Skin : so it begins(mature language)

in #teammalaysia5 years ago

So I woke up around 3 something in the morning of Oct 2014, it was my first time being in the comittee of this hospitality event. My eyes was ready to close and my body was ready to fall back onto the bed. But around 4.30 am I made my way to the venue. The 1st day of this event was held at a shopping mall. Well actually both days were held at shopping malls. (by the way, this was before I became a Wealth Planner, I used to work at a college)

So this event, is where all the hotels and colleges compete with one another, to see who is the best in their hospitality skills. Categories such as hot cooking, bed making, bartender flair, wedding cake decoration and a few more I couldn't remember. So after 2 days of hecticness, I could finally rest and like be lazy and I took a day off.

Few months down the road, I think sometime in November 2014 I think, I developed rash like stuff on my arms. It wasn't itchy, so I just applied some vaseline, and when that didn't work I tried some calamine too. Still didnt work. Went to a GP near my house and she wrote me a recommendation letter to the hospital and thats where i got to knew i got pityriasis rosea. However, i got scalp Psoriasis. Imagine that, 2 in 1. My hair was like Winterfell. I could be given the name Winter due to my dandruff falling off my head, so everytime I was coming, people will go "Winter is coming." Haha. Anyway, got my meds, and it cleared up(but not my scalp, my scalp was stubborn, like me). Few months after that like in March or so, thats when I saw a rash developed on my front hairline.

What the fuck is this? I was calmly freaking out. I may be freaking out, but I was not surprised anymore, when i got my scalp psoriasis, it was only a matter of time till it'll somehow get to the other parts of my body.

Lets have a bit of a time jump here okay 😁. So months passed, it started to appear on my arms. I always like to roll my sleeves all the way up to my elbows, and as it comes downwards towards my wrist, the sleeves goes down as well as the weeks passed. Back then I did not know my colleagues were aware that my sleeves were rolling down. Well I do look pretty smart corporate and very formal though. Somehow I started to develop some kind of transparent kind of rash too on the back of my hand, I was like ok, its only visible if Its shoned under the sun. So nevermind, my sleeves can cover that.

So having Psoriasis from where I come from, its still a bit hard for people to accept and understand. Being a frontliner(Im doing sales), its kind of a challenge. I was always afraid that if they somehow was able to see it, they would freak out and all. It made me really cautious of whether my hair was clean, my shoulders were clean from dandruff, whether my clothes has covered my patches well or not. My movement when I am face to face with someone, oh man if you could only imagine, I had to move really carefully not to accidently show my arms or my hands back then. Even when we worked on alternate Saturdays, I had to use a long sleeve shirt to cover my arms up. It was a challenging time for me as it was tough for me to use tshirts as it will show my arms. It got a wee bit depressing for me, but I just told myself to get a grip and be strong.

Soon I shared with my close friends of my condition and they were very supportive. They were not afraid to shake my hand, hug or even just hanging out together even before I told them what I had. Around this time it became quite visible as it started to appear on my face, nose and forehead. I shared with my lady boss too back then and she was supportive, she was worried she was stressing me out and all which what made me had my Psoriasis and I told her nooo, you did not. It was getting more challenging for me as it appeared on my face, I kept on thinking of scenarios where my colleagues from another department would question or even avoid me and all. Made me feel like, damn. But they didn't, somehow they understood what I got and treated me no different before I got psoriasis. All that over panicking for no reason I told myself.

Lets have a lil bit of a time jump again 😁. So I told this girl I had feelings for her and she responded awesomely. We started dating then, up to now(woohoo, woot woot). Back then I was freaking out again, I did not know how to tell her I got Psoriasis. My back was really kinda fucked up then. Im sorry i forgotten to mention, I got tear drop psoriasis. Imagine lotsa patchy dots or some sort behind my back. Anyway back to the main story, I told her what I got and I showed her my back, she looked at it for abit and I started apologising and shit thinking she would leave and go loco scolding me and all, but she didn't. She instead hugged me and stayed with me till this very day and we are getting stronger.

Phew, Im one lucky sonofagun I told myself. And an idiot too for over freaking out. As time goes on, I was a pro in making sure people don't see my shit. I was glad too that it was slowly disappearing too, thanks to a steroid meds I was using and the missus strict diet of no seafood but fish. Oh here's the fucked up part, I started to develop an alergy for prawns and lamb. Fucking kidding me!? Two delicious food I got to cut out of my life. Not forever of course, that story will be for the next and upcoming post. See ya.

To be continued...

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Congratulations @ikhwan182! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

New japanese speaking community Steem Meetup badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Thank you

Posted using Partiko Android

You're welcome @ikhwan182
Feel free to vote our witness to support us. You will get one more badge and more powerful votes from us on your posts.
Have a good day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64777.26
ETH 3101.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84