept forgetting to take a picture of it, that is before @elizacheng and I decorated it with her awesome giant ang pow lanterns.


Courtesy from @ackhoo 's phone
(Yes! We did it! We had our We-fie!)

Then came a familiar face who I have never met but have conversed since 2015 (omg that long ago!) during the TSU days. We always tried to plan a meet up with @ackhoo but unfortunately either I am stuck at work of she was stuck at events. Eliza has been trying to get everyone together but still has not succeeded 100%. We still miss one lovely lady who stays miles away.


Courtesy from @ackhoo

And I also get to meet the lovely young @joyceann21 from Philippines with mindvalley; and now, the image of the corn cobs will forever stuck in her mind whenever she sees the Twin Towers... haha...

We had such an awesome time chatting and @ackhoo was sharing the progress of the mighty @qurator team. I salute each and ever one of the dedicated moderators who will manually validate each post.

If your post ain't good enough. You are in trouble!

20180225-185248_800.jpg

Next, the long awaited super energetic @firepower and team! (The other two were busy taking pictures) along with @sjennon and the lovely newly joined Steemian @vikapuzach from mindvalley.

We had quite a few good chats that eventually lead to Durian, yes! To @firepower it can be a fruit from the horror movies (looking at his facial expression), but after explaining to him that there is a place where you can eat freshly dropped durians which many have spoken they smell a lot less pungent, he was intrigued.

Below is the article that someone blogged about it.

Bao Sheng Durian Farm @ Balik Pulau, Penang by Cheryl Lam

However recently because of the storm from 2017 the harvest was lesser and it was more expensive. Therefore it is up to them to decide if they are going for it.

@sjennon was still skeptic after @zord198 did his very best (later in the evening after the good food) to entice her to try the durian. I mentioned to her that if she still think it is not a safe bet to try the real fruit, she can opt for the good old Malaysian dessert that most kids love (including us adults still)

20180226-202915_800.jpg

Behold, the Sin Wah traditional "Ice Potong" (cut Sherbet)

It has been there since the day I remembered when I was a kid. I particularly love the red bean and corn, but durian is the next big thing.

20180226-202853_800.jpg

@sjennon, this is what you should be looking for!
You might be able to find it at 7 Eleven (I didn't check) but I know you can find this at 99 Speedmart

Affordable, traditional, Malaysians love it!

 

Apart from great company at the meetup, we had some really crazy Lou Sang moment! Look at the mess we created!

I supposed all of us wanted so much Steem Power abundance that we will prophesy that it will be so overflow to delegate to others!

We literally could not stop laughing after the mess; and four of us eventually clean up most of them and pick up the rest from the other platters and pour them into one.

The rest, they were all delegated into the rubbish bag. How sad.

When I showed @coachmelleow what happened from my Teaser post earlier, he candidly commented "what a beautiful mess".

Picture courtesy from @elizacheng


 

@varunpinto requested us to do this cute pose. acted on @maverickfoo 's request to take a cute pose of us haha..

Overall, it was an awesome experience and so wonderful to meet up with familiar and new faces again. I didn't get to talk to every single one of them especially the new ones from mindvalley but it was truly great to see them in real life (apart from the discord channel)

I must agree with @orangila ; I too, find this cozy group picture exceptionally awesome. Thanks for rushing over and jumping on with your camera as always!

Once again, thank you so much for making such a great effort hosting this party @aaronleang and @joannewong, and thank you the rest of the committee members like @karinzdailygrind (who never fail to read almost every person's post - because she would say, oh! I love your post! and then started talking the contents of the post she liked. Now that's professionalism!), and of course big brother @bitrocker2020 for keeping the steem team Malaysia running onward and upward!

Until then

mini-jess-smile-128.png
Thank You for Your Time

help-promo-a2.png
Please click on the logo to read why I have this project of 1000 SBD at the first place.


Sort:  

Yeah... I am waiting for some post like this from @aaronleang...
High 5 to you for loving the group photo... hahahahaha

Hahaha... apologies for the late post, was waiting for the rest since my phone died half way and I spent more time conversing and getting to know the rest; besides, there were just so many professionals everywhere so I knew there will be great pictures coming by.

Thanks for stopping by and your upvote. And your VP is back haha.

Love the post, love the photos! Upvote & resteemed. Always love reading your post. :) @littlenewthings

haha Glad you enjoyed the post and enjoyed the evening meeting up all the rest of the team malaysia members especially pastor @iamjadeline and @michelleloh168 you excitedly kept mentioning.

I did. Very eye opening to know new people and their bit of their lives. Really builds up my confidence as a person :)) Had the best time. Haha yes, I kept mentioning.

Looking forward to the next meet up! Here’s to more vodka parties! HAHAHHA :)

That is very good to know. Surround yourself who are much more experience in your walk towards Full Time Ministry will help you to have a stronger and more rooted walk with Christ.
Not to mention a jamming session once a while. keke.

YASS! AMEN! JAMMING SESSION. LETS DO IT! SOON!

AND ABOUT THE ICE CREAM POTONG...... I am craving for durian ice cream.. PRAISE THE LORD! Thank you Kaima!

Awesome writing! I love ice-cream potong too. I just love red bean and pulut. And the salute pose, if I remember correctly is @maverickfoo
who is the one asking us to do that.

No wonder I saw a similar posts at @maverickfoo 's older post and was wondering was it a Steemit thingy?

must go try again when I am better.

Thank you for taking your time off to join this event @littlenewthings, I know you've been very busy always with your works and task on hand 😅.

So BKT + Durian Meetup next?

When I settle my fever blister and my housing loan, sure onz!
(Watch you eat more with your eternity depth stomach. You are super geng!)

Thank you for stopping by!

Thank you for coming and glad that you enjoyed the event @littlenewthings. Also, thank you for helping out during the event too. Appreciate it a lot. :)

You're most welcome. Didn't do much either haha, but you both rock being the awesome hosts @joannewong !

Hi this bot was malfunctioned and refunded 0.5 sbd to you. Can you kindly send it back? Thanks.

Yes. One moment. Will send to you now.
I was quite surprised why the sudden return saying it is an invalid bid.

Yeah sorry. The bot went haywire there... shouldve check the code first :( Thanks for refunding!

hahaha... I thought my birthday came early.

Aha. When is your bday? :)

You got an upvote from Sndbox-Alpha! Please help us find more great contents about Meet Up and Philanthropy. Click here for more information.

171020_Cryptocurrency-07.png

If you like what we are doing and want to contribute in rewarding authors who spread the Steemit love through Philanthropy & Meet Up, we encourage you follow the @sndbox-alpha trail on Steemauto.com.

Thank you for the blessing! Will definitely follow your account!

thank you the rest of the committee members like @karinzdailygrind (who never fail to read almost every person's post - because she would say, oh! I love your post! and then started talking the contents of the post she liked. Now that's professionalism!)

And yes...I am finally here! Thanks for the shout out @littlenewthings and it was a good conversation we had by the pool outside with other fellow Steemians on DSES. Really excited to see what is in store in the coming months

there are tons of ideas that I need to put down for dses but I need to delay it untio I got my personal life settled. So maybe by mid of the year we can really look into things on how we can work on it.
Until then, awesome work in supporting and organising all the initiatives! You are the right person to do so, and each and everyone with their unique talents will make #teammalaysia #dses model onward and forward!

Thanks @littlenewthings. It is a collective group effort that makes all things possible. Get well soon and have a good rest

Yesss, finally we met! :D (minus one more, but soon we hope!)
Great finally meeting up with you, and the others... Although didn't get to talk to everyone. I would actually love to get to sit in on one of @bitrocker2020's sessions; am sure still lots more to absorb from him! Soon, I hope... And til we meet again... Cheers, take care! (No more mouth ulcers, we hope!) :)

Yeah. I am on anti biotics now @ackhoo . Vit B actually got it worse because the doc said it was already badly infected.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57428.63
ETH 2425.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34