Wild Honey Seller

in #teammalaysia7 years ago (edited)

Couple days ago, I decided to have brunch at inanam town. As just i got out off the car I notice an old man that sells wild honey sitting down sort of like half asleep.

As I approach the old man, was resting and look tired. I learn that this old man have just arrive Inanam carrying his good. The walk from where the bus stop to the location that he is is approximately close to 2KM.

I also took the opportunity to get to know him a little. The old man is form Tenom, an interior town of sabah. He took the 147km journey by train from tenon to tanjung Aru, then a bus to kota Kinabalu, then another bus to inanam town, then walk almost 2km to get to where he is to sell wild honey. That's the reason why he was tired.

Tenom in the mid 1800 , use to be the major produce location for tobacca along with jungle produce. This was the reason why then the train tracks was build to move these produce for export. During 2nd world most of the track was destroy but most of it was put back in place, few route was cancel one in particularly that I think was a pity was the route from tanjung Aru to the former piers of Jesselton town. If you go to the end of the pier of Jesselton jetty today, you will still see the forgotten turntable.

I ask why he would travel all the way out here to sell , he said in the city and inanam, the wild honey fetch higher price. I then bought one bottle then off I go for my next appointment.

But It left me thinking, there must be better way to help these rural folk sells their produce at good price without them making such tiring journey.

This issue got my head thinking, day and night. I think I have some idea.. Will write down the idea on another post. Perhaps team malaysia steemians can help polish up my ideas to help my local community to do better in their income and livelihood. Please do follow me, resteem and wait for my coming post.

Let's make a little bit different in this awesome world. Who knows you encounter something similar or know of a solution in your area that could be adjusted for my use here. .

Cheers.

Screenshot_2017-08-30-16-06-45-38.png

Sort:  

Great story. Would love to know your idea coming soon to help them :)

Cheers @enighui, looking forward to post it too. Perhaps after this holiday.. Hehe cheers

Great. await your next post with your proposal.

I am in. It will be best if we can use Steemit to help our local community.
Merdeka is tomorrow.
On the eve of Malaysian's Independence Day, this is my dream for Malaysia.
Let Us Dare To Dream

Thank you so much for dropping by, my friend

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58098.46
ETH 3134.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38